We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Globo
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oriental(Praia da Rocha)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luna Alvor Village(Alvor)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
27
74
70
25
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
74
70
25
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbad smellclose to shopsclean hotellocal townstar hotelstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is nicely fitted out. Good quality fittings, Polished stone floors in the public areas. The bathroom we had, had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet and wash hand basin set in polished granite. It has a lift, with the restaraunt and bar on the upper floors, having glass walls to the sides to give a view over the harbour. There are no balconies.

Meals are buffet style.
Breakfast always was scrambled egg, with either bacon or sausages and mushrooms or baked beans. You could also have bread buns or sliced bread, sliced ham, continetal saussage, and sliced cheese, fruit juice, coffees,cakes or two types of flaked cerials and yoghurt. You could also choose from a good fruit bowl.
Dinner. Home made soup of the day. Bread. Always a choice from either fish or meat, with a vegetable, and potatoe or chips. Always a wide choice of salad. A pudding and fruit.
The food was always very nice and my partner is a very fussy eater and always found something to please her.

The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel was very quiet and deserves a lot more business (it was the end of their season). Their web site shows good photographs of what it is like. Our room had first class air conditioning.
We do not know how they can give us this quality for the small amount of money we paid.
There is no swimming pool or car parking there is a gym which we did not look at. The location is in narrow streets a short walk up a bit of a hill from the harbour.
Portimao is a quiet town relying on tourists and is a good place for a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but the hotel looked the same all over. There are limited views from the rooms as it is in the centre of town.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieterRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Very good three star hotel in the Algarve. Very clean and rooms cleaned daily. Our 5th floor twin room had all the basics, was en suite with a decent working shower, had a good working air con and a free safe in the room. Only lacked a fridge. Meals were upstairs on the 6th floor and were of the buffet variety, usual cold continental breakfast but usually with one egg based hot course and dinner had both fish and other meat courses, and much better than expected from a three star. View from resturant was only exceeded by view from bar on floor above and made for spectacular views across the river estuary, port and most of the town. Staff were very hospitable with Elsa (reception manager) and Andre (german waiter) deserving special mention. Both spoke good english, and if you want a decent cup of tea, just ask waiter for a pot of boiling water, rather than the lukewarm stuff out of the machine. Did ocassionally get a sulphur smell within the hotel, but quickly learn't to freshen the room with open windows during the day, and use close them in the evening, using aircon to moderate room temp. This external smell seems to become an issue mostly in the evenings - but during our stay only happened a couple of times. Most people staying in the nearby Algarve use Portimao for shopping as it has a very good centre, for supermarkets, fish and fruit/veg markets and traditional shops. Also has a railway station and train fares are about half bus fares, although not all stations are where their name suggests. Good for Faro and Lagos trips though. Hotel is close to both the stations, bus and train, and the port and historical areas. Church just uphill worth a visit as is the town museum but younger parties might want the beach area, about 2 miles away as their starting point. Overall, with its central location, good quality mainly local food, hospitable and friendly staff, excellent price and cleanliness, we would return there.

Room Tip: 5th floor seems to have fewer issues with smell than lower ones.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esdrt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 2nd time in two years. Between 3rd and 10th October we had half board accommodation.
The hotel is in the centre of portimao on a hill, not suitable for families with children as hotel is focussed at couples.
The hotel is still of a good clean condition with all communal area well looked after.
The bedroom was well sized as was the bathroom. The room were cleaned daily and towels changed.
The evening meal was brilliant and again never had the same meal twice. The waiters were excellent and look after us every evening. Very friendly.
The only issue I have was that we attempted to use the gym and found the majority of the equipment was broken

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stretch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Other reviewers have covered most points. However breakfasts although wide in variety are repetitive i.e. always scrambled egg and a mini sort of frankfurter with mushrooms for a few days then baked beans for a few days after that. Also a similar routine for fruit on offer and surprisingly how often tinned fruit rather than fresh. Ideal location for those visiting the area as part of a tour of the Algarve but if that is by car investigate parking in advance; there is none available at the hotel and local parking is quite expensive. The hotel can advise and help however so contact them.Not sure about room sizes. We had 304 which was very well sized but looking at the emergency exit plans on the back of the door I got the impression that some rooms were quite small.
As a local said there are only two things to Portimao; sardines and sailing trips so don't expect to much. But for a relaxing couple of days not far from this hotel puts you down by the harbourside and a couple of cafe's with newsagents where current day international newspapers arrive around 10:30. A relaxing coffee/fresh orange with a cheese and ham toastie whilst reading The Times with no pressure to move on can be quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tritontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel was fine, rooms a good size but yes there is a bad smell from the port, suggest you request rooms as high up at possible. Clean well decorated rooms. A typical package holiday holiday hotel but with a local Portuguese clientele. Good breakfast in restaurant with lovely view. WiFi is payable which I would I expect to be included in a three star. Once we changed for a less smelly room on the fourth floor, the bathroom was V.small. Unfortunately parking is payable and town centre is pretty dead apart from the port area. The beach is not within walkiing distance. Whilst the rooms had been upgraded the common area carpeting was very worn and worse for wear. Also rooms were cleaned in the afternoon which precluded an afternoon siesta.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molesinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews