We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a cheapy holiday”
Review of Mirachoro Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirachoro Sol
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Good for a cheapy holiday , have to walk 20 mins to port to eat etc although if you walk the opposite way there is a good shopping center with good food , breakfast which is included is OK but very repetitive and extremely basic , pool is OK but cold and desperately needs a refurb don't bother with indoor pool as also cold , rooms are nice and air-con v good . Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thatdewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

12 of us stayed here first week in september.We used it as a base for our golfing holiday.hotel spotless,rooms cleaned daily and towels changed every day.Only down side limited breakfast choice.Shuttle bus down to resort.Small bar 100yards away 1.60 a pint ! Plus good selection of toasters etc.Very good restaurant nearby,but try the chicken takeaway across the road roast not fried chicken plus rice and chips ask for Frango (chicken) piripiri Finally a mention for the reception staff all fantastic especially Isobel, nothing to much trouble

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

not long been back from this hotel, good hotel very basic. rooms cleaned daily and rooms very clean, no bad comments to say on this hotel, could of done with a fridge not sure if can hire one.
would return again if needed
was a good 20-30 mins away from main strip which we walked 90% of the time they also offer free bus to main strip during the day to the beach
wasnt keen on the pool being round the corner from hotel and was fairly small but did the job - so went to the beach daily
would recommend to someone who wants a cheap place to stay
staff friendly,
did the same breakfast everyday and got bored of this after 5 days but still worth the money saved us buying breakfast and lunch

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeanneF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well what can i say we Picked up a late deal and we chose this hotel due to the fact that it had a indoor and outdoor pool due to daughter being a water baby 11 years old that she is.
On arrival wasn't to sure we had made the right decision. However once inside we where greeted by very friendly staff who pointed us in the right direction for a bite to eat seeing as we had arrived early ( early flight) before room was ready. After eating at local cafe which was excellent, returned to hotel and was give furter info re room, air con, free bus to beach inc time tables, shopping areas etc. Also a local resturant Quintinha which was aboslutly superb and very friendly staff. Continental breakfast was good and plenty of it. All in all a very pleasant stay. Staff were brilliant always happy to help

Room Tip: Clean. Beds at little hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Couplewaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

location: on foot rather far from Praia da Rocha. however they provide free buses, several per day, to and from Portimao and Rocha, but you need to make a reservation. it's better to have a car. taxi ride about 5 EUR. Quiet, no outside disturbances/noises (didn't hear any dogs, then again i'm a heavy sleeper). Parking is almost always full, it's a public parking, not hotel-owned (depends on your luck to get a free spot).
room: tv, air condition, clean, bathroom and linen as well. however, we could hear the neighbors through the door.
breakfast: varied enough for a few days but not for longer stays.
staff: friendly, polite, helpful. on check-in we had been given full info about the hotel, transportation etc.
the outside pool is really outside, you need to exit the hotel, take a left and walk 30-50 meters. to access it, you need a key, which comes in the same bundle with the room key.
they din't have a map of the area / town. only gave us a poorly xeroxed A4. better try the tourist office.
very good value for money. will stay next time.
stayed in July, traveled as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xulescu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We arrived home after a four night break to Portugal after staying at this hotel. There is nothing bad we can say about this hotel!

On arrival, in honesty, from the outside we were dubious about the apperence. However we were soon put as ease by Alex on reception. He explained where everything was within the hotel, breakfast times, gave us information on buses and details of the cortesy bus provided by the hotel to the town and the beach. On check in we were given a tv remote and airconditioning remote and two keys - one for the room and one for the outdoor pool.

There was an elevator to the room which made us being in a room on the top floor easier! When we walked into our room it was amazing. It was lovely!!! After reading several reviews on here we were nervous! There was a lovely double wardrobe, tv, airconditioning (which was amazing!), double bed, bathroom complete with towels and toiletries and a lovely balcony which was big enough for both of us to sit on comfortably. The indoor pool was lovely and we had it to ourselves 99% of the time. was a bit cold but this could be because we were warm from a day on the beach so it was bound to be cold. The outdoor pool was just as good, although it was the same depth all the way round.

To be honest the bed could have been comfier but for four nights it wasnt unbearable.

The breakfast every morning was satisfying, however the cooked breakfast side of the menu was a bit of a let down.

The location was not too bad. Near enough to the local shopping center which had everything we needed, from beach items to food. The hotel also buts on a free bus to the local town which is worth a visit but isnt amazing. The bus can also go to the beach. It is worh is however you have to commit to a time to return unless you make your own way back. Its about a 45 minute walk or 2 minutes in a taxi which costs around 5 Euros.

Also the hotel arranged a private mini bus to take us back to the airport which was worth it as it saved 3 hours on a coach!

Finally, to eliminate the noise of the dogs (which for us was not a problem at all, didnt hear any at all!) put the air conditioning on at night insted of leaving the balcony door open!

Room Tip: Front of hotel has nicer views than the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claireyfairy381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

we spent seven days in this hotel and it felt like 7 months . yes the rooms were clean linen changed, but breakfast was disgusting , the ckes etc that were served on th e thursday were still there on the following wednesday and would have dented the wall if thrown at it , bread was mouldy . the desk staff had no information about buses all they wanted to do was order a taxi, the swimming pool was a revelation , 100 yards away from the hotel through what looked a bit like beirut, when you got in there the pool was green with algae . NOT VERY NICE . There is a local restaurant that is excellent if somewhat restricted in the menu, with lamb chops to die for ,but other than this i would not go back again even if it was free

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwendoline63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.7 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#66 of 76 in Portimao
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida Praia
Hotel Avenida Praia
#17 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#22 of 76 in Portimao
330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente
21.2 mi away
Alte Hotel
Alte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alte
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirachoro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirachoro Sol

Address: Urbanizacao do Fojo, Lote 35, Portimao 8500-772, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range: £17 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirachoro Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mirachoro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Sol Portimão
Mirachoro Sol Hotel Portimão
Mirachoro Sol Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing