We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Martinhal resort at the end of September. We were lucky with the weather, with sun, no wind and a warm temperature (28 degree) and water. The hotel is a perfect place to stay. We had a "Beach room" in a little house, just a few meters from the beach. The view was just amazing and the room was very nice, confortable, quiet, modern, full equiped, with a little terrace with sea view. The service was delicate, and we appreciate some special attentions for our 10 years wedding birthday, which were totaly free and on the own initiative of the hotel. We took the room with breakfast, which was a buffet but what for a buffet. Products were all very fresh including fresh fruit juice, fruit salade and a lot of other things. Cheese came directly from productors in the montain and it is possible to order what you want. It's not our first stay in a five star hotel, but it's sure that it's probably one of the best hotel in which we stayed and for sure, with the best breakfast. So, in conclusion, even it's a little expensive, don't hesitate to go to this hotel. You will have value for money.

Room Tip: If they are available, don't hesitate to take a beach room in an individual "pavillon"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived back for our third vacation this year , having last travelled in June , The weather was surprisingly good for the last week in October .The resort is just what is needed before our long dark winter .Staff are excellent and only too willing to assist .They carry out their duties in a very professional manner .
I have no reservations in recommending this resort to any one who wants the little bit extra -try it and see ,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelDeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We arrived at MBR to a simple check in, and had a quick tour of the Town house (This was amazingly the cheapest accommodation!!) which was impeccable.
To say it was fully equipped would be unfair, as it had everything, from hairdryers to dishwasher tablets included! A nice welcome pack of groceries was the icing on a rather lovely cake...

This two bedroom town house had a very large living/dining area upstairs, and two large double beneath, opening out to the small secluded garden. The upstairs had a large balcony. Although there were two of us, the place was plenty big enough for four, possibly six.

Take it from me, you'll love everything about the house! (Large plasma TV, Sky, DVD, Mood lighting, Outside Chimenea, Loungers etc etc)

The resort was a little sprawling, but very presentable with a huge selection of pools, properties and enough in the way of dining to keep you amused.

The village shop was well too dear, we refused to use it, and drove into Sagres which was only four minutes down the road by car.

We had a lovely quiet ten day break, and would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: All the properties are luxury sized, and fully kitted out. Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I am a warts & all type of reviewer and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with our holiday to Martinhal. We travelled in early October & the unseasonal hot weather definitely helped. We stayed in Vilas Mimosa which was a bit of a walk for our toddler to the beach. However the Villa was superb & incredibly well equipped. As we were self catered a hire car really was an advantage with trips to Lidl & the local supermarket.

It was quiet at the resort bordering on tumbleweeds at times, the Village reception was closed during our week but more importantly the creche was open for our 9month old & toddler, all staff were excellent. We even used the babysitter service which was one of the creche staff who came with ID & a list of questions before us leaving, this put nervous parents minds at ease.

We ate at Oz Gambinos on the first night before it closed, then had one night each in the Terrace & Os Dunas. Os Dunas had an added feature of sand play area in front of the restaturant & Creche staff drawing facing & playing games with bored kids.

What was the real test was our 9 month old took sick while we were at the hotel, the reception contacted an international medical centre in Luz (25 mins drive). This was staffed with Englist speaking medical staff on a Sunday who diagnosed a virus. The next day we were at the Club 98 pool in self imposed exile when the hotel nurse approached us to get a full report on what happened and the health of our baby. This medical backup is not in any of the hotel documentation but it is very reassuring to know it is there.

Its not perfect, the complex layout makes it feel a litte soulless at times & our experience of the hire bikes were mixed at best. The kids cinema is a great resource but poorly advertised. I met the owner who was very honest that they are still learning & have improvements to make.

The issues are small but we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just came back after staying 4 nights at Martinhal. Weather was hot!!! Family of 4 (2 young children) plus a grandparent. Staff were excellent and very helpful. As stated in other reviews Oz Gambozinos was closed which was disappointing bit we did get a 75 Euro credit on our bill at the end. I booked through Amex and also received a free meal for 2 at As Dunas. It was great not having to humph cases to and from car as they used the buggies. A good daily maid service too. Serive we thought at As Dunas could have been quicker, but the hotel was only 30-40% occupancy last week and I often think if hotels are not full service can be ropey sometimes in restaurants. We didn't try O Terraco as didn't believe it warranted the 64 euro a head price tag. My 6 year old daughter used the kids club once and really enjoyed it. We don't normally use kids clubs but she was keen to go and they were very responsible. Gym equipment, blue room for older kids with computers and X Box's and even a hole-in-the wall if you run out of cash! Pools were great and because it was so quiet we had the pool to ourselves for 2 of the days. Food wise we ate a couple of times in Sagres a nice Italian and an excellent restaurant Vila Verdhe run by Dutch people. A few good restaurants there. Our last night we walked a few hundred yards down to the shack hut on the beach (the furthest one away) Nortega and had a meal - it was fab. I had Tiger Prawns and it was the best I have had. 90euros for the 5 of us for main course sweets and wine and liquers - well worth the money if your not snobby about your surroundings.
Would definately recommend Martinhal. I think the only downside was it was a fair trek away. We had come from a couple of days in Lisbon. If your flying to Faro not so bad, but Lisbon to Sagres is a fair drive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ret174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Martinhal

We've just returned from a great stay at Martinhal. I won't go over things already talked about in other reviews, but just a couple of general things and a few points that it might be useful to know. 

In general, we loved the style of the hotel. I thought everything, down to the lampposts, was aesthetically pleasing! There is a great deal of attention to detail to make a holiday with children as convenient as possible, whilst remaining a very stylish adult choice. We will definitely go back with our little girl. We found the service to be exceptionally good in fact;  no complaints at all. 

A few more specific things: the Oz Gambozinos restaurant was closed for the low season from beginning of October. The As Dunas restaurant was lovely though. Staff were excellent and the food was simple and fresh. Apparently it was possible to go to O Teraco with the baby, as it was low season. We didn't go in the end as I was a bit sceptical as to whether the vegetarian option that the chef would propose would be worth the money. The restaurant is lovely inside and the view is beautiful. 

I was glad that we took our proper pushchair rather than a lightweight folding one as we walked a lot during our baby's nap times and the pavements within the resort have cobble stones, which is typical of the region as far as we could tell. Even in the pushchair it was a bit of a bumpy ride; saying that, the baby seemed soothed by it!

We bought pampers nappies (under the name 'Dodot') at the small Intermarche supermarket in Sagres; price was not very different from price at home. Baby stuff is also sold at the mercado in the resort. The mercado was well-stocked generally. 

Prices in the resort for drinks and food were very reasonable; not inflated.

We borrowed a changing mat at no cost from the hotel reception. 

The Internet connection worked really well in our garden house. We had our IPad with us, which was ideal.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and will definitely be back!  

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laineyhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

well what can i say , i was pleasantly surprised, this is the first review ive done, but as i read up on so many before here making a decision i thought i aught to spend the time writing an honest warts an all review to help others reach a desicion that went on for days, the more i read about places the more fussy i got..nightmare.., ok the place sagres is a nice little fishing type village with oldy worldy boats and stuff, crystal clear waters and on the martinhall resort a full sandy beach, all surrounding beaches shale and rock, very picturesque though, a largly unspoilt little port village, its small but everything you need is there, some decent size supermarkets selling uk papers and fags, and from the martinhall resort you just walk to the end of the beach and up a hill then your right in town, rather than cycle all the way round on the road which took me ages and give my bottom a redness i hadnt encountered since school !, you can see it from the beach at the resort on your right, the resort, some top accom, and i travel the world in the oil and gas industry so get thrown in all weird and wonderfull hotels, the rooms where fantastic, me and my girlfriend had a 3 bedroom garden villa, everything in there for self catering, including neff ovens and halogen tops all the crockery and cutlery is a1 stuff, and i work in the catering industry, a washing machine, dishwasher, freeview channels on an lcd, everything with a pool in the garden that was empty ...fantastic, to be fair the seasons winding down now, so it wasnt as busy as normal, being honest it would be spoilt in peak season as there is probably kids running loose everywhere, all catered for as far as i could make out,(ok i hold my hands up it is a family resort so its all good there, plenty of little playgrounds and shallow pools, lifeguards on the beach) but i was spoilt i think as the place was half empty, if you can get there these coming weeks ...your laughing, the downside, the restaurants on site are really nice but pricey , a decent meal for 2 with just drinks set us back 80 euros, ok for the odd special night but not every day, the breakfasts where 25 euros each as well, glad i only went once, i was on a room only deal, where i got a decent price upgrading to a 3 bed villa, but everything else is there for you to do as much as you want or as little, i bought a little fishing set in the chinese bizar in town and was happy as larry fishing off the pier or the rocks on the next beach along, we spent the whole day there and never seen a soul, partly due to climbing down a steep hill, the familys i think avoided that particular part so another bonus!, all in all would go back in a heartbeat , staff all friendly and really helpfull, seemed to all enjoy their work, deffo get room only and choose where you want to eat, plenty of restaurants in town cheap enough as well, but the best place in sagres probably by a country mile and the area stunning too !!, and looking at the places we picked up from in a couple of concrete jungle towns on the way back to faro airport, i thank trip adviser for making me pick this hence my first review to realisically help others

Room Tip: they are all good, top of the range apart from the cheapest ones that are apparently a little step d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheikyormunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: £135 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing