We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Algarve Casino
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente(Portimao)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Dom Joao II(Alvor)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Catarina(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Smartline Club Amarilis(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
314
350
175
67
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
350
175
67
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpool areapoolside restaurantpraia da rochafive star hotelsunset barbreakfast roomreception stafflovely hotelsalt waterroom numberoverlooking the beachfried eggssun loungersbit datedsea waterplenty of sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Views from 'sea view' rooms amazing comfy beds and very clean we stayed bed and breakfast and the selection was very good but they don't tell you omelettes are available if you ask and they are excellent Lovely reception and on some nights they have a guy playing piano, unfortunately not many people stay in hotel to enjoy the lovely comfortable sofas and the music, probably due to the cost of drinks which are available on the doorstep for half the price. we would have stayed in hotel most nights if more reasonable prices We stayed 12 Oct for 1 week and the weather was brilliant. Would definitely stay here again
We were a family group of 11 and all had a great holiday

Room Tip: Get sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanor602603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here at the end of October 2013. Having stayed in the resort a few times before knew the hotel and always wanted to stay there. Read all the reviews before we booked but still went ahead. The hotel may be old but it has style and the staff could not do enough.We had booked half board and the breakfast had all the normal requirements, but no eggs. The would be cooked as you needed them so not be standing, so they tasted like rubber. We had a room on the third floor with a beach view and what a view. We have had beach views before but this rated as one of the best.
The evening meal was taken in the casino restaurant and the choice nad the service was impecable. Some of the guest had stayed there on a number of occassions and we will be one soon I hope.There were meals at lunchtime but in the restaurant and they looked fine and the choice seemed ok.But as we were out most days never used the service. If old fashioned is the style someone described this hotel as then give me old fashioned anytime.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view it will enhance your holiday no end
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glyn_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Can't really the fault the hotel itself where the rooms are fine, the views are excellent & the staff friendly & helpful. bad points would be the lack of any on site restaurant for dinner (at least in Oct when we visited) & expensive parking on site, although the porters will happily take you car off to park more cheaply 'elsewhere' for a small tip! Biggest problem we found was the lack of any 'good' restaurants in Portimao itself. Mostly very touristy/fast food joints & even the ones recommended by the hotel turned out to be disappointing. therefore you have to drive about 15 mins away to Alvor to get a 'good meal'!

Room Tip: Essential to get a room overlooking the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at Algarve Casino Hotel October 2013

We stopped to collect tourists from this hotel some ten years ago, at the time we
had been staying in the resort of Alvor which we adore.
It has been some years since visiting the Algarve and this hotel always remained
with me and that if we ever visited the Algarve again it would be this hotel we would book.
The hotel is situated towards a quiet part of the main strip, we thought it perfect as it is between the resort of Alvor and Portimao which would be on our agenda to visit.
We had a fabulous stay, the reception area, pool area and outdoor facilities are perfect. The rooms are a little dated but with the age of the hotel that is to be expected, tea/coffee making facilities would have been nice and if I stayed again I would upgrade to a pool view with a balcony, we didn't have one which I missed.
The cost of drinks are very pricey 2.5eu for a small beer, the same for tonic water, I do think if hotels lowered the price of drinks the residents would buy more, needless to say we very rarely had a drink at the hotel.
The hotel staff are professional and attentive, the buffet breakfast was really nice and plenty of choice, cooked and continental.
Yes I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Request a sea view, it would be worth paying the extra for a balcony and the views are stunning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is in the best possible location for accessing the beach,places to eat etc and not as noisy as further into PdR.
It is a bit old fashioned but set that aside it's spacious,clean and the places to sit and read or chat are fantastic -way beyond that of a more cramped modern design.The pool ,set in beautiful gardens overlooking the beach,is a salt water pool and it is kept meticulously! It's a perfect place to unwind.The bedrooms are similarly spacious and the rooms are quiet at night,meaning a comfortable sleep is likely in the ample beds.
Breakfast is excellent though there is a need for a closed cabinet for the fresh fruit to beat the fruit flies at this time of year.which while not dangerous are off putting.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
I look forward to going back,and must say I can't square my experience with some of the more negative comments from fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilidhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews