We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing family holiday at Estrela do Vau. We had a two bed apartment which was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The pool area is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and my two kids really loved the free wi-fi in reception area!
If you like to be close to hustle and bustle this wont be for you, but if you like friendly service, clean accommodation and a relaxed setting then I would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    79
    29
    23
See reviews for
189
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lots of good points, very few bad. Has everything you would expect from a 4* hotel

Friendly helpful staff
Good location
3 pools
Secure rooms
Clean
Lots of services
Family friendly environment
Good value for money

Overall very plesant experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Although the location is nice and the rooms are spacious, everything else was terrible.
Starting with the baby's cot wich was made of iron and had no protection whatsoever, and the cleaning was so poor that on the first day a pair of white socks turned grey! Also the pools were not clean enough.
We had half board service and the food was not bad but there was not enough variety, especially at breakfast. The waiters were all very nice and attentive though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portimao hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at The Estrela Apartments on 1/2 board basis for 8 nights in July. Our stay would have been fine but for the fact we booked 1/2 board. The restaurant is run independently of the apartments As the area is very quiet we thought it best to include dinner. The apartments themselves are spacious and well maintained, excellent house keeping nice pool and beach is near enough to walk. The meals including breakfast were poor. Food Displays were often empty and when it was on display the quality was poor and the quantities limited. The main course 'choice' on one occasion for dinner was chicken wings/burgers/sardines. On another occasion we got a chicken and lamb stew. Fruit was never ripe though to be fair we did see a couple of nice bananas. So our advice hire a car, shop in lidl/aldi or eat out.You will find you have to anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 917Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment It was very clean and spacious.Although there were a few issues on arrival. The air conditioning and safe did not work however after a few complaints these were fixed. The rooms were cleaned daily however the cleaners after arrived after 6pm far too late in the day.
The pool area although attractive and there were plenty of sun loungers. However all 3 pools were occupied by children and families playing rowdy games. I feel that 1 pool should be designated as adult only.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recently returned from a two week family holiday in the Estrela do Vau apartments and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Our two bedroom apartment was on the ground floor with a pool view as we requested and we were very impressed by it. Great air-conditioning, very spacious, clean, great cleaning services and staff etc. The staff at the kids club were great, our children enjoyed some great days with them and especially the activities in the pool in the afternoon. There is very little entertainment in the evenings/night time, but we didn't mind, as we enjoyed walking into Praia de Rocha in the evenings for our dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere there, or else we took a taxi to Alvor. It is a beautiful walk to Praia de Rocha by the beach, 20 or 25 mins. But if you have children take a taxi to Alvor as it is a 45 mins walk on poor footpaths/road. The walk to the beach is only 10 mins and it's really fab, lovely sand, water, caves, coves and cliffs. The three pools by the apartments are great with plenty of sun beds. Our children also enjoyed playing table tennis and mini-golf and although the playground there is small they still enjoyed going down there with their new friends and playing their own games in the shade! We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend these apartments. Thanks to all the staff there and we would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment and were all pleasantly surprised at its size. Both bedrooms were very spacious and the living area was huge. It had two balconies, a large bathroom/toilet and a separate shower/toilet. All very clean. All nicely air conditioned. The only thing lacking in the kitchen was an oven, although there was a hob. TV channels were limited so next time we will take a portable DVD player.
Amenities on site were good but don't buy anything from the on-site store as this is very expensive. It is far cheaper (about 5 Euros each way) to get a taxi to Aldi or Lidl, both near the Continente Shopping Centre (which has its own supermarket).
The nearest beach is a 5 minutes stroll away. It will take about half an hour to walk to Praia da Rocha but it is worth it. There are a selection of excellent beaches there with shops and restaurants nearby. We particular liked Taffy's Grill and La Gioconda. If you get to the beach after 2pm, the shaded sunbeds are 7 Euros for two beds, which is half the normal price.
We would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are cooler, with a view of the adjacent golf course and the distant h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamGPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
1.0 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#21 of 78 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing