We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have just returned from a ten night stay at these appartments. Rooms were spacious ,comfortable and very clean with maid service every day except Sunday. Reception staff were friendly and helpful particularly Maria and Carlos. Fantastic beach a minute away with sunloungers and parasol available for 10 euro for three, Lovely 20 min walk into Praia de Rocha or 45 min into Alvor, plenty of good bars, restaraunts to choose from. Large beer from 1 euro, cocktails from 2.5 euros, 3 course tourist menus from 8 euros. Alvor has the better restaraunts and can honestly say we didnt have a bad meal or receive poor service throughout our stay. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Room we had on second floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel is situated right on the Vau beach and it is one of the biggest advantage of it. Pool area is hidden from the road and is quite nice. We lived in the building B on the upper floor which gave a great view to the ocean. Rooms are big and there are a lot of windows, so there is almost no need to switch on AC. The hotel is situated quite far from Portimao center and Playa Rocha, and certaily one must need a car to get to the shop centers, cause there are no supermarkets near hotel.

Room Tip: If you will get the room in the reception's bilding, ask for the apartment on the upper floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpeipclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here in early May, the apartment we had was excellent, large with everything we needed, comfortable bed, large lounge, 2 balconys. The staff were very good, helpful and friendly. Costas restaurant over looking the beach we found to be the best more Portuguese than the restaurants directly below the apartments which catered more for those looking for English style cuisine. Excellent beach, very clean and an ideal spot for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh EH16 6yr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed in these lovely apartments from the 14th 28th May 2013. Having stayed in these apartments 10years ago agree with previous comments they could do with some updating especially around the pool area. We had a huge one bedroomed apartment BlockC 2 D. Lovely views of the beach. Restaraunts nearby not good value for money but bus stop outside apartments short ride to the lovely village of Alvor and also Praia Da Rocha. The 3 course menus for 7 or 8Euros are excellent value. You can pay a lot more for one course of sea bass and that was always on the 3 course menus. There is an easy walk into Praia Da Rocha.
Staff at the apartments were always very friendly and helpful especially Carlos. Staffed for 24hrs therefore very secure. The best thing about these apartments is the situation right across the road from a beautiful beach. There is a large supermarket 10 to 15 mins walk away that has a good variety especially fresh fruit and vegetables. Not worth the taxi ride into the very large supermarket on the outskirts of Portimao. This was my husbands first visit to the Algarve and he will be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Apartment BlockC D2. One bedroom but easily sleeps 4. Brilliant seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

These apartments are right by Praia do Vau beach. Great size apartments, seperate living / kitchen/bedroom, lovely pool area, which is quiet.
Praia do Vau is a quiet resort but within walking distance of Praia do Rocha and a short cheap bus ride to the lovely village of Alvor

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 901smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have just returned from 4 days in Coral do Vau and I must say very enjoyable. The apartment was large with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, separate living and kitchen and 4 balconies. It was very well maintained and the staff were lovely, especially Carlos. The apartments are also next to the beautiful Praia do Vau beach.

Would totally recommend for value, location and comfort.

Room Tip: I requested a sea view which I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maralinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Having stayed here initially with my mother and aunty for a week at a time normally around Christmas time, we decided to try a longer holiday from mid February till the end of March, and we were not disappointed. The apartments are really well equipped, with a 4 ring stove, and a microwave and mini cooker, so it is easy to make a meal. A large fridge with a reasonable freezer also allows you to keep plenty of cool drinks if the weather is hot. Also the kitchen has a washing machine along with drying facilities, and iron and ironing board, so no need to take loads of clothes with you.

The lounge/diner is well equipped with 2 settees and 2 arm chairs, dining tables which seat 6 if necessary and plenty of chairs for sitting around to eat. Large sideboard which provides plenty of storeage space and of course the ubiquitous coffee table,

The bathroom had a reasonable amount of storage, although not massive, but the shower over the bath was adequate and there was plenty of hot water.

The bedroom also had a large dressing table and an enormous wall to wall wardrobe, with plenty of hangers, so no need to crush clothes when you arrive,

From the bedroom and the lounge area there were balconies which gave you lovely views of the sea. The balconies had table and chairs on one of them and table chairs and sunbeds on the other. So again exceedingly well catered for if you want to sunbathe on the balcony. albeit the sun was limited due to the time of year.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and we hope to be back again in future years. Just wish like other people have mentioned that there were more tv programs. Digital TV was switched on whilst we were there, but we still didn't get any improvement, just BBC World News and CNN, plus 2 Portuguese channels and a german one, so not ideal unless you can speak Portuguese or German.

The management cannot do enough for you, the apartments are cleaned 5 days a week and there is ample hot water, heating and towels etc.

If I was to add another constructive observation where improvements could be made, it would be to have smaller pans. The pans in the apartment are massive and more appropriate for a family of 6 or more, and as there was only 2 of us, it seemed such a waste to heat all that water to cook vegetables etc. We did ask, and we were given an additional small pan, which obviously helped.

Computer access is available in reception, however, it is easier to have a drink in Jacaranda's bar below the apartment complex where free wifi is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front then you will get a sea view. Preferably on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#20 of 76 in Portimao
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
#33 of 76 in Portimao
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcaide
Hotel Alcaide
#23 of 76 in Portimao
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau

Property: Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Portimao
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in front of Praia do Vau. We are surrounded by field and walking paths that extend to Alvor Beach. We are 300 meters from Praia da Rocha and 2 km from Alvor. We have two supermarkets near the Hotel. We have parking inside the Hotel. There is a bus stop near the entrance of the Hotel. We have tennis court. There is a golf course at 250 mt. We can accept small pets, but need confirmation with management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Apartamentos Turisticos Coral do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Turisticos Coral Do Vau Hotel
Apartamentos Turisticos Coral Do Vau Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing