We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & great staff”
Review of Dockside - CLOSED

Dockside
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & great staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Dined at the Dockside 3 times during my holiday & every meal was absolutely beautiful. Great selection of fish & unbeatable service. Can be pricey but so very worth it. I can recommend the mussels, the prawns & the monkfish kebab. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6mackays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The view does it for me”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times mainly because of the setting. The food and service are both really good. The waiters are always great with my son which I like.

Helpful?
Thank mjbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dated and disappointing”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We came to this restaurant and was invited in by an elderly looking gentlemen.

He sat us down and assumed we would be eating rather than asking. We did actually intend to eat here but after looking through the ancient old menus and the surroundings that we didnt actually want to eat. However out of courtesy we ordered a round of drinks and sat back to watch the world cup match that was on display (Note, do not come here to watch the game as the TV's were so terrible that we struggled to make out even the score)

Not to skip the most important part. After the gentlemen who showed us in realised that we just wanted drinks, he seemed to go in a huff like we had dis-respected him in some way, so that left a bit of a sour atmosphere from then on.

I ordered a pint of draught beer and it tasted very weak not like it should have.

Needless to say I'm so glad that we didn't eat here and we headed over to another restaurant to eat and finish our night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Swagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hossegor, France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Special menu worth a go”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped here for dinner because it's a nice spot right on the harbour/beach and the guy out the front was friendly without being pushy. The menu is pretty expensive but the special menu had a fair few good options. The food was tasty but not a huge portion and something got lost in translation so ended up with chicken not chicken breast but didn't complain. The service inside wasn't as friendly as the guy at the front and there were people with dogs inside that kept barking at each other, one group got moved right next to us and then chain smoked so we left smelling like a chimney. That was the worst part for us so probably wouldn't return, there are better options at the top/other end of Praia da Rocha.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Over priced and over rated!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from our hotel. The setting is nice on the habour however the food leaves much to be desirded. Upon arrival the staff were very rude and walked by us twice before speaking to us and seating us. We ordered a bottle of wine while looking at the food menu which we waited 20 mins for. Starters were over priced, we got scampi which looked like it was out of a bag and mussels which were cold. For mains we had prawns with what can only described as microwaved rice and monkfish which was tasteless and served with cold vegetables. We both had a side salad which was soggy and not fresh. Overall it was not a great experience but what let it down the most was the rude staff that countined to ignore us for our entire meal. For the price they are charging it is not up to standard. There are some much nicer reaturaunts in portmaio/praira da Rocha for the price you paying.

Helpful?
3 Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockside also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing