We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday but...”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have just returned from 11 days at the Tivoli Marina Portimao. It's described as a 4 star but realistically, it's an excellent 3 star.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic, English is widely spoken and the service levels are very high indeed. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

The complex itself is very clean, the rooms are cleaned every day & the housekeeping staff do a wonderful job. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which faced the marina on one side & faced the road to the beach on the other. The apartment was very spacious but a little tired & dated & was ready for a little refurbishment. The kitchenette is adequate but you would never be able to prepare a meal for 6 people on 2 hob rings with no oven. Fortunately we intended to eat out, not in.

The hotel sits next to Portimao Marina, but is actually in Praia Da Rocha which is a very popular, bustling beach resort. There are several excellent restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

The pool scene is very quiet. There is one large saltwater pool which the children did occasionally enjoy, but they much preferred the immaculate beach at Praia Da Rocha & the beautiful crystal clear waves of the Atlantic!

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was always substantial and suited a wide variety of tastes. Fresh fruit, cereals, freshly cooked waffles & omelettes, full English, the lot. The standard was excellent.

The hotel restaurant also serves lunches & in the evening there is an a la carte menu but also a substantial bbq buffet with lots of meat & fish to suit all tastes. They also have a brilliant take away pizza service. In the Aqua Lounge above the restaurant, they serve the most amazing cocktails. Try and fit the Happy Hour into your day!

There is an issue with this hotel & its a fairly big one. Its is situated right next to a public beach. If you are housed in the south part of the hotel, the noise at night is dreadful. During our stay, a big music festival was taking place on the beach (MEO Spot) which ran every evening from 11pm - 6am. It doesn't really matter how much you complain, there is very little the staff can do. They regularly phone the police but this makes little difference. The only thing to do is buy earplugs which ensure an excellent nights sleep. We were travelling with older teenagers who were delighted & attended the festival themselves, but it's very difficult keeping earplugs in a baby's ears so if you're travelling with little ones, you need to be aware of this.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel with polite & attentive staff. The views of the various boats & yachts in the marina are just beautiful & the nearby beach is probably the best I have ever been to.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with little ones, ask to be as far away from the beach as possible. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 6mackays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Tina,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Marina Portimão with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked our hotel, and staff.
We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience that occurred during your stay and we would like to inform you that although the noise was coming from outside the hotel, we have alerted the authorities and the issue has been resolved, as you will be able to see on your next visit.
Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.
My best regards.
Vitor Matias
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    872
    226
    57
    20
See reviews for
698
824
86
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from our second trip to the Tivoli in Portimao Marina. We visited both times in August and while the hotel was very busy, the staff were friendly, helpful and the place is obviously very well run. The pool area is lovely, spotlessly clean and plenty of sunbeds etc. Nice pool bar, reasonably priced and good food. Breakfast is buffet but with extras - waffles and omelettes freshly made to order and plenty of everything. No request is too much trouble at any time of day or night for any of the staff we encountered. First class!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SumoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Marina Portimão with us.
We were happy to hear that you again liked our hotel and services. We will make sure to pass the information given to our staff, we are sure that they will be glad and proud.
Please feel free to contact us for any queries or comments.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in the Algarve.
Vitor Matias
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are just back from our holiday in Portimao and we stayed at this superb hotel for 11 days. We had specifically requested a marina view 1-bed apartment as we were travelling with kids. The room was great and a superb view of the marina and the harbour. There was a little kitchen with a fridge, TV, microwave and a balcony.

The outdoor salt water pools including the kids pool are amazing, as are the restaurant and bar facilities. All the staff are very helpful indeed and whole place is very well maintained and spotless. I would definitely recommend the hotel for families with young kids as there is a kids club as well. There were always sun beds available anytime of the day around the pool as hotel discourages their guests reserving them in the morning.

The hotel restaurant is overlooking the marina with great views of nice beaches and villages. Food is very good as is service. Their is a bar above the restaurant which looks amazing, however we didn't use it.

The best thing in my opinion is the location. The hotel is located at the entrance to Portimao marina, and it is an amazing loccation. You can walk into the beach bars and restaurants and main beach is also a few mins walk away. There are plenty of activities like water sports available at the beach and it is quite a long stretch of sandy beach.

The hotel also has an underground car park, which is free for guests. We definitely hope to come back again in the near future as we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms with marina view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monami2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your staying experience at the Tivoli Marina Portimão with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked our hotel location and it services.
If you have any further queries or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in the Algarve.
Vitor Matias
General Director of the Tivoli Marina Portimão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and really enjoyed it, all rooms have views on the marina which is nice and the shops/restaurents are all within walking distance. All the staff were very friendly also and the breakfast was lovely. Great choice of hotel and close to Pria da Rocha also if u want.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Nathalie
Thanks for sharing with all the Tripadvisor community your experience arTivoli Portimão Marina.
We are happy that your stay was to your satisfaction, hope to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Vítor Matias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

leaving to go home tomorrow , had a lovely stay everyone is very helpful the staff can not do enough for you . my only complaint our first room had this most terrible smell from the drain in bathrooom and got moved to another room , spoke to another couple who had same problem and they were on there 3rd room , they need to get this sorted out which is a shame as evrything else is spot on to cleaning rooms everyday , turn down bed service , good food , very pleasant boys at the pool area , and for a 5 star not the best

Room Tip: only certain rooms have this problem so ask for one that does not smell from drains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, General Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Connor,
We would like to thank you for your great comments, we're sure that our staff will be proud and happy to know that we've meet your expectation.
We hope to see you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Vitor Matias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The night before I was waiting to go the Portugal I was very excited and I couldn't wait to get to Portugal. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the service is extremely quick in reception at getting families sorted out and comfortable to enjoy their holiday. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the service was extremely quick. All of the food was delicious. It is a very short walk to the beach, pool, Tivoli reception, Tivoli restaurant and to the other shops. The internet connection was excellent. Also all of the reception staff made my holiday an amazing holiday. The rooms were spotless and clean everyday.

Room Tip: The higher floors you cannot hear too much noise. The higher hotels and lower hotels are both the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lauren M.
Thank you very much for your preference and for your kind words on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
V Matias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here in June, with a toddler in tow. The hotel is quite an odd layout and the rooms are good but the best bits are the communal areas, the salt water pools are amazing, as are the restaurant and bar facilities.
The staff are very good indeed, very helpful and the whole place is well maintained. I would recommend the hotel for families and couples that are looking for a chilled out experience.

Rooms: are good, not stunning, but you get a little kitchen with a fridge, a TV, a balcony with a marina or pool view, really nice bathroom and the rooms are spacious. Decoration wise they could do with a little bit of imagination, but that would be my only criticism

Pools: One very large salt water pool, one smaller children's pool, plenty of sun beds and a few 4 poster beach style beds.

Restaurants/Bars.
The reception is in a separate building at the front of the complex, and has a bar at the top of it, it is nice enough, but does lack a bit of atmosphere. The main restaurant overlooks the entrance to Portimao harbour and across to some stunning beaches and villages. Food is very good as is service and the location is sublime.

Their is a bar above the restaurant which looks amazing, however it was always empty when we went to it unless their was a private party.
Their is also a pool bar serving drinks and snacks.

Staff: I couldn't fault the staff, they were all very good, and seem to speak a plethora of languages.

Location:The hotel is located at the entrance to Portimao marina, which is itself located between Praira de Rocha beach and Portimao harbour entrance. It is an amazing loccation. You can walk into the marina bars and restaurants in a few minutes, the main beach within a few minutes or walk up a steep path into the resort of Praira de Rocha with a 15 minutes.

Other: The hotel has an underground car park, which is free, staff driven buggies are available to drive you to the marina and their is a small ferry that stops outside the hotel that goes to the town of Portimao or across the harbour to Ferriguda (sp?) which is a beautiful village

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days, I would definately stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the restaurant, if their is a party it can get noisy. We preferred the marina vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jervinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitor M, Manager at Tivoli Marina Portimao, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Greeting from Tivoli Marina Portimão,
Thank you for posting your wonderful review and excellent tips for those who want to visit us. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and has greatly enjoyed the recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay in the Algarve.
Vitor Matias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,002 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#19 of 75 in Portimao
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Marina Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Portimao

Property: Tivoli Marina Portimao
Address: | Marina Portimão, Portimao 8500-843, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Marina Portimao 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tivoli Marina Portimão is a 4 star resort with a privileged location next to Portimão Marina and Praia da Rocha in the Algarve, Portugal. This hotel is perfect for spending a holiday with friends or family and is right next to shops, restaurants and entertainment. Water sports, golf and activities for children are just some of the options available. It offers ample studios and apartments divided among three buildings, the Marina Sun, Marina Deck and Marina Beach which are walking distance from all the hotel's services, including the 3 pools (one for children) and the restaurants and bars inside the resort. If you prefer, we also have our Tivoli Buggy available which will take you on a fun and comfortable ride to anywhere in the resort or to Praia da Rocha. If you feel the Tivoli Marina Portimão has the perfect scenario for a special event, wedding or banquet, our team will be pleased to prepare a room to your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Marina Portimao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Portimao Portimão
Tivoli Marina Portimao Hotel Portimão
Tivoli Arade
Tivoli Marina Portimao Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing