We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portimao, Algarve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portimao, Algarve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Staff: very enthusiastic,helpful and courteous.
cleanliness: rooms acceptable and clean.did not use the kitchenatte so can't comment,towels not changed every other day,should have been upfront to inform green/cost issues.
restaurant: basic but acceptable and good value for money. The main lady incharge and the staff are very good, the gray haired male at the Bar has passed his sell-by date...chaarged us 1.50EURO for a little of milk for Tea which we asked for because of our unusual late check-in time......,it should have been free.
Location: is very good ,but a little way out of the main town centre and the excellent Beach is on average 15 min walk from the hotel.
Entertaintment: None to write home about...near enough nothing except attempts to create a n atmosphere.Nice and quite if that s what you want, good for families who only require lodgings and no children's activities.
Careful of the half price excursions you pick up from the town centres, basically all represent the same company who are rather BASIC and BORING. Short changed us...BIG TIME. Even though we didn't use the "Follow Me" [MISTAKE]....observation tells us they would have been better.
For people who don't know the area, it's a bubble "made" and constructed for tourists, locals can't be seen, heard or mix with......Would suit some people........but not if you expect to experience the portugese culture..rather artificial.
Generally this area of Portugal is rather desolate, remote, nothing much by way of the standards of the other tourist trails BUT good Sea,Beaches and warm welcome with very good value.

Room Tip: if you looking for a quiet room ensure you are not facing the restaurant, anything else is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gVasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    79
    29
    23
See reviews for
189
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After reading a few of the reviews on here of this hotel I thought we would be heading to a great hotel.. I was so wrong!! While the room was great in size that was the only good thing I found! We arrived at 8 to be told we could sit by the pool as room wasn't going to be ready till 1pm, so off we went to the pools and I have never seen such filth in my life! There was a scum floating over the top and a thick dirty ring around the edge, and it was full of bird poo! When eventually we did get to our room we found the balcony doors didn't lock, we reported this to reception they said would fix tomorrow, but the next day it was still the same although the other door was then openable too! But we couldn't lock the doors still! The cleaners are ment to come every day but Sunday but we never saw them, the food was disgraceful every day the options were the same, pork in a dried out sauce or chips or salad again both extremely dry, the so called great entertainment consisted of a old chap singing karaoke poorly at front door of restaurant every other night, as a base n just somewhere to sleep its fine but as a family hotel I certainly would not be goin back to stay again!!

Room Tip: None in this hotel! Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abrady85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portimao hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013. Arrived at 8am and was told we couldn't get into our room before 1:30pm. So had to drag our luggage around with us. When we got into the room it was a good size and clean. However, the balcony door wouldn't lock, we reported it, but nothing was done about it. The tv was old and never worked properly. The bathroom was dated and taps where loose.
We went to the pools which we couldn't let the kids play in, because they were filthy. ( not the kids ) The pools had a thick film over the top of the water and thick green stuff all over the walls of the pool. The poolside bar was useless. No staff.
We went half board ( breakfast and evening meal ) the breakfast consisted of boiled hotdog sausages cut in half, scrambled egg and rock hard beans. Bread and jam and thimbles of orange juice. It was the same selection everyday.
Dinner was just as bad. Dry pork, carrots and potatoes. ( no gravy ) cold fish fingers and cold chips for the kids. Jelly and every now and then the staff would bring out about 3 chocolate mouses, but not. Chance of getting one in a room of 40 people. With out a doubt the worse half board ever. After 2 days, we started going out for dinner.
The entertainment in the bar was also very poor. A 70 year old Portuguese bloke with. Few karaoke CDs.
Most of the guests at the hotel were Portuguese or Spanish, so all the music and entertainment was set up for them.
This is not. British friendly hotel.
The shop is a rip off,
The hotel is not close to anything, so taxis are needed all the time, I rekon this added £125 to the cost of our holiday.
Once of the complex, we had a good time. But we wanted to be able to relax by a clean useable hotel pool, and couldn't.
We would never go back to this hotel. Even if it was free.
With the cost of taxis and the extra food we had to buy, we spent about £400 more than we would of spent at a decent hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nbrady74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

ROOMS - OK - spacious, good air conditioning in bedroom and lounge. Shower appauling as it produces a trickle. Beds were the hardest I have ever encountered and I like hard beds. TV has 2 English chanels and the sound distorts as soon as it is turned to a volume where you can here it.
CLEANERS - Terrrible. Rooms not cleaned daily. IF they did come (usually after 6pm), only 3 out of 4 beds made. Sheets changed once in 2 weeks. Had to ask for towel change. Surfaces never wiped. Balcony not cleaned once. Allowed to run out of toilet paper. The toilet at poolside has no door lock, and the toliets around the hotel including the resturant sometimes lacked toilet paper and paper towels.
FOOD - OMG!! independantly owned by an ignorant, rude Englishphobic owner.
Breakfast was grab it while you can, e.g. 4 doghnuts brought out for a room of 40 diners, same with anything that people might actually like. Served stale cake and bread on occassions.
Dinner Halfboard - soup every day. 3 main courses one of which was repeated for 5 continuous days. Children's choice was fish fingers and chicken nuggets every day for 2 weeks, which were left out on a plate to go cold.
Desert - jelly and a stoggy cake cut in to 4mm strips, not that you would want any more.
The owner needs to realise that people paying for half board are firstly paying her up front for the food, and secondly they are paying to eat at her resturant rather than spending their money else where, the food served should reflect this. Instead the owner is only concerned with serving cheap food that lacks variety, quanity and taste! (Your 3 staff are the only saving grace)!
ENTERTAINMENT - ????? - a parrot show 1.5 hours late, a reptile show 1.5 hours late neither of which we bothered staying for. One man and a guitar and one man with a keyboard. In all shambolic.
POOL - 2pm every day out comes the amp to blast the pool with music. Forget reading, forget sleeping it's back to an 18 - 30's holiday.
LOCATION - taxi to Alvor and Praia 5 - 10 minutes each direction. Walk to Praia about 25 minutes but on the flat and takes you to Praia beach. Taxis range from 4 - 8 euros and we felt very ripped off by some, but less by the black ones. Much more going on day and night in Praia. Portimao appeared like a ghost town. The Gilbrator trip is 7 hours each way not the 4 hours that the tour operators tell you.
BEACH - turn left out of hotel, down to the roundabout and across the road. Still at the roundabout look for a small sandy path going up. This leads to the beach, which is beautiful.
If this hotel was 3* I would have expected the above issues but not for the 4* I thought I was staying at. Sort the showers, sort the entertainment, improve the DAILY cleaning serivce, get RID of the resturant owners and the hotel could be 4*.

Room Tip: Any with pool view! We were told the ones overlooking the entrance were noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank k a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing family holiday at Estrela do Vau. We had a two bed apartment which was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The pool area is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and my two kids really loved the free wi-fi in reception area!
If you like to be close to hustle and bustle this wont be for you, but if you like friendly service, clean accommodation and a relaxed setting then I would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lots of good points, very few bad. Has everything you would expect from a 4* hotel

Friendly helpful staff
Good location
3 pools
Secure rooms
Clean
Lots of services
Family friendly environment
Good value for money

Overall very plesant experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Although the location is nice and the rooms are spacious, everything else was terrible.
Starting with the baby's cot wich was made of iron and had no protection whatsoever, and the cleaning was so poor that on the first day a pair of white socks turned grey! Also the pools were not clean enough.
We had half board service and the food was not bad but there was not enough variety, especially at breakfast. The waiters were all very nice and attentive though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
1.0 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#21 of 78 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing