We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not suitable for long stay or holidays” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Globo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Globo
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not suitable for long stay or holidays”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just got back from staying at this Hotel after spending 15 nights unfortunatley found the stay only bearable after finding a nice beach about 15 min bus ride away.Food was just about suitable if it was half board but beware if full board what food is left from lunchtime is served up again at evening meal.All staff we came into contact with were really very helpful.I would question the 3* rating though can,t for the life of me see how this is possible as hardly any facilities so if the stay is long one you will spend more time out of the hotel than in even if its raining.I don,t normally berate a hotel but feel I need to for this one so beware you have been warned.I did look at previous ratings before booking but I can,t for the life of me see how they could be talking about the same hotal.

Room Tip: Beds are like wooden planks views are none existing unless on high floors. No pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    67
    57
    19
    37
See reviews for
34
115
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked a suite as we like some space. Hotel clean, food good, but star removed as the hotel charges for wifi, and these days it seems a bit penny pinching. On the day of departure we had to leave before breakfast was served. No booking alternative to B+B was available, and no reduction offered, or effort made to offer an early alternative. Tap water is horrible, but that is not the hotel's fault, probably general for Portimao.

Room Tip: It is probably worth the few extra euros to book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't go back, it's a port and town is very run down. Quite a few lovely beaches stunning views within walking distance 40 mins .. Train station 5 mins walk ..Suppose it was a good base for a weeks holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginnyreid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked Hotel Globo as an alternative to a hotel in a more 'resort' type town. The room we were given on the second floor was small but it was very clean and modern and the air-con worked perfectly. The room and en-suite were cleaned every day during our stay.

We stayed on a B&B basis, although we didn't eat the breakfast every day as the food was not great. The tea and coffee were not very nice, milk for cereal was warm and the cooked foods such as mushrooms, eggs, sausages etc were not of good quality. But there was a selection of breads and pastries which were fine. If you do stay here be sure to buy bottled water as the tap water is always warm or hot, never really cold enough to drink (except from the water machine in the restaurant).

We were a little concerned about other reviews which had mentioned a horrible smell in the hotel, although we did notice a faint smell the first day or two in the foyer and stairwell our room never smelt bad. It may be more of a problem when the weather is hotter during the height of summer.

The hotel is well situated in Portimao, just a few minutes from the water-front, the tourist information and several restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was staying in this hotel for 8 nights on this September with my husband. Because it was our honeymoon, they gave us the best room in 5th floor (507) which had two rooms and was very spacious and clean. We ate breakfast, supper and dinner at hotel's restaurant. Food was very fresh and delicious. For supper and dinner there was always one fish and one meat dish. Fish was always incredibly tasty. I just missed more fruits.
What is more, staff was very friendly and helpful, room was neat and new. Hotel is in the heart of Portimao, but it is possible to find free parking spaces nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view to the river and are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GintareKazakausk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Globo is ideally situated if you want to be in the centre of Portimao. The hotel and the room were very clean and the staff helpful. However there was a sign in the lift stating that the bar was 'temporarily' closed and the evening restaurant seemed to only be available when a large group was in residence. On my first morning at breakfast the large group comprised elderly Portuguese who were very noisy. The second morning it was eerily quiet. Third morning it was quiet also but as I was waiting in the lounge for my taxi another large group arrived (elderly Portuguese) and were again very noisy - particularly their guide whose voice shrieked up the decibel level. The restaurant was open for that night. Cold breakfast was excellent but cooked selection seemed very greasy. Would stay again purely for the convenience - it being a few minutes from the Casa Inglesa on the main square and the cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desmond J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is nicely fitted out. Good quality fittings, Polished stone floors in the public areas. The bathroom we had, had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet and wash hand basin set in polished granite. It has a lift, with the restaraunt and bar on the upper floors, having glass walls to the sides to give a view over the harbour. There are no balconies.

Meals are buffet style.
Breakfast always was scrambled egg, with either bacon or sausages and mushrooms or baked beans. You could also have bread buns or sliced bread, sliced ham, continetal saussage, and sliced cheese, fruit juice, coffees,cakes or two types of flaked cerials and yoghurt. You could also choose from a good fruit bowl.
Dinner. Home made soup of the day. Bread. Always a choice from either fish or meat, with a vegetable, and potatoe or chips. Always a wide choice of salad. A pudding and fruit.
The food was always very nice and my partner is a very fussy eater and always found something to please her.

The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel was very quiet and deserves a lot more business (it was the end of their season). Their web site shows good photographs of what it is like. Our room had first class air conditioning.
We do not know how they can give us this quality for the small amount of money we paid.
There is no swimming pool or car parking there is a gym which we did not look at. The location is in narrow streets a short walk up a bit of a hill from the harbour.
Portimao is a quiet town relying on tourists and is a good place for a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but the hotel looked the same all over. There are limited views fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieterRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
8.2 mi away
Montemar
Montemar
#38 of 51 in Lagos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirachoro Sol
Mirachoro Sol
#56 of 78 in Portimao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#16 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Sao Roque
Residencial Sao Roque
#28 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globo

Property: Hotel Globo
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 26, Portimao 8500-581, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Globo 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Globo has been completely renovated, being a small boutique style hotel located in the historical centre of Portimo, closed to the river Bank, where you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The popular resort of Praia da Rocha with its fabulous golden sandy beaches is less than 3 km away and easily accessible by local bus or taxi. It's an excellent choice for those who want to taste the local Portuguese life style in a typical algarvian town and close to one of the best beaches on the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Globo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globo Hotel Portimão
Hotel Globo Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing