We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chicken I've ever had”

Churrasqueira Guerreiro
Ranked #79 of 513 Restaurants in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: grill restaurant with the best Portuguese piri piri chicken. tel +351 282 412 742
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best chicken I've ever had”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Eaten here twice in a week forget about nandos this is the real portugese deal fantastic chicken great algarve salads superb fries and good service. Try the desserts as well as they are very good don't be out off by the outside as it looks very odd at the bottom of an apartment block. Just get in there and eat. And to top it all off its dirt cheap meal for 4 with large beers was 40euro

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Velocyclistman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churrasqueiraguerr, Gerente at Churrasqueira Guerreiro, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you so much for your opinion! we try our best to give you the best.
Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic piri piri, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have tried a few piri piri places now, but kept having this restaurant recommended to us by locals. There was a queue out of the door with chicken cooked on hot coals constantly. Fantastic service, very quick and friendly. Handmade chips, fresh salad, olives, bread, drinks and the nicest chicken we have tried in Portugal for 4 people, for less than 40€! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churrasqueiraguerr, Gerente at Churrasqueira Guerreiro, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you so much for your opinion and kind words.
Be sure, we try our best to give you the best food and service.

Hope to see you again, soon.

kind regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not only the best chicken piri-piri!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are looking for an authentic place and an alternative to all touristic restaurants, make sure you visit. The place is full of locals, with people usually queuing for a table. The dishes are simple but fully flavoured and simply delicious.
My favourite is 'picanha'-grilled beef steak, which I eat every single time I visit. A must-have is also a traditional Algarvian salad to accompany the steak or the chicken. Also, make sure you ask for a dessert menu as the 'sobremesas' are made on the day and hard to resist. 'Baba de camelo' is one of the best and difficult to find the same quality anywhere else.
Staff are extremely useful and knowledgeable about the menu and food. No problem with English.
It is also conveniently located near a big shopping centre so might be combined with a shopping trip.
Best grilled meal I have ever had!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churrasqueiraguerr, Gerente at Churrasqueira Guerreiro, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank´s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and helpful staff”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived just as it opened for the evening found locals Qing for takeaway.
Staff helpful and friendly even to a Brit who can't speak the language. Food lovely and very good value. Going back tonight.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 210Paul_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churrasqueiraguerr, Gerente at Churrasqueira Guerreiro, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you so much for your opinion and kind word.
We work to give you the best food and service!

Hope to see you soon, and hope the second visit was as pleasant as the first one!

Kind Regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good ”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting this restaurant for at least 10 years and it is consistently excellent. Always our first place to eat when we arrive on holiday, unless its a Monday as they close all day on Mondays. The staff and owners are always very welcoming and make us feel like we are part if the family. Chicken is excellent as is the house red wine which is a very reasonable price. We visited twice last week to get our Piri piri fix before coming home to the UK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churrasqueiraguerr, Gerente at Churrasqueira Guerreiro, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you so much for your opinion and kind words. we always enjoy welcoming familiar faces!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churrasqueira Guerreiro also viewed

 

Been to Churrasqueira Guerreiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing