We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Algarve Casino
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Portimao
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Views from 'sea view' rooms amazing comfy beds and very clean we stayed bed and breakfast and the selection was very good but they don't tell you omelettes are available if you ask and they are excellent Lovely reception and on some nights they have a guy playing piano, unfortunately not many people stay in hotel to enjoy the lovely comfortable sofas and the music, probably due to the cost of drinks which are available on the doorstep for half the price. we would have stayed in hotel most nights if more reasonable prices We stayed 12 Oct for 1 week and the weather was brilliant. Would definitely stay here again
We were a family group of 11 and all had a great holiday

Room Tip: Get sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor602603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    304
    144
    56
    34
See reviews for
186
441
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here at the end of October 2013. Having stayed in the resort a few times before knew the hotel and always wanted to stay there. Read all the reviews before we booked but still went ahead. The hotel may be old but it has style and the staff could not do enough.We had booked half board and the breakfast had all the normal requirements, but no eggs. The would be cooked as you needed them so not be standing, so they tasted like rubber. We had a room on the third floor with a beach view and what a view. We have had beach views before but this rated as one of the best.
The evening meal was taken in the casino restaurant and the choice nad the service was impecable. Some of the guest had stayed there on a number of occassions and we will be one soon I hope.There were meals at lunchtime but in the restaurant and they looked fine and the choice seemed ok.But as we were out most days never used the service. If old fashioned is the style someone described this hotel as then give me old fashioned anytime.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view it will enhance your holiday no end
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glyn_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
320 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Can't really the fault the hotel itself where the rooms are fine, the views are excellent & the staff friendly & helpful. bad points would be the lack of any on site restaurant for dinner (at least in Oct when we visited) & expensive parking on site, although the porters will happily take you car off to park more cheaply 'elsewhere' for a small tip! Biggest problem we found was the lack of any 'good' restaurants in Portimao itself. Mostly very touristy/fast food joints & even the ones recommended by the hotel turned out to be disappointing. therefore you have to drive about 15 mins away to Alvor to get a 'good meal'!

Room Tip: Essential to get a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at Algarve Casino Hotel October 2013

We stopped to collect tourists from this hotel some ten years ago, at the time we
had been staying in the resort of Alvor which we adore.
It has been some years since visiting the Algarve and this hotel always remained
with me and that if we ever visited the Algarve again it would be this hotel we would book.
The hotel is situated towards a quiet part of the main strip, we thought it perfect as it is between the resort of Alvor and Portimao which would be on our agenda to visit.
We had a fabulous stay, the reception area, pool area and outdoor facilities are perfect. The rooms are a little dated but with the age of the hotel that is to be expected, tea/coffee making facilities would have been nice and if I stayed again I would upgrade to a pool view with a balcony, we didn't have one which I missed.
The cost of drinks are very pricey 2.5eu for a small beer, the same for tonic water, I do think if hotels lowered the price of drinks the residents would buy more, needless to say we very rarely had a drink at the hotel.
The hotel staff are professional and attentive, the buffet breakfast was really nice and plenty of choice, cooked and continental.
Yes I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Request a sea view, it would be worth paying the extra for a balcony and the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is in the best possible location for accessing the beach,places to eat etc and not as noisy as further into PdR.
It is a bit old fashioned but set that aside it's spacious,clean and the places to sit and read or chat are fantastic -way beyond that of a more cramped modern design.The pool ,set in beautiful gardens overlooking the beach,is a salt water pool and it is kept meticulously! It's a perfect place to unwind.The bedrooms are similarly spacious and the rooms are quiet at night,meaning a comfortable sleep is likely in the ample beds.
Breakfast is excellent though there is a need for a closed cabinet for the fresh fruit to beat the fruit flies at this time of year.which while not dangerous are off putting.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
I look forward to going back,and must say I can't square my experience with some of the more negative comments from fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilidhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel. Nothing really to fault it. We had paid extra for a sea view and it was definitely worth it. The room was clean and comfortable and plenty of hot water. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems in our room which we reported to Reception, and these were sorted out immediately. We were also there during the Poker Tournament and it was nice to eat in the Pool Restaurant, although we both liked the usual restaurant, which we didn't consider to be at all hot or dark. The breakfast choice was adequate, but, for a 5 Star hotel, could have been better. Whilst staying at this hotel, we visited a 5 Star hotel in Alvor, and I must say that all the facilities were far superior to the Algarve Casino. During our stay we booked for the Dinner and Show in the Casino Restaurant at 40 euros each. The dinner was good, but the choice limited, and the show was mediocre. The hotel definitely needs updating, both inside and out, to compete with other hotels in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you want a hotel right on a beautiful place, then this has the perfect location. However, 5 star it is NOT. The reception is light and modern, but the rest of the hotel is very dated and a bit dingy. We were taken to our rooms which were overlooking the street with NO balcony. Not happy at all, we were later shown rooms overlooking the sea and pool at an extra 180 euros- not cheap, but worth paying the extra for the sea view. The rooms are large and equipped with the basics. The furniture is dark and uninviting, but are cleaned daily with towels changed . The toiletries are very nice! The weather was perfect during our stay as we lazed around the large pool and just a few steps down to the beach. Seriously need some new tables and parasols though. We ate breakfast daily and the choice was plentiful for us. We had a couple of snacks at the pool bar and they were delicious. No entertainment, but that suited us fine as we ate out every night. Pool towels are free and so is the safe deposit. We were there during an International Poker tournament, so breakfast was taken in the pool side restaurant which we enjoyed far more than the dark and hot restaurant. The hotel is seriously in need of being updated and modernised to compete in this busy resort.

Room Tip: Choose a sea/pool view, otherwise you will be overlooking the street with no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath61Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Algarve Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Algarve Casino

Property: Hotel Algarve Casino
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira | Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
#16 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Algarve Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Praia da Rocha, close to many tourist facilities - golf, marinas, water parks and evening entertainment - the Hotel Algarve Casino combines comfort and refinement, entertainment and relaxation, leisure and business in a unique way. With an enticing view of the beach and the sea, the five-star hotel provides unforgettable holidays for the whole family, with the guarantee of excellent service, comfort and quality. The Casino, next to the hotel, complements what the Hotel Algarve Casino has to offer, inviting to moments of pure fun with evening entertainment, fantastic shows, musical evenings, restaurants, bars and modern games rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Algarve Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Casino Hotel
Hotel Algarve Casino Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing