We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had an amazing week at the Penina. The staff are fantastic, their English is pretty much word perfect, which is a bit of embarrassing as I only know how to say thank you in Portugese!!! Will have to rectify that as have plans to come back to this fantastic resort. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is great, so much choice, and if yr prepared to wait for 2 mins you can have a delicious omelette with a choice of fillings. Good choice of restaurants too, also serving very good food. Highly recommend the Tues BBQ, great food, great music, bit of a dance, and make new friends, as we all just sit at long tables under the pine tree.
Partner loved the golf, and is already planning his boys trip out. I loved the pool, so relaxing, and never more than 10 people in the pool. I hate some of these resorts that is just packed with sun beds, and the pool is so full it's impossible to swim. Penina is just perfect. Ladies, this is the perfect resort. Yr men can go play golf to their hearts content, and you will just adore the relaxed atmosphere round the pool... oh and the ice cream is an added bonus, it's delicious, especially the strawberry ha ha.
Will definitely be coming back. Thanks to all staff at Perina x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lallyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

“Obrigado” for your comments, and for the “Wow”, which means a lot to us!

We are very happy to read that you just had an amazing week at Penina, and that you have enjoyed our facilities, services provided by our staff, and also the omelettes at our breakfast room.

Providing enjoyable experiences is really our main objective, and we feel very rewarded when we read that Golfers and non-golfers are having a good time at Penina. Relaxing by the pool and having a marvelous strawberry ice cream is definitely part of a great holiday.

On behalf of all the Penina staff, thank you - Obrigado, it will be a pleasure for us to greet you back!

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    215
    128
    37
    10
See reviews for
138
223
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

First off, let me say that I am not one of those who oppose change, I welcome it. My family have been going to Penina for the last 15 years - to date we have voted with our feet. Next year our choice will not be so automatic.

The resort has changed ownership in the last 12 months or so and the new emphasis is obviously maximising revenue at the expense of service.

The bus service to the beach is most unpleasant experience as the bus is too small and the frequency of service has been reduced. I do not believe that it is reasonable to ask as a guest to wait up to an hour for bus to the beach or to have barge forward to secure a place. Rugby players will enjoy the experience but families should (and did) shy away. This has never been an issue in the past. Queuing for a table for breakfast is another unpleasant experience, again never an issue in the past and due in my opinion to mismanagement and not guest volumes.
A silly system to manage towels has also been introduced, I will not go into details, suffice it to say that nobody I spoke to had a good word to say about it.

To the reader, these issues must seem like minor gripes and I can hear you saying " get over it" but when you are paying top prices in a 5 star hotel you are entitled to a certain level of service.

These and other issues were raised by numerous guests, myself included with the hotel manager but he simply did not listen but spent time telling us, the paying guests his problems. I left the encounter thinking of Basil Faulty's maxim that that the hotel would run well if it were not for the guests.

There have been some positive changes, notably music every night ( quality of acts is sometimes poor but I welcome the effort).

I have been fortunate to be able to stay in many 5 star hotels over the years. Hotel facilities at this end of the market are a given - what REALLY makes the experience worthwhile is the level of service. A service that is sadly not present at the moment. Pity.. I fear that this new management team are in danger of killing the proverbial golden goose.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have read your review and we would like, first of all, to thank you for having visited our resort in the past 15 years, and for having always returned, as you wrote “automatic”. One may conclude that overall you had such enjoyable holidays that you did not have to think twice to book and return.

Our standards of service and our commitment toward the guests have not changed, indeed we have even improved. You have kindly mentioned the positive changes such as the live music every night.

With regards to the complimentary Bus transportation to our beach club, once we have noted that the number of guest using this service had increased, we have added more pick up times to the schedule. We regret the inconveniences caused, and we assure you that immediate action was taken.

Our Buffet Breakfast room is open from 7 to 10 a.m., with plenty of tables inside and outside in the terrace. Due to the busy operation of our hotel during the peak season, it is possible that there may be some delay especially from 9.30 to 10.00 hrs.

Taking into consideration your previous visits to Penina, we sincerely hope that you will decide to return, and all the Penina staff will be most pleased to greet you and your family once again. As always, we will do our best to ensure that the levels of service are up to your expectations.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good hotel, really lovely friendly staff. Italian restaraunt was very good and ate there most evenings. We stayed for 8 days and enjoyed it. Kids club had lovely helpful friendly staff. Was really misinformed about beach a I thought it was near hotel but 15 minutes away in shuttle (Shuttle needs to be bigger as lots of people were complaining about being left behind because not enough seats in bus! Food at Dunes was very dissapointing and expensive and not great!. They need to get the same chef there as the Italian place near pool as it was excellent quality!. The pool staff were so professional and friendly. The pool manager was a credit to the hotel! So pat on the back and appreciation should be given to himself! If I was going to be critical it would be towards the prices as the food and drinks very expensive. Entertainment could have been more exciting! I dont want benidorm but it was a bit boring at night and lacked atmosphere!!

Room Tip: pool room is best! lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uterick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our pool supervisor, and his team, many thanks for your wonderful review on tripadvisor! Your review is motivating for all the members of the staff who are committed every day at the pool and Kids Club, ensuring that our guests of all age groups have a pleasant experience.

We have also read your comments about the shuttle, and we would like to inform you that having noted that the number of guest who wanted to take the shuttle had increased, we have added a few more pick up times to the schedule. We regret the inconveniences caused, and we assure you that we took immediate action.

We have been receiving good feedback about Dunas, and we were surprised to read that you had a less positive experience, when comparing to our Italian L´Arlecchino. Your observations were shared with the Chef and his team, since there can be an opportunity for improvement, or even cross-training as you have suggested.

Looking forward to greeting you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

So we are near the end of our 11 night stay here.
Hotel is back to it's lively self as footballers who were here at the beginning of our stay have left.
Thats why it was strangely quiet. Although, it wasn't necessarily a bad thing!

What can I say, other than thank you. The staff here are beyond kind. They do whatever it takes to make sure you are happy.
The pool manager, Carlos, is so lovely. He has really looked after our little family. The restaurant staff, the front desk staff, the doormen, all of you are wonderful. A huge thank you for making our second stay at penina just as memorable as the first.

The only thing I think you need to work on is to make the sagress buffets a bit more exciting!

We have met some lovely families here too.

What can I say other than.."we will def be back"! Penina feels like home away from home xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Indeed time goes by quickly, and 11 days may seem a long holiday, but when you are having an enjoyable stay, the departure day arrives too soon.

It is most rewarding to read that we have exceeded your expectations, again, and we thank you for having shared this wonderful feedback on tripadvisor.

We have shared your comments with our staff, who work hard to ensure that we meet our guest’s requirements, and we are honoured to read that for you Penina feels like home away from home.

It will be a great pleasure to see you again next year, if not before.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Requested 2 rooms beside/opposite or close together as we are mum/dad/kids. Sent & Recieved 3 emails from hotel reservation manager who seems clueless. Last reply- "We do not know yet, maybe in different floors". If it is not possible let us know so we can book somewhere where they can accommodate a family. Frustrating and hassle you don't need before travel. What a waste of time. Do we need to send a 4th email??
We were looking forward to the trip, but this has been disappointing to say the least! Extremely poor communication. Not sure that the reservations really care about families?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darasgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your review and we understand that, travelling as a family, you wish to book your accommodation together.

Our Resort has not only connecting rooms, but also Junior Suites and Grand Suites which are perfect for families, and should be reserved far in advance, especially in high season, due to the high demand for this type of accommodation.

We do care about families, and we feel it is our responsibility to immediately inform on reservation stage that connecting rooms may not be possible on specific dates.

Our teams are most attentive to guests´ requirements, and we always do our utmost to fulfill any requests, before your arrival and during your stay. The Kids Club, Kangaroo, is also ready with an activities program for all age groups.

We look forward to greeting you at Penina, and we wish you and your family a most enjoyable stay,

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We are on day 3 of our 11 nights here.
This is our second visit, previously two years ago when it was part of the le meridian group.

Its the same as it was, staff are so lovely, breakfast is great, service as wonderful as ever.

But.... Something feels odd! It's so quiet here. You wouldn't think we were in the middle of the holiday season. There lacks an atmosphere. Not that I'm complaining as I quite like it. But it does feel odd.


Despite feeling a bit strange its still as fantastic as ever and I still recommend it as a place to come for a relaxing break, with enough options to keep you busy if you like to be active.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We have read your comments and we are glad to see that our staff are making you feel welcome, and you are having a relaxed holiday.
One of the good things about our hotel is the fact that guests do not realize it is full, even when we are very busy. Some guests choose the pool, others go to the beach Club, some are playing golf and others are sightseeing in the beautiful area of Alvor or visiting the grottoes in Lagos. Additionally we have large outside lounge and garden areas, the tennis courts, the Beauty Centre, and the Golf Academy.
At this moment we have 4 or 5 restaurants open for dinner, and guests do not need queuing in order to get a table. Bookings can be done in advance, and guests have the chance of eating in a different restaurant every night.
We hope you are having a wonderful holiday, and remain at your disposal for any assistance or recommendation. Please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Penina Hotel for three nights and four days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is very homey and has all the luxuries you could wish for including (free) transportation to the beach and daily live music.
We started everyday by jogging along the running trail on the golf course and then enjoyed an amazing breakfast buffet (including a wide selection of super foods, fruits, cereals, bread, Portugese pastries and more) before heading to the swimming pool. The pool is one of the largest I have ever seen. There are plenty of comfy lounge chairs and parasols, unfortunatly the service there is only decent. You would expect that the staff would walk around to take beverage and food orders but they don't...
We really like the large balacony in the room as well as the seating area in the lobby (witj free wifi) and other lounge areas around the hotel.
There are three restaurants on site and one located by the beach (again free transportation provided). We enjoyed the Italian restaurant by the pool and Duna's restaurant on the beach (great staff and large high quality portions), but we're disappointed by the service and limited selection of the Cotton Club restaurant.
We also made use of the gym: great (LifeFitness) machines but the location could be improved as it is now located in a dark conference room in the basement.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to relax, play golf and families with young kids.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review “Amazing swimming pool and running track” confirms that our Resort is not for golfers only. Many thanks for having shared your experience. We are pleased to learn that you had overall thoroughly enjoyed the facilities such as the gym, running track, large swimming pool and the restaurants, both at the Hotel and Beach Club.

We have also noted the details you have mentioned that could be improved, and we appreciate this feedback that allows us to identify what could be even better.

Thanking you once again, we hope to greet you back soon. We are still in the middle of summer, and the swimming pool area is perfect to refresh and relax.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
11.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing