We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something strange...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We are on day 3 of our 11 nights here.
This is our second visit, previously two years ago when it was part of the le meridian group.

Its the same as it was, staff are so lovely, breakfast is great, service as wonderful as ever.

But.... Something feels odd! It's so quiet here. You wouldn't think we were in the middle of the holiday season. There lacks an atmosphere. Not that I'm complaining as I quite like it. But it does feel odd.


Despite feeling a bit strange its still as fantastic as ever and I still recommend it as a place to come for a relaxing break, with enough options to keep you busy if you like to be active.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We have read your comments and we are glad to see that our staff are making you feel welcome, and you are having a relaxed holiday.
One of the good things about our hotel is the fact that guests do not realize it is full, even when we are very busy. Some guests choose the pool, others go to the beach Club, some are playing golf and others are sightseeing in the beautiful area of Alvor or visiting the grottoes in Lagos. Additionally we have large outside lounge and garden areas, the tennis courts, the Beauty Centre, and the Golf Academy.
At this moment we have 4 or 5 restaurants open for dinner, and guests do not need queuing in order to get a table. Bookings can be done in advance, and guests have the chance of eating in a different restaurant every night.
We hope you are having a wonderful holiday, and remain at your disposal for any assistance or recommendation. Please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Penina Hotel for three nights and four days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is very homey and has all the luxuries you could wish for including (free) transportation to the beach and daily live music.
We started everyday by jogging along the running trail on the golf course and then enjoyed an amazing breakfast buffet (including a wide selection of super foods, fruits, cereals, bread, Portugese pastries and more) before heading to the swimming pool. The pool is one of the largest I have ever seen. There are plenty of comfy lounge chairs and parasols, unfortunatly the service there is only decent. You would expect that the staff would walk around to take beverage and food orders but they don't...
We really like the large balacony in the room as well as the seating area in the lobby (witj free wifi) and other lounge areas around the hotel.
There are three restaurants on site and one located by the beach (again free transportation provided). We enjoyed the Italian restaurant by the pool and Duna's restaurant on the beach (great staff and large high quality portions), but we're disappointed by the service and limited selection of the Cotton Club restaurant.
We also made use of the gym: great (LifeFitness) machines but the location could be improved as it is now located in a dark conference room in the basement.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to relax, play golf and families with young kids.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review “Amazing swimming pool and running track” confirms that our Resort is not for golfers only. Many thanks for having shared your experience. We are pleased to learn that you had overall thoroughly enjoyed the facilities such as the gym, running track, large swimming pool and the restaurants, both at the Hotel and Beach Club.

We have also noted the details you have mentioned that could be improved, and we appreciate this feedback that allows us to identify what could be even better.

Thanking you once again, we hope to greet you back soon. We are still in the middle of summer, and the swimming pool area is perfect to refresh and relax.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After being on the road it was lovely to find the resort with the large swimming pool. The room was large with a comfortable bed but very average decor etc. Good buffet breakfast included. Situated on over 360 hectares of ground, unfortunately we were not there for long enough to explore

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out towards the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belindas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that your stay at Penina was a nice getaway, with a comfortable room, large pool and good buffet breakfast. Sounds good!

Maybe in a future visit you will have the time to stay longer, and enjoy a relaxing holiday.

We remain at your service,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated and warm and welcoming. The pool is wonderful, large and just the right temperature. Breakfast looks good but the flavour was not great, the porridge was very watery. All in all a nice place to stay to get away from it all.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and kind comments about our hotel and lovely pool. It is great to read that it was a nice place to stay and get away from it all.

We hope to greet you again soon, for a relaxing stay.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A huge thank you to everyone at Penina who made our recent trip such a wonderful experience. This is a unique place which manages to offer so much yet in an understated manner that just oozes quality. The utterly peaceful setting in beautifully-kept grounds is a haven from the hectic lives we lead back home. There isn’t just one aspect of this hotel that sets it apart; it’s the sum of its parts that makes it special.

With attentive staff, many of whom have been there for a long time, customer service is a high priority. A choice of restaurants is offered and while the Italian and buffet are good, by far the best is Le Grill – a true fine dining experience. The huge pool area has more than enough comfortable loungers and parasols for everyone who wants them and because it is so spacious you never feel crowded. You can also hire bikes to explore the grounds and there are tennis courts and a gym for the more active. Many families make good use of the kids club.

Rooms are very comfortable and on the occasions I had to request extra hangers or towels they were delivered within minutes. Penina has its own beach club (use the courtesy bus) and the facilities there are excellent - parasols, sunbeds and towels and a drinks service from the Dunas restaurant. Alvor beach is a beautiful stretch of fine sand and well worth a visit.

Of course I’ve left the best to last. Penina is really all about golf and with three courses this is its main attraction. As a non-golfer, I only walked the course but was assured the championship course did not disappoint. I did notice a few water hazards – so take plenty of balls!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alison643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review “A special place” makes us feel extremely proud of all the staff working at our hotel who have contributed to your wonderful experience.

As you wrote, and we agree, a good holiday or a good hotel is the sum of its parts. Here at Penina we are constantly aiming to improve our services and facilties, and we keep focused on our guest`s satisfaction, and therefore costumer services are a priority.

We are glad to read that your dinners at Le Grill, Sir Henry Cotton`s Club, Sagres Buffet and Dunas were up to your expectations.

Surely the golfers will try to avoid the water hazards, but for all those you are struggling with difficulties, we may recommend our PGA Golf Professionals, for lessons and guidance.

Many thanks again for sharing your experience, and for leaving a smile in all our faces today. We hope to give you a very warm welcome back to Penina.

Kind regards
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A family holiday with my wife, daughter her partner and two children ( one aged two and a half the other aged one and a half) also to play golf. Freindly reception staff although my wife and myself were not offered a welcome drink, daughter and her partner were. Porter, Carlos very helpfull with cases and hotel information. Thanks to Ricardo, Augusta, Gabriel and Kristen in the restaurants and bars for there service. We had one mountain view room and one pool/golf course room both very comfortable, towels changed twice daily and room cleaned daily. Pool area childrens play area all very good.Restaurants serve good food. The bar is expensive 4.8 euro large beer 7.9 vodka & tonic although half price during happy hour 19.00-20.00 hrs entertainment on most nights in bar (low key). I was stopped in reception for taking water purchased outside to my room which we use for days out to the beach water parks etc. two young children need plenty of hydration. Even though on the hotel web site it only states that you may not take food and drink purchased outside into the restaurants. I suggest Graca Pinter familiarize himself with the hotel policies on the Penina web site! We still smuggled the water in. A litre of water in the hotel 6.8 euros. In total we paid 3900 euros for the rooms and golf and spent 2000 euros on food,drink etc. Golf course was in excellent condition greens good as were fairways. I try not to let the paultry water issue spoil the enjoyment of our holiday which we enjoyed very much. The young childrens first holiday. My fifth time at this hotel. Will I go back, yes sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Pool/golf view rooms on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having booked Penina for a golf holiday with your family.

A pleasant holiday experience is not only influenced by the structure of the hotel and its facilities, but also by the “heart and soul”, the services and the interactions with the staff. We have shared your comments with Carlos, Ricardo, Augusta, Gabriel and Kristen whom you have highlighted in a special way in your review.

It is also very rewarding for us to read your positive feedback about the service to your room, the pool, the Kangaroo kids club, the restaurants, food quality and the golf. We thank you for your decision of returning in the future, despite your disappointment with the hotel policy regarding the beverages or food brought from the outside.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again in the not too distant future,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a week's golfing family stay at Penina to celebrate a special occasion. The service offered by all staff throughout the hotel was faultless and is worthy of the 5 stars. From making the initial reservation and detailing requirements, sincere welcome from the hotel porter and reception, and efficient/ attentive service in all of the well managed restaurants and bars, and a special mention for the cleaners who keep the hotel spotless. This year there were a number of management trainees in various parts of the hotel, they were also excellent and benefiting from the guidance supplied by the experienced staff. Food in all of the restaurants is excellent, and with the meal vouchers is reasonably priced. This year Dunas the beach restaurant is open for dinner service, well worth a visit for fresh fish. Golf course is in very good condition considering the number of players throughout the year on a daily basis, and only 1 out of 7 rounds lasted for more than 4 hours. Have been a regular guest at Penina for many years, and hopefully will do so for many more years to come. Thank you all at Penina for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Room with pool/golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hugh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Penina´ staff and management are very glad that you have chosen our resort for your special occasion, and we are most pleased to hear that your stay with us has been successful.

Dunas restaurant in Alvor is indeed open for dinner this year, and we have been receiving wonderful feedback about the food and service.

Your motivating comments will be shared with our teams and also with our trainees.

Thanking you once again, we are happy to welcoming you and your family for many years to come.

Kind regards
Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
2.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 76 in Portimao
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
929 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: £89 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing