We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly Clean Room With A Fantastic View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Marina Portimao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spotlessly Clean Room With A Fantastic View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

My wife and I stayed in a first floor apartment room between 30th October - 8th November. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our apartment had a balcony and if the weather was a bit warmer would have been able to sunbathe on the roof. The view from our apartment was stunning with the marina and the comings and goings of ships of all sizes travelling along the river. We were provided with dressing gowns and most importantly slippers ( recommended for all guests as high heeled shoes make heck of a racket on tiled floors ! ) In the room was a microwave and electric two ring hob and a large fridge ( Handy if you wanted to eat in ). The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Buffet type breakfasts were always very good ( cooked breakfast / cereals / plenty of fruit ). Even at this time of year we found several good places nearby to eat in the evening. The staff were all very friendly and especially the reception staff who couldn't have been more helpful. The main swimming pool is about 30 metres long but is not heated. It was very cold in early November and felt colder than the sea. The hotel is situated close to a superb large sandy beach but personally i prefered to walk along to the next beach which had more character. We would recommend this hotel to anyone but i would want to stay earlier in the year as we only had two days sunshine in our 10 day stay. The weather was the only negative. Temperatures even in the heavy rain and cloud ranged from 17-21 degrees C.

Room Tip: A first floor room is better as it comes with a space on the roof to sunbathe. You also have less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    794
    198
    48
    18
See reviews for
599
725
81
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a great stay here in a super spot overlooking the marina with easy walks to the beach. Brilliant weather too! Hotel pretty good with nice breakfast and indoor or outdoor dining.
We did not use the pool and were disappointed at the very late room cleaning service. Good staff .
We got a free newspaper each day and free wifi by joining the GHA scheme.
Overall very enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We visited Portugal and stayed at the Tivoli Marina Portimao Hotel at the end of May 2012. After a fairly terrifying experience driving a car in another country for the first time and trying to find the hotel at night we eventually arrived and was greeted by a friendly reception team and beautiful foyer...things were looking up! We were directed to our room, after getting slightly lost again (no fault of the hotels its just us!) we got to our room which was when we realized this was not a up market hotel but simply a glorified Butlin’s type of hotel. Fake bamboo furniture, two single beds pushed together and generally soulless space.

We visited the bar area upstairs on a couple of evenings for drinks, a very strange place, all white with fluffy curtains and never a sole in the place, maybe it was the wrong time of the year but we struggled on both occasions to even find staff to serve us and when we did he had no idea how to make any of the cocktails so each cocktail was a bit of an experiment for him!

Breakfast was reasonable, large selection to choose from but not quality ingredient (sausage and bean combo, weird scrambled egg with wafer thin ham) but the frit selection was fantastic!

We ate at the hotel on one occasion and were pleasantly surprised, I had the veal Carpaccio and my boyfriend had the prawns, we were also brought an amuse buch(not ordered) and though that was a lovely touch until we realized it appeared on our bill at the end (bit of a cheek)

We had a wonderful holiday in Portugal, friendly people , perfect weather and great food.
The staff throughout our stay were friendly and helpful however I would not recommend this place to any one as it is over priced for the standard of accommodation they offer which left us very disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 27 September - 3 October 2012, having booked at short notice.

The hotel is situated between two marinas, and is a short walk from several good restaurants, bars and beaches. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, and if you were lucky you could sit at a table outside on the deck, with beautiful views watching the fishing boats come in surrounded by flocks of gulls. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and the reception staff were more than happy to answer any questions we had. The room had a small, equipped, kitchenette which was very useful if you don't want to go out every evening.

Now for the down side. Our room was very "tired", with cracked bathroom tiles and peeling sealant. The rooms face either north or south, ours was north facing which meant it didn't get any sun - although this was not altogether a bad thing as it meant we didn't have to use the air conditioning which was extremely noisy and outdated. The balcony overlooked the marina and was ok, although small, and it overlooked all the other balconies on our side of the hotel. We did not have dinner at the restaurant as we prefer to go to different places, so are unable to comment about this.

However the worst thing about the room was the beds. We have never slept in such a hard, uncomfortable bed, even my husband, who likes a fairly hard bed, found sleeping on this almost impossible. There was also a very strong sewage smell at low tide - which was in the evening during our stay. We found this most unpleasant, although we realise this is not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy0ldw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Just back from my friends wedding in this hotel. The hotel is amazing, beautiful rooms with a fabulous view of the marina. The staff were so helpful and friendly, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel. It's a little pricey but well worth the comfort. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Great apartment for a family vacation, close to the most fantastic beach in Portugal. God service, not that god gym Nice restaurant, very nice personell that gives exellent service. Do not visit the town stay at the Hotel area and by the beach and have a relaxing vacation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjornarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed there in Tivoli Marina Portimao for 7 nights beginning of August 2012 and we made a very good choice. With 2 children we had ground floor rooms. There were very close to the swimming pool. We use it several times only when we came back from our daily trips to the beaches or other places.
We had a room with large beds and also very well equipped (kitchenette with everything that you need)
Breakfast was very good with multiple choices and the staff also very friendly. The restaurant has a nice view to the small yacht port. The area is also very nice for evening walking.
The architecture of the hotel is also very nice with that swimming pool in the middle. Usually other gussets occupied sun beds in the morning, but we did not use a lot the swimming pool and when we used we stayed to our room terrace.
It is also very quiet if you compare with other resorts there like Praia da Rocha accommodation (very large blocks of apartments) and it is also at a convenient distance walking (abt. 20 min to Praia da Rocha cliff or in the other side the big marina)
In my opinion it is recommended to have a car and to make trips each day. The Portimao beach is very large and long. At the other side (Alvor) start some beaches with rocks and nice view. We did it walking the entire beach. But also it is very nice to go to carvoeiro or Lagos. The boat trip in Lagos to caves is very nice. It is totally different than the trip organized with the catamaran to Carvoeiro and Benagil that me personally I recommend also.
Of course in Portimao there are a lot of attractions to the sea that we can find everywhere. Is is also nice to go to the mountains to the city of Monchique or Slives Castle.
And doesn’t matter where you eat the fish is very good. We made a fried sardine cure with beer and of course wine. Wines are something special for me was very difficult to choose but all were very good.
As we are used with Greek waters I can say that the water was very cold. So if you go there is better to have some neoprene swimming suits if you like to stay longer in the water.
Personally I like fishing and I have some small tools with me that I used with success on the pier close to the hotel.
If sometimes you have to make a decision between Algarve and other area I definitely recommend Algarve coast even if Cascais or Estoril have also nice attractions

In the end we did the entire Portuguese coast from Spain till Lisbon and I will always say “I love Portugal” We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 205Daniel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
2.1 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Portimao

Property: Tivoli Marina Portimao
Address: | Marina Portimão, Portimao 8500-843, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Marina Portimao 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tivoli Marina Portimão is a 4 star resort with a privileged location next to Portimão Marina and Praia da Rocha in the Algarve, Portugal. This hotel is perfect for spending a holiday with friends or family and is right next to shops, restaurants and entertainment. Water sports, golf and activities for children are just some of the options available. It offers ample studios and apartments divided among three buildings, the Marina Sun, Marina Deck and Marina Beach which are walking distance from all the hotel's services, including the 3 pools (one for children) and the restaurants and bars inside the resort. If you prefer, we also have our Tivoli Buggy available which will take you on a fun and comfortable ride to anywhere in the resort or to Praia da Rocha. If you feel the Tivoli Marina Portimão has the perfect scenario for a special event, wedding or banquet, our team will be pleased to prepare a room to your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Lastminute and LoveHolidays so you can book your Tivoli Marina Portimao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Portimao Portimão
Tivoli Marina Portimao Hotel Portimão
Tivoli Arade
Tivoli Marina Portimao Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing