We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Portimao
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We travelled in the May half term and found that not much got going in these apartments until June, so it was very quiet with no activities or entertainment. However I would still recommend these apartments. The service at reception was absolutely excellent, they couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were kept very clean and had a very well stocked kitchen (utensils/crockery wise). I can't comment on whether we would have had the same experience in peak season though, possibly not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    172
    80
    29
    26
See reviews for
190
126
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A group of 5 of us stayed here for 1 week and it was great, the 2 bed apartments are really spacious and clean with 2 toilets and showers. There is a/c in all rooms which was wonderful. The location is good as its in a quiet area but its a nice walk or short taxi ride to 2 nice resorts so there is lots to choose from. This seems to be the start of the season so it was not very busy. One of the girls went to the spa and enjoyed it. The only suggestion I would make is better signage to the beach or maybe a shuttle bus every hour as it is hard to find it.
I would like to go back.

Room Tip: 4th floor gives a nice sea view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobbiemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi there,

We're glad you've enjoyed your holiday with us, and thank you for have taken the time to give some feedback.

The customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities. We'll share the point that you mentioned, the better signage to the beach and the bus shuttle, with ou hotel team, and you try to improve ou put in place some of them.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Vieira

Any other comments or feedback reach us out on moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I returned here ten years after our first visit. From memory little had changed. The apartment was a good size. The kitchen well equipped. Reception staff more than helpful. Translating instructions on frozen food, where to get fresh bait and a license for fishing, bus timetables you asked they provided. Cleaners came daily.

The location is not the centre of the action but the beach is lovely and a walk along the cliff in the direction of Alvor is stunning. Five minute walk to the main road and the number 14 bus will take you into Alvor or Portimao for 1 euro 50.

The following were negatives.

No Wifi in the room.
(It was possible to get a connection sometimes on the balcony of room 218).

Only one key available which controlled the electricity.
(If I wish to go out at night and my wife stays in should I take the key and leave her without lights or waken her by ringing the bell to get back in?)

An in room safe rented at 20 euros per week is too small to take a laptop.
(The price seems a bit steep to me.)

These three points should be rectified as we are now in the 21st century and the items should be considered as necessities.

Overall we had a good holiday staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nemo474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taken the time to give some feedback. 10 year's is a long time! It's great that you've chosen to visit us again.

The customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities. We'll share the negative points that you mentioned with the Hotel staff and management, and will try to improve some in the future.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Vieira

Any other comments or feedback reach us out on moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a week here at the start of May. The studio apartment was a perfect size for us with good amenities. Staff were helpful and the little shop on site provides the basics at relatively good prices. The location is about 20 minutes from the main resort of Praia do Roche it's close to Vau beach and it was easy and cheap to get a taxi back (€5-6) after walking into restaurants in the evenings. As it was the start if the season, it was lovely, quiet and relaxing. Would go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashPacker18to35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi there,

We're happy that you enjoyed your studio apartment, and were able to relax during your stay at Estrela do Vau.

Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Ricardo Vieira

Any other comments or feedback reach us out on moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was very impressed with the accommodation. The apartment was a great size. The food was very good too with waiter service in the evening. The only down side was the hotel was too far away from the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Susan,

We're glad you've enjoyed your holiday with us.

We truly appreciate you've taken the time to give some feedback. Thank you!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Ricardo Vieira

Any other comments or feedback reach us out on moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

ALL IN ALL:

This is lovely resort but if its action you are looking for it may be too tranquil for you. Its set next to the golf course from one side and have a beach near by so its peaceful and quiet. There is plenty to to do and see around if you willing to walk though. Staff is simply marvelous and will be glad to help you (you don't see this much this days). Rooms are clean and spacious. And our holiday all in all were a massive success. And now the details if you like reading:

ROOM:

We stay on self catering basis.
Upon arrival we were allocated to a room with a view on the golf course (after reading previous reviews we e-mail hotel asking for swimming pool or golf course view). Unfortunately our room was directly next to the staircase. This proved to be very noisy as people were leaving this way to the shop or car park and sound of slamming doors echoed in tailed stairwell very much. We asked if there are any other rooms left and we were in luck. We were moved to the room 11 which is directly next to the restaurant. Despite of all the comments of this being the loudest place to stay we must disagree. Yes you can here people coming and going with the suitcases but it is not that bad and the restaurant were quiet during the period we stayed (Easter) so it was rather peaceful. The sun in this part of the hotel (front entrance) is on the terrace most of the day which is a massive plus. The terrace itself is bigger on the ground floor too and have table,chairs and extra sunbathing chairs as well as an air-drier. The room were spacious and had everything you needed. Ec/heating, TV (with quiet a few English channels), kitchen with all necessary pots, pans, cutlery, toaster, microwave, kettle, etc. Bathroom had towels for every occasion (large, medium, small, floor towel...) and there were all crispy white and clean. Beds were very comfortable and there were extra blankets and cushions in the wardrobe. I could go on and on about how much space you've got for your money but I will move on.

SPA/ SWIMMING POOL/OTHERS ACTIVITIES:

There are plenty of activities in the hotel: 3 outdoor swimming pools for kids and adults so plenty of space and one of them have even pool bar (it was close in Easter but in the summer must be very popular). There is a small spa which cost €5 per day or €10 for 4 days. I is wort to get longer pass. There is Turkish bath, Jacuzzi and small indoor swimming pool. Everything is very clean and neat. We used it in the morning and evenings as during the day it tend to get busy with kids. There is mini golf, ping-pong table and courts which looked nice but we didn't take advantage of. You can hire bike €7 for 4 hours and €10 for a day. This is great way to spend some time but please be warned that if you planning a journey to portimao it is a bit of a hill on your way back and if you a bit out of shape you may struggle. I am ridding a bike once a week for recreation and i found myself out of breath but it was worth it.

STAFF:

I must praise the stuff which was most helpful during our stay. First with moving a room, then with providing as with all the information, maps, etc. and finally with helping us rent a car. We left this to the last minute and all cars were taken but staff was brilliant and after hour of phone calls they got us a car for a day! We were most grateful and pleased as this was what we planned from the beginning- to get a car for a day and go visit cape st.vincent. Thank you.

BEACH:

The beach is about 15 minutes walk (or less if you power walking) and it is very pretty. We walk on the low tide from "our" beach all the way to praia da rocha (half and hour walk) which is well worth it as you passing through some interesting little caves and pictures scenery.

NEAR BY/SHOP:

As we stayed on self catering options upon arrival we asked for direction to the nearest shop. We got the map, direction and we set off. We like walking but it is rather long walk (30-40min) next to a dual carriage way and in the heat of the sun is not appealing. We went to supermarket called continet on the outskirts of portimao and the variety of food and the price very lovely surprise. We came back by the cab and we payed €7.00. There is lovely village of Alvor short walk from the hotel (20 minutes) which is very charming and have many reasonably priced restaurants and little shops where you can buy your souvenirs. From the other side you have Portimao which is not as charming but have plenty of shops and cheapest and best esspresso we found (on the main square for a €0.50). If you get a car you simply must visit Lagos... it is beautiful and main square is full of performers, beautiful sounds and smells. There is a little shop on the premises which is a bit expansive but have little of everything if you run out as well as in the morning have delicious warm baguettes (they are quickly gone so rise and shine).

Room Tip: Room next to front entrance have sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just back from a 10 day stay and felt that it was good value for money. Our apartment was clean but perhaps a little dated and slightly shabby. Cleaners came every day. The 2 single beds weren't the most comfortable. However there were all the basics that you needed and we cooked most evenings. The onsite bar was over-priced and the barman was unfriendly. We did not eat in the restaurant or the snack bar and only bought bottled water from the small on-site shop. However the various staff covering reception were all welcoming and helpful. There was no entertainment, but that suited us fine.

The nearby beach was stunning and it was a short walk into Praia do Rocha and Alvor. It was a half an hour trip to the bigger supermarkets in Portimao and a cab ride back was 5 euros. There wasn't much by way of shops nearby but we were well catered for with Aldi, Lidle and Contenente. There were beautiful cliff top walks in both directions.

It did seem a little empty at the moment, I'm assuming the holiday season hasn't quite kicked off yet but it was all the more pleasant for it. We hired a car for 3 days and had a fantastic time travelling around, particularly seeing the wild west coast and the beautiful countryside awash with wild flowers. Silves was a particularly lovely town to visit.

If you want a cheap, reasonable base that is clean and are happy to make your own entertainment, then this place is fine. My first visit to the Algarve and I absolutely loved it - will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.7 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#21 of 79 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
#11 Spa Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing