We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar a Vista Aparthotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$185
US$164
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa(Praia da Rocha)
US$416
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente(Portimao)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
US$152
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Catarina(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prainha Clube(Alvor)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Dom Joao II(Alvor)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
35
41
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
41
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

stayed at the mar a vista for 10 days was very clean pool was great as it wasn't really the start of the season nearly had the pool to ourselfs we had a 2 bedroomed apt for 3 adults and 3 children and there was plenty of room the staff were very helpful arranging taxi's and our transfers back the food was good but not much of a choice..would recommend doing the barbecue night it was ten euro all in but you get to try sardines and some portugese meat...would highly recommend the mar a vista and cant wait to go back again..the only complaint i would have was the bed sheets were never changed in the 10 days..but towels changed every second day and apt cleaned,but had spare sheets so changed the beds ourselfs...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selenaKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spend a week in Mar a Vista. We went with my uncle and his family. We were in a two bedroom apartment, both bedrooms were upstairs and were a great size both en-suite, down stairs there was a bathroom and a good sized kitchen including a fridge freezer, grill/oven/hob and a kettle at request there was also a big living room with a tv and doors out to the balcony where we had a view of the pool and the sea

The rooms were spotless with no dirt.

We did not eat there or drink there. The ice-creams however were expensive.

The staff were amazing, the cleaners came and changed the towels everyday and the bed-linen every second day.

The pool was a great size however the lengths were very varied and quite dangerous as it went from shallow to very deep. The sunbeds were taking quite early so we had to get up early and put our towels on them to reserve them.

The town is only a 10 minute walk with beautiful scenery on the way. The beach is about 5 mins away. The town is great with lots of irish bars, english bars and nightclubs. There were also lovely restaurants. The Chinese restaurant upstairs was beautiful and highly recommended.

Overall I would reccommend this place to everyone especially with families and groups of friends. It is both welcoming to young and old.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

stayed at the mar a vista fantastic hotel in portamao was very clean and also had two floors patio out to pool area didnt have any meals there went into town.some good irish bars and some bad ones,found nice places to eat breakfast a hire shop to hire bikes i purchased a racing bike but the roads out to the countryside where a bit dodgy wasnt the drivers it was the crossings they where made out of cobbles looked nice but dangerous to go over on a race bike but once out into country wasnt many cars about would go again brill.

Room Tip: if there anything like the room i had theyll all be good
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markopoloEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife booked me a birthday suprise, 6 day's in Portamao, Portugal, & independently sourced out the Mar-A-Vista . Absolutely brilliant! The apartment was spaced over four rooms, really well proportioned and well facilitated with an Oven & Grill, Hob, Toaster, Micro-Wave & kettle on request! Fully Air-Conditioned & really comfortable! CLEANED DAILY WITH FRESH TOWELS, Over the 6 days we had 4 bed-linen changes. We requested an upper floor, but the details never got passed on, so we were allocated a ground floor double fronted apartment about 10 yards from the pool ! Just worked out fine ! as we enjoyed record temp's of over 37 0 & with the hotel having one block closed ( Not the season yet ) The pool was ours for most of the week! The only down-side to being low was the inevitable noise from upstairs residents as furniture is dragged around ect ! But that was fairly minimal thank goodness! The staff were without question, SUPERB!! Nothing was too much trouble, Really friendly without being forward, Excellent " Front-Of-House" Staff at reception,The food and service was faultless when we ate pool-side Freshly cooked and good quality! & Really very reasonably priced . 15 min' stroll to bars & restaurants and shops, with a further 5 min's to the most fantastic clean beach well facilitated with beds, brollies & good food bars! We might never see temperatures like that again in mid-May, but would we go back to the Mar-A-Vista??? With-out Doubt YES !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Ionians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and we were very pleased with our apartment. It was a good size, well fitted kitchen to the front, large sitting room to the rear with patio doors opening on to a garden which lead to the swimming pool. Upstairs there were two bedrooms both en suite, the double room to the rear had a balcony overlooking the pool and sea (to the side) and the entire apartment was spotlessly clean. The beach, main street & bars/restaurants was only a short walk away.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews