We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, would stay again but.......”
Review of Hotel Globo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Globo
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked a suite as we like some space. Hotel clean, food good, but star removed as the hotel charges for wifi, and these days it seems a bit penny pinching. On the day of departure we had to leave before breakfast was served. No booking alternative to B+B was available, and no reduction offered, or effort made to offer an early alternative. Tap water is horrible, but that is not the hotel's fault, probably general for Portimao.

Room Tip: It is probably worth the few extra euros to book a suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Globo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't go back, it's a port and town is very run down. Quite a few lovely beaches stunning views within walking distance 40 mins .. Train station 5 mins walk ..Suppose it was a good base for a weeks holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginnyreid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked Hotel Globo as an alternative to a hotel in a more 'resort' type town. The room we were given on the second floor was small but it was very clean and modern and the air-con worked perfectly. The room and en-suite were cleaned every day during our stay.

We stayed on a B&B basis, although we didn't eat the breakfast every day as the food was not great. The tea and coffee were not very nice, milk for cereal was warm and the cooked foods such as mushrooms, eggs, sausages etc were not of good quality. But there was a selection of breads and pastries which were fine. If you do stay here be sure to buy bottled water as the tap water is always warm or hot, never really cold enough to drink (except from the water machine in the restaurant).

We were a little concerned about other reviews which had mentioned a horrible smell in the hotel, although we did notice a faint smell the first day or two in the foyer and stairwell our room never smelt bad. It may be more of a problem when the weather is hotter during the height of summer.

The hotel is well situated in Portimao, just a few minutes from the water-front, the tourist information and several restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was staying in this hotel for 8 nights on this September with my husband. Because it was our honeymoon, they gave us the best room in 5th floor (507) which had two rooms and was very spacious and clean. We ate breakfast, supper and dinner at hotel's restaurant. Food was very fresh and delicious. For supper and dinner there was always one fish and one meat dish. Fish was always incredibly tasty. I just missed more fruits.
What is more, staff was very friendly and helpful, room was neat and new. Hotel is in the heart of Portimao, but it is possible to find free parking spaces nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view to the river and are quiter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GintareKazakausk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Globo is ideally situated if you want to be in the centre of Portimao. The hotel and the room were very clean and the staff helpful. However there was a sign in the lift stating that the bar was 'temporarily' closed and the evening restaurant seemed to only be available when a large group was in residence. On my first morning at breakfast the large group comprised elderly Portuguese who were very noisy. The second morning it was eerily quiet. Third morning it was quiet also but as I was waiting in the lounge for my taxi another large group arrived (elderly Portuguese) and were again very noisy - particularly their guide whose voice shrieked up the decibel level. The restaurant was open for that night. Cold breakfast was excellent but cooked selection seemed very greasy. Would stay again purely for the convenience - it being a few minutes from the Casa Inglesa on the main square and the cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desmond J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is nicely fitted out. Good quality fittings, Polished stone floors in the public areas. The bathroom we had, had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet and wash hand basin set in polished granite. It has a lift, with the restaraunt and bar on the upper floors, having glass walls to the sides to give a view over the harbour. There are no balconies.

Meals are buffet style.
Breakfast always was scrambled egg, with either bacon or sausages and mushrooms or baked beans. You could also have bread buns or sliced bread, sliced ham, continetal saussage, and sliced cheese, fruit juice, coffees,cakes or two types of flaked cerials and yoghurt. You could also choose from a good fruit bowl.
Dinner. Home made soup of the day. Bread. Always a choice from either fish or meat, with a vegetable, and potatoe or chips. Always a wide choice of salad. A pudding and fruit.
The food was always very nice and my partner is a very fussy eater and always found something to please her.

The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel was very quiet and deserves a lot more business (it was the end of their season). Their web site shows good photographs of what it is like. Our room had first class air conditioning.
We do not know how they can give us this quality for the small amount of money we paid.
There is no swimming pool or car parking there is a gym which we did not look at. The location is in narrow streets a short walk up a bit of a hill from the harbour.
Portimao is a quiet town relying on tourists and is a good place for a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but the hotel looked the same all over. There are limited views fro...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieterRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Very good three star hotel in the Algarve. Very clean and rooms cleaned daily. Our 5th floor twin room had all the basics, was en suite with a decent working shower, had a good working air con and a free safe in the room. Only lacked a fridge. Meals were upstairs on the 6th floor and were of the buffet variety, usual cold continental breakfast but usually with one egg based hot course and dinner had both fish and other meat courses, and much better than expected from a three star. View from resturant was only exceeded by view from bar on floor above and made for spectacular views across the river estuary, port and most of the town. Staff were very hospitable with Elsa (reception manager) and Andre (german waiter) deserving special mention. Both spoke good english, and if you want a decent cup of tea, just ask waiter for a pot of boiling water, rather than the lukewarm stuff out of the machine. Did ocassionally get a sulphur smell within the hotel, but quickly learn't to freshen the room with open windows during the day, and use close them in the evening, using aircon to moderate room temp. This external smell seems to become an issue mostly in the evenings - but during our stay only happened a couple of times. Most people staying in the nearby Algarve use Portimao for shopping as it has a very good centre, for supermarkets, fish and fruit/veg markets and traditional shops. Also has a railway station and train fares are about half bus fares, although not all stations are where their name suggests. Good for Faro and Lagos trips though. Hotel is close to both the stations, bus and train, and the port and historical areas. Church just uphill worth a visit as is the town museum but younger parties might want the beach area, about 2 miles away as their starting point. Overall, with its central location, good quality mainly local food, hospitable and friendly staff, excellent price and cleanliness, we would return there.

Room Tip: 5th floor seems to have fewer issues with smell than lower ones.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esdrt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.7 mi away
Mirachoro Sol
Mirachoro Sol
#54 of 75 in Portimao
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#23 of 75 in Portimao
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Sao Roque
Residencial Sao Roque
#29 of 75 in Portimao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
1.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida Praia
Hotel Avenida Praia
#17 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globo

Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 26, Portimao 8500-581, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range: £24 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Globo 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Globo has been completely renovated, being a small boutique style hotel located in the historical centre of Portimo, closed to the river Bank, where you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The popular resort of Praia da Rocha with its fabulous golden sandy beaches is less than 3 km away and easily accessible by local bus or taxi. It's an excellent choice for those who want to taste the local Portuguese life style in a typical algarvian town and close to one of the best beaches on the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globo Hotel Portimão
Hotel Globo Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing