We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel, away from beach”
Review of Mirachoro Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirachoro Sol
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We went together with my family. The hotel itself was away both from the centre of Portimao as well as from the beach. The only good thing was that there was a free hotel mini bus 3 times a day going to the beach. The hotel equippment was worn, the swimming pool was dirty. The price that we paid haven't been low. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanieloty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Mirachoro Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very friendly small hotel with indoor pool
Away from the beach but not too far
Very friendly and efficient staff.... nothing is too much trouble
Clean and comfortable
Very quiet in October
Couldn't believe the value

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holsdad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel two years running now. It's a lovely hotel, quiet, and such good value. If you want to be right in the thick of the bar/nightlife culture of Portimao, then this isn't the place for you. It's away from the main tourist area, but all the better for it. The staff all speak excellent English and are so friendly, and helpful. The rooms are large and clean, with a big balcony. No frills to this hotel - although there are two pools, breakfast is good, and there is wifi in the lobby - but we don't go on holiday to stay in the hotel all day. It's a nice stroll down to the harbour area, where there's plenty of restaurants, and a complimentary bus to Praia de Rocha if you want the beach and the nightlife. But if a relaxing holiday is what you are after, then I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen25364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Good for a cheapy holiday , have to walk 20 mins to port to eat etc although if you walk the opposite way there is a good shopping center with good food , breakfast which is included is OK but very repetitive and extremely basic , pool is OK but cold and desperately needs a refurb don't bother with indoor pool as also cold , rooms are nice and air-con v good . Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thatdewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

12 of us stayed here first week in september.We used it as a base for our golfing holiday.hotel spotless,rooms cleaned daily and towels changed every day.Only down side limited breakfast choice.Shuttle bus down to resort.Small bar 100yards away 1.60 a pint ! Plus good selection of toasters etc.Very good restaurant nearby,but try the chicken takeaway across the road roast not fried chicken plus rice and chips ask for Frango (chicken) piripiri Finally a mention for the reception staff all fantastic especially Isobel, nothing to much trouble

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

not long been back from this hotel, good hotel very basic. rooms cleaned daily and rooms very clean, no bad comments to say on this hotel, could of done with a fridge not sure if can hire one.
would return again if needed
was a good 20-30 mins away from main strip which we walked 90% of the time they also offer free bus to main strip during the day to the beach
wasnt keen on the pool being round the corner from hotel and was fairly small but did the job - so went to the beach daily
would recommend to someone who wants a cheap place to stay
staff friendly,
did the same breakfast everyday and got bored of this after 5 days but still worth the money saved us buying breakfast and lunch

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeanneF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well what can i say we Picked up a late deal and we chose this hotel due to the fact that it had a indoor and outdoor pool due to daughter being a water baby 11 years old that she is.
On arrival wasn't to sure we had made the right decision. However once inside we where greeted by very friendly staff who pointed us in the right direction for a bite to eat seeing as we had arrived early ( early flight) before room was ready. After eating at local cafe which was excellent, returned to hotel and was give furter info re room, air con, free bus to beach inc time tables, shopping areas etc. Also a local resturant Quintinha which was aboslutly superb and very friendly staff. Continental breakfast was good and plenty of it. All in all a very pleasant stay. Staff were brilliant always happy to help

Room Tip: Clean. Beds at little hard
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Couplewaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.8 mi away
Residencial Sao Roque
Residencial Sao Roque
#29 of 75 in Portimao
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#64 of 75 in Portimao
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
306 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pestana Algarve Race
Pestana Algarve Race
#30 of 75 in Portimao
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirachoro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirachoro Sol

Address: Urbanizacao do Fojo, Lote 35, Portimao 8500-772, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range: £20 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirachoro Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mirachoro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Sol Portimão
Mirachoro Sol Hotel Portimão
Mirachoro Sol Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing