We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Golf Hotel in Portimao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 21 May 2009

All the amenities of a 5 star hotel in a quiet section of Algarve. This hotel is very comfortable with clean & nice rooms, good service and excellent large pool, great location for tanning. This golf resort is definitely for the older, golfing crowd. As a couple in their early 30's that's NOT into partying, this hotel was a calming change,compared to the other Albufeira resorts in the Algarve. Median age for this hotel was 60's complete with a snooker table and all. Gym was small and there was no jacuzzi. The buffet food was not extraordinary but acceptable. If you are looking for a high end quiet resort, than this is it. The nearby 3 brothers beach was out of this world and should be on every tourists agenda. The views were amazing and breath taking!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

We've stayed twice now, family with 7yr and 4yr old (and 1 golfer) and everyone loves it. The Penguin Club is fantastic - welcoming and caring staff who even claimed to remember us the following year! The golf courses are spectacular. We had junor suites both times and frankly don't understand why people say they are 'tired', they are traditionally styled and comfortable. The food is also excellent and the staff very good. The pool is cold, and the area around the pool gets very full, very quickly (with magazines and towels strategically placed to snare beds, but last time we went they were a lot tougher on those bed hoggers), but the beach is a good alternative. We'd love to go back but the prices have gone up again so school holidays are now out of our budget!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerik4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Just spent 4 nights at penina, and the hotel was great. The championship course was in fantastic condition, with the greens some of the best i have ever played on. There were some really tough holes, but we had great fun working our way around a fantastic layout. The resort course was nice and less demanding.
We had a room overlooking the pool and gardens, which had been recently upgraded, all clean and serviced daily by an excellent house keeping team. Be aware of the mini bar....... unbelievable prices.
Breakfast in the hotel was first rate, plenty of choices, but we decided to try some local restaurants in the evenings, i would highly recommend the Ruccola in Alvor, and Restaurante y Forga in Lagos, both served great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiejordan3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

just had a 4 day break at penina and love it .staff were very attentive and friendly making it a very enjoyable stay.
the golf course was in excellant condition,a tough test,especialy off the white tees!
the only down side was our room,it was dated in need of a refit,but clean never the less

Stayed: September 2008
Thank jonSomerset_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We have been staying at this hotel for many years now. It is a traditional 4* which are hard to find. The hotel has been open for over 40 years and the staff are perfect - all true professionals.

We have stayed in both deluxe rooms and junior suites and all are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ask for a room that overlooks the gardens and pool.

The pool and gardens are very well maintained, although the pool can be a bit cold first thing in the morning. The golf course is first rate. The pool boys are incredibly helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food in the pool bar is also very good for sandwiches, salads etc.

We normally hire a car and travel out to a different beach each day and although the hotel is 10 minutes away from the beach at Alvor it has an excellent beach club setup there.

The hotel has two restaurants both of which are excellent. It is well worth paying the extra for the meal deal they offer. The breakfast buffet is second to none.

We are already looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roger65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The hotel is alongside (50m) the main road (N-125) and bordered by its golf courses. Built many years ago, the hotel is decorated in the old style so typical of Portugal - polished ceramic floors, white washed walls with paintings or coloured ceramic tiles.

The rooms are in keeping with this style, slightly spartan, though comfortably furnished with antique style furniture. We had a junior suite, with bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and additional w.c. Our friend had a classic room - bedroom and bathroom in the same style as ours. All our rooms were of a reasonable size. We were well supplied with towels and the usual amenities. The balconies (all rooms) were small with room for 2 people. We'd recommend paying a little more for the pool view as the rooms on the roadside just overlook the main road or car park and it can get noisey as a .pool/golf course is being awoken by the many grass sprinklers at 7a.m!

The grounds are immaculate. The open air pool is very large and warm (see later comments). There are a reasonable number of loungers around the pool. The health club looked ok (didn't try) but the gym was poor - tiny, airless, with old equipment - certainly not what you'd expect from a hotel of this standard.

The staff were friendly, helpful and usually attentive. The breakfasts were good - a large variety of fresh, well prepared food. We had an excellent (Mexican) buffet in the Sagres restaurant in the evening (different themes each night) and 2 excellent meals in their Italian restaurant, L'Arleccinos. Unfortunately, the meal in the Cotton Club (the golf club's bar) was awful. All of the restaurants were pricey, but with the exception of the club, worth it.

The hotel is very children friendly. The hotel's "Penguin Club" has an imaginative programme of activities for toddlers and youngsters, which change over the week. The staff are numerous and attentive. Security is excellent. My daughter enjoyed the couple of hours she spent there one afternoo. The Penguin Club has a paddling pool too, but otherwise children need to use the main pool, which is shallow (1m) at either end but quickly deepens, reaching 2-3.5m in the centre. For guests, the club is free if you stay with the children or for a very reasonable price if they need supervision.

The hotel has a beach club at Alvor (about 5km away). The beach is very sandy, usually only a slight surf, but is often windy. The hotel has a restaurant there, and a small shop selling drinks and ice cream. The hotel runs a free bus service there, departures every 2-3h.

For tourists, the hotel is very well situated to explore the Algarve. All the major sights are within a very reasonable drive (many within 30 min). The nearby beach and pool make it an excellent place to chill.

I'm no golfer, but comments from other guests about the courses seemed to be positive. The hotel is not tailored for business people. Internet connectivity is restricted to Wi-Fi in the reception area or the overpriced business centre.

I would strongly recommend hiring a car, rather than relying upon the few local taxis or public transport. The hotel is not within walking distance of anything.

Overall, a good hotel in an excellent location.

From my daughter's point of veiw: the Penguin Club is very good because of the amount the children can do e.g. - colouring, painting, going on a bouncey casle, going on a climbing frame, swimming and a lot more besides. Lunch, tea and snacks can be provided

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Angliskai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Just back from an 8 day stay in the Hotel, having stayed there for the last 3 years also. We expected to get a new room as per the hotel's website, but ended up with an older room which seemed very dated. Other holiday makers we spoke to got upgrades to better rooms as the hotel was only half full, which was also disapointing as I have a Starwood Hotels rewards card.

What was also disapointing, but may have been just bad luck, was that we had booked the hotel and flights in February, and paid the top price, whereas other holiday makers had booked over the last month or so and picked up some really good deals, up to 60% off, and upgrades also.

The golf course was in good condition for the first few days, then they spiked and sanded 5 of the greens. We were again amazed at the friday competition, with approx 35 golfers entering at €15 per head (€525), the prize fund amounted to €120, which seemed a bit mean.

They have upgraded the driving range, which is top notch, but expensive for balls.

The hotel was only half full, and I am not sure if this was due to the credit crunch or the strenght of the Euro against Sterling. There other option might have been that people did not want to pay the exorborant prices for goods charged in the hotel. For example, a 500ml bottle of water in the golf shop is €2. As it was so hot we were drinking approx 4 litres of water per day, which was €16 per person per day on water. We then bought water in the supermarket in Alvor for €0.71 for 8 litres, which is then €0.45 per 500ml as opposed to €2. The other expensive thing is €48 for a buggy.

On check out, we had requested a late check out, but were refused, which seemed surprising when the hotel was half empty. We had also asked for help with our luggage, but nobody came up to our room.

This review may seem a bit critical, but we had brought friends with us this year, and the hotel did not live up to our previous experience. We would consider it for a holiday again, but not for a while.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GregNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
905 reviews
23.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: £98 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing