We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel at great price”
Review of Hotel Globo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Globo
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This hotel is a gem. Portimao is a great location with some great restaurants. The Globo Hotel compares faverably with many four and five star hotels I've stayed in. Great decor, clean, friendly helpful service. Ok so it doesn't have parking appol or gardens but that aside its a great hotel and fantastic value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ismsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Globo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our room was small but comfortable and spotless. The views from the restaurant and bar over the square and the marina must be the best in town. There's a secure car park nearby but we always found an on-street place nearby, although not on the same road as the hotel; its too narrow. The Hotel is signposted all over the centre so its easy to find. If you want a pool and lounger.. not for you. We ate breakfast there every day and there was loads of choice. Can't recommend the evening meals compared to the variety of restaurants available on the doorstep but still better than some I've eaten in dearer places!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevelandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My wife and I, both Senior Citizens visited Hotel Globo because of its location and other members reviews on it. We were not dissappointed.
The Hotel is situated in a narrow street as most streets are in Portimao, very close to the water side, infact it can be seen from almost anywhere along the water side, also close to the town centre.

We found the hotel very clean with very accomodating reception staff speaking faily good english. Our room was exactly as pictured on their web site and very spacious. It was kept very clean by very efficient cleaners with towels changed daily. The resturant was situated on the 6th floor and commanded a magnificent view over the waterside area. Breakfast was very basic supplying a continentel breakfast with the cooked food consisting of scrambled egg, with either mushrooms, rashers, sausage or baked beans varied on a daily basis.

We would not consider the hotel would be suitable for young children as there is no pool or play facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joell39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

My wife and I in our late 60`s thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Globo,the room was very clean and cleaned everyday.No tea making facilities though.The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English..The hotel was mostly suitable for couples and singles,as there were no amenities for children.
The food was very good,the breakfast buffet style with a very good choice of hot and cold dishes and cereals,with a superb view overlooking the river and the town.We were half board the evening dinner was 3 courses,the main course was a choice of 5, the sweet was not very good though.
Portimao was a very pleasant town with plenty of shops over a wide area.The river promenade and square has plenty of restaurant`s and cafe`s,try the sardines (delicious).
There is an excellent beach at Praia da Roche can be walked but allow at least 1/2 hour, it is longer if you follow the river bank as we did.The best bet is to take the free hotel bus which leaves at 10am and returns at 4pm.
The local bus service is regular and cheap.
I would also recommend the boat trip up river to Silves,and also the trip out to sea to the caves.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WALT060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My wife and I have recently returned from 7 nights in the Hotel Globo in Portimao. The hotel is very well situated near the harbour and shopping streets. The rooms are very clean and have a flat screen TV mounted on the wall which has quite a few english channels, mostly news but also a couple of movie / drama channels. All of the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We were booked on a half board basis and the food was very very good. Breakfast was mostly continental with meats / cheese / bread / cereal / fresh fruit and juices. They also provided scrambled eggs, bacon and either mushrooms or beans. Evening meals were also very good with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts. Main courses were mostly entrecote, fish and chicken. If we had stayed there for 14 nights I think the menu might have got a little bit tedious but for 7 nights it was fine.
The hotel has a 3* rating but we felt that it is better than this.
I think a special mention must go to Rogerio, the waiter, who was most helpful and assisted us with our travel plans using the bus and train to visit other resorts.
Portimao is a great place to stay and has great cafes, bars and restaurants on squares dotted around the town. It is a great base for you to explore the other resorts. I would recommend you visit Lagos and Alvor.
It is also very Portuguese so don't expect British food. The seafood and local speciality of sardines were fantastic.
If you want Brirtish then I suggest you go to either Albufeira or Praia de Rocha.
Would I stay here again ? Most definitely YES.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dougie_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

I booked this hotel last minute and wasn't disappointed. We arrived late which wasnt a problem with reception but they were a bit funny with us in the restaurant as they were due to close within 15 mins (10pm) so we could only get a salad, which was pretty gross. However, the room was immaculate, a little small but very comfortable and everything was brand new including the bathroom. On a last minute deal we paid 77 euros for a double room, 2 nights, including breakfast. When we arrived we saw their price list quoted 150 euros per night for a double so we were really happy with our bargain purchase. There are a few restaurants/cafes within walking distance and it was lovely to have a coffee by the port and read the papers on Sunday morning. We didnt think much of Praia de Rocha though, this is where the nightlife/big hotels are and it was very English and pretty chavvy in my opinion. However you cant fault the beaches, beautiful stretches of golden sand which go on for miles. Our friends had been staying in Praia de Rocha and hadnt found a decent restaurant in 7 nights. The prices were high and the food awful. On the way back to Spain we stopped off in Loule and had the best chicken piri piri ever with pork ribs, salad and chips, wine and beer and it only came to 12 euros - fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brenw789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.7 mi away
Mirachoro Sol
Mirachoro Sol
#40 of 75 in Portimao
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#24 of 75 in Portimao
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Sao Roque
Residencial Sao Roque
#29 of 75 in Portimao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
1.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida Praia
Hotel Avenida Praia
#17 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globo

Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 26, Portimao 8500-581, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range: £24 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Globo 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Globo has been completely renovated, being a small boutique style hotel located in the historical centre of Portimo, closed to the river Bank, where you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The popular resort of Praia da Rocha with its fabulous golden sandy beaches is less than 3 km away and easily accessible by local bus or taxi. It's an excellent choice for those who want to taste the local Portuguese life style in a typical algarvian town and close to one of the best beaches on the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Globo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globo Hotel Portimão
Hotel Globo Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing