We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Fantastic location for this property. Within walking distance to Portimao town or the bars, clubs etc of 'the strip' in Praia da Rocha.

Good pool area, fantastic breakfast and altogether extrememly helpful and friendly staff.

We had booked a suite on the Tivoli website prior to arrival only to be allocated a double room upon check in. Pointed this out to reception who advised us that the booking on their system was only for a double room even though we had a print out which stated otherwise. He did offer to move us to a larger room, but was just that, a larger room with lots of wall space (which I expect would have fitted another bed if required by a family). Reception then spoke to the manager who again said that our room was adequate and was as described on the website, ie had a separate living area, which what he referred to was in fact the balcony !!!! After much standing our ground we eventually got the suite that we had booked. The manager then stated that they had been aware of the error on the website with the pricing of the suites !! Had he not just said that at the beginning we could have enjoyed the 2 hours it had taken to resolve it rather than hanging about reception with bags etc.

Even with that slight hiccup I would def recommend this hotel. And will def be returning. Book a suite if you can though as the private roof top terrace is well worth it on its own.

Room Tip: Book a suite, fantastic views of the river and the marina from the private roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MicheleH1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    831
    207
    52
    20
See reviews for
638
790
86
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

In a beautiful Marina setting with shopping nearby, this is a brilliant place to stay. My most favourite. The Staff, food and local area are all great. The Suites facing the Marina are to die for if you are a family.
Swimming pool and Gym included.
Setting is exceptional. Eat breakfast on the restaurant veranda and never want to move!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Tivoli Arade, Portimao, Portugal.

This hotel has the most ideal location at the entrance to the river Arade with a marina on either side of the main hotel. The rooms are clean and the surroundings are well maintained. Food is excellent and breakfast in particular is 1st class with a huge choice, buffet style. I am delighted to promote the hotel but beware of the company Resorthoppa, the transfer company operating out of Faro airport. They specialise in failure! They take your money for transferring you to the hotel but do not collect you to take you back to the airport at the end of your holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are quietier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

we have visited the hotel for 7 nights in late August - early September 2011. the place is very good, quiet, and clean. the room was closed to the hotel swimming pools, and the marina were yahts were parked. personnel was very helpfull and willing to bring comfort for turists, food was very good and overall it wass a very good experience. Hotel has its own parking places for cars and is very closed to the ocean beach (sand beach)-2-3 minutes walking. I recommend it to all turists looking for to relax and have a quality vacation.

Room Tip: maybe to ask for a marina/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARGO2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

An excellent relaxing week in family, wonderful breakfast with fantastic views over river Arade and Ferragudo, the room is clean, the service is good and they are very friendly. The pool is calm, Praia da Rocha (beach and village) is 5 minutes walking. I recommend and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlpcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Thus is an adequate hotel, which appears to over market itself. That doesn't make it bad, simply that one has raised expectations that aren't met.
The hotel talks about its experience team ( who are there to deliver more than just food/technology/service/whatever), yet whilst they are friendly, they are nothing out of the ordinary- beach towels have run out I was told - exceptional service would either make sure they didn't, or say 'they've run out, I will rush out and buy you one'.
A general, 'it has slide past its sell by date' pervades the hotel - best exemplified by the pool area outside my room which had one large broken umbrella there for the length of my stay, broken chairs, a lack of shade (umbrella stands but no umbrellas), weeds growing, a closed bar area and looked generally run down.
Rooms are a good size and functional ( though the drains occasionally smelt). Food in the restaurant is ok - though at breakfast no one offers to cook you an egg - it's either scrambled or hard boiled.
On a positive note, reception looks good, the soaps in your rooms are nice, and it's pretty inexpensive and generally clean. A not unpleasant functional hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lerwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

having visited praia da rocha for the last 23 years, having stayed at different hotels, i can say without doubt that tivoli marina is a great place to stay. we are a family of five and booked a master suite, plenty of room, roof terrace, balcony, air con, great maid service, we were overlooking the marina, so the view was great. when you arrive you are greeted by very helpful and professional staff, nothing seems to be a problem for them,breakfast is very good, plenty of fresh fruit, bacon, eggs,cold meats, yoghurts, pastrys, cereal,juice, good coffee etc, if you want to do lunch then the dockside is a fantastic place to eat, thats on the marina, also o farol on the boardwalk is also worth a visit, both do fantastic fish dishes, on average we were spending between 80 to 100 euros for us all, three courses with wine and coffee, so not bad at all so i cant wait till next year, oh by the way the beach is fantastic goes on forever, happy holidays.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarillo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,020 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#18 of 76 in Portimao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Portimao

Property: Tivoli Marina Portimao
Address: | Marina Portimão, Portimao 8500-843, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Marina Portimao 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tivoli Marina Portimão is a 4 star resort with a privileged location next to Portimão Marina and Praia da Rocha in the Algarve, Portugal. This hotel is perfect for spending a holiday with friends or family and is right next to shops, restaurants and entertainment. Water sports, golf and activities for children are just some of the options available. It offers ample studios and apartments divided among three buildings, the Marina Sun, Marina Deck and Marina Beach which are walking distance from all the hotel's services, including the 3 pools (one for children) and the restaurants and bars inside the resort. If you prefer, we also have our Tivoli Buggy available which will take you on a fun and comfortable ride to anywhere in the resort or to Praia da Rocha. If you feel the Tivoli Marina Portimão has the perfect scenario for a special event, wedding or banquet, our team will be pleased to prepare a room to your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Marina Portimao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Portimao Portimão
Tivoli Marina Portimao Hotel Portimão
Tivoli Arade
Tivoli Marina Portimao Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing