We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall this was a good place to stay in the Algarve even if you don’t use the golf course. The staff were friendly and helpful (being a Starwood SPG Loyalty program Gold members did help). The standard rooms were a bit small (we upgraded to a one bed suite for a reasonable price as we have a baby). It had two balconies and a nice layout with one good size bed room separate living area. Pool is large and clean, has a good kids play area and good base to explore local towns in West Algarve. Rooms facing the pool are best (vs mountain view / i.e. road side). Grounds very well kept. Nice clientele. Room service was good. Nice beach club with beach bar/café in Alvor a couple of miles away. Property keeps some Portuguese charm. Rental car is needed, though they have a bus/shuttle to the beach.

Room Tip: at the back of the hotel (ie overlooking pool / gold course). End of corridor is best as corridors h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We read your review, and we are happy to learn that you and your family have enjoyed the holiday at our Resort last Summer.

It is most rewarding to read that our staff was friendly and helpful, and that you have appreciated the property`s Portuguese charm.

Penina is no longer part of Starwood Hotels, since September 2013, but the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective and the services and facilities are as good as ever. Should you decide to return to Penina, you will find the same familiar and friendly faces. If we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us: penina@jjwhotels.com.

Kind regards
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose Penina because of the golf course. Played 4 rounds and although Henry Cotton designed it about 50 years ago it is still an excellent test even with modern equipment. The water hazards and bunkers are just in the right places to catch the slightly wayward shot. Would definitely go back to play the course again. Your golf bags are stored in the bag room at the pros shop and brought out to you when you check in for your round and placed on your trolley. On completion they take the bags from you and store them for your next round.

Hotel food. Buffet breakfasts were very good indeed. The room is also used for evening buffet. However this is only open on a Monday which we found surprising. We arrived Tuesday - departed Saturday so did not sample this. The Italian restaurant by the pool was excellent. Could not fault the choices, quality of food and the service. The grill restaurant in the hotel was the opposite - very sad. Very slow service, very little choice and we feel the chef needs to go down and have some lessons from the Italian chef. The hotel also has a restaurant overlooking the beach in Alvor (about 10 minutes away by taxi). We sampled this one evening and both food and service were very good. A pity that the hotel does not run a courtesy minibus to and from Alvor.

The hotel is about 45 minutes from faro airport. We did not require a car and had transfers arranged both to and from the hotel. You would need a car if you wished to explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: We were golfing each day so we choose mountain view rooms. You may want to choose pool view rooms if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontycatPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you have chosen Penina for your golfing holiday, and that the course designed by Sir Henry Cotton was challenging and worth coming back to play again.

You have also kindly praised the breakfast, the Dunas restaurant in Alvor, and the Italian L´Arlecchino, which has a wonderful view over the pool. We usually have a very good feedback about the food and the service at Le Grill, and we are extremely sorry to learn that your experience on this occasion was not up to your expectations, and not according to the usual standards of service. Your comments were shared with the person in charge of the restaurants, in order to investigate what may have happened, and take corrective action.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is very nice. It has a lovely Golf Course and I love the Pool it is huge and the views lovely, restaurant food very nice. The staff a friendly and a nice choice of restaurants with good food. Entertainment excellent different singer every night. The breakfast is excellent plenty of variety good quality nice service and sets you up for the day. Alvor is a short taxi drive away and is by the sea and has many restaurants a favourite of ours is Fisherman's Rest!! amazing fresh fish of the day and cooked to perfection, it is great value for the quality and size of the portion's one word of warning be careful when ordering one piece usually feeds two to three people we always over order get carried away as it's lovely food :). Only let down this time at the Hotel was the Owners now manage the hotel and have cut back on the Happy Hour which was great before you bought a drink got one free!! Now it is jut local wine or beer :( and did not give nibbles which was a shame. Other point is you obviously get lot's of groups of male Golfers so can be noisy sometimes at the Pool and Bar but we found it okay :0

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dundrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We have read your review “Lovely Hotel” about your recent stay and we thank you for having shared your positive comments about our hotel.

The golf courses, the pool, restaurants, breakfast, quality of food and friendliness of our staff were some of the details that contributed to an enjoyable stay.

Bar Monchique has indeed an excellent entertainment with live music, however we are surprised to read your observations about the changes in the happy hour, since it was implemented by the new management, and it still applies to a variety of beverage, every day from 7 to 8 p.m.. The appetizers are yet a part of our service and we regret to learn that on this particular occasion we failed in providing this gesture.

We look forward to your next visit, in the not too distant future,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is a woundeful hotel with excellent golf facillities. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I played the Acacademy and the Resort course both are fantastic.The food is excellent and reasonably priced. The breakfast is very good and gives lots of energy for a day at the golf course. If tired from golf the pool is a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool view are great, overlooking the Championship course, definetly worth the slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I had the pleasure to meet you during your stay, and it is a great delight to read now your review on tripadvisor.

We trust you will give us the honour of welcoming you again, and sincerely hope that we will always meet your best expectations.

If we can be of any assistance in planning your next golfing holiday, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week in this hotel. It was an excellent hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good indeed and we did stay in the hotel to eat a couple of times and the food was good and reasonably priced. It is worth visiting Alvor as there are lots of restaurants there as well as the hotel's own beach bar. If we were to have a criticism it would be that the rooms were small, but that seems to be the way the hotel was built. It is worth paying extra for a room overlooking the pool and golf course. All in all difficult to fault anything - well done to all the staff!

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Portia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a great joy to read in tripadvisor about your recent holiday experience at Penina.
You have kindly highlighted your satisfaction with many of our services and facilities, such as the breakfast, the pleasant dinners, quality of food and the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

Thanking you for your review, which we have shared with our teams, we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful Hotel, excellent facilities, especially the Olympic sized Pool, and of Course the fantastic Golf Course. The Club Sandwich, with an ice cold beer, after your Round is also "a must". Enjoy to the full !

Room Tip: Gold Course view is best, of course !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We have read your wonderful comments not only about the hotel, but on the whole experience. Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing this great feedback on tripadvisor.

Our team hopes to greet you back soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have just returned from a 3 day (2 night) stay at the fantastic Penina Hotel & Golf Resort with my 13 year old son on our first golfing holiday together.

From the moment we were met at the the hotel lobby we were made to feel special the staff in all areas of the resort were fantastic and very helpful .

We played both the championship and the resort courses and they were both fantastic and challenging with many superb holes with the both courses in tip top condition.

The food thou fantastic is a little pricey but then you are staying in a 5 star resort so you expect to pay a little more.

All in all a fantastic time was had by myself and my son who said as we were leaving Dad when are we coming back.

Room Tip: If Possible choose a room looking over the championship course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy to read your review and to learn that our Resort has contributed to a special Father & Son golfing weekend. We also have a question for you: When are you bringing your son back?

It is most rewarding to read that all in all you had a fantastic time, and that the golf course, the restaurants and the helpfulness of our staff were up to your expectations.

Best wishes and Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
2.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
11.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: £89 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing