We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The views were spectacular and the room was spacious with nice decor. We enjoyed the pool area although it was a bit noisy with children. We had food in all the restaurants and it was all very good. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've had in years. I would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TwoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed at this resort in Jun 2011 very relaxing and quiet. Facilities in and around the vicinity of the hotel is adequate though the location may not suit the younger people. This is a place to relax and more family orientated particularly for people with very young children. Most of the families I saw seem to be of the professional type with very well brought up children. Not too loud or noisy.

Very pricey location a bit too much in my view but then you are paying for the scenery and a reasonable beach. Also it is pleasant to have breakfast on a nice sunny day on the balcony with the nice blue sea looking at you.

Probably visit again in the future because my wife and I enjoyed our4 day stay

RCD - London - UK

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Waipawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Head down to one of the most magical places on the planet and indulge yourself in a stay at Martinhal... it is everything it claims to be. A stones throw from the beach, a greeting and service second to none, beautiful food in any one of the numerous quality restaurants onsite. Take a stroll from your villa in the morning and relax as you soak up the rising sun and have breakfast, watch the sun glistening off the sea and forget time. Chill round the gorgeous pool, take a leisurely afternoon dip, cycle round the resort and marvel at the original vision to conceive and then create such an exquisite Hotel and Resort in this magical place. We were here on a photo shoot for the resort..... call that work, and it will remain a very special memory for many years to come. Absolutely fantastic for a family break with the kids, so much for them to do, while you relax.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in an Ocean Villa. On arrival the room stank of ammonia. In front of these rooms is the Terrace Restaurant. The hotel held wedding receptions there keeping us awake with noise into the early hours. This happened twice in one week. During our stay our three year old son suffered from food poisoning. The on-site nurse came to see him and asked us if he could borrow a thermometer! They have no Dr on site and because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere we had to drive 40 minutes (each way) to Praia da Luz for him to see one. Besides this, in general, the restaurants left much to be desired - the food is poor. One evening my wife had to send back her Gazpacho which tasted of vinegar instead of tomato. You'd expect the fish to be excellent given the coastal setting but we were left disappointed - the Sea Bass was salty and over-cooked. One of the restaurants in the square was buffet themed, it had no atmosphere and it reminded us of a 2 star resort. The Kids club was very good but that's really all the hotel has going for it. During the week we stayed the front of house and customer services were terrible and the hotel manager was disinterested. For the price you'd expect the quality, food and service to be a lot lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMartinhal, General Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear Mr. Mark Hanlon,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your holiday, the comments of our guests are highly appreciated and are used to continuous improve the guests experience, I am sorry that you were unhappy with certain aspects.

We keep a detailed record of comments made by our guests during their stay, I have investigated the observations you have made and can confirm the following.


- There was one wedding party held in the whole 2nd half of the year - whereby they had rented out all the Hotel rooms and a significant number of other houses. We are very sorry that your stay was affected by their party for 2 consecutive nights. Although only one party was held in O Terraco (in front of the Ocean Houses) and all guests in the surrounding houses where informed about this party.
- We do have a nurse onsite who visited you after your child became sick, a service which most of our guests value. As he came straight to your house while he was around the resort on some other jobs, he didn’t have his usual nurse’s bag with him. It was a lapse that he didn’t bring a thermometer with him and would have of course returned to his office to get one if he had to. We do not advertise a doctor onsite, but we do have a fantastic arrangement with Luz Doc, a very well-respected clinic in Luz which is only 20 minutes away. The doctors and nurses at LuzDoc have tended to all our guests, adults and children, needing any kind of medical attention with great speed and passion. Many other guests value this very much.
Our nurse did do the follow up with Luz Doc after your visit and was informed that your child had no food poisoning but a virus.
- With regards to the food, we are again sorry that you have not been impressed. However, we have worked hard on this in our first year to execute our vision for our restaurants, which many guests do appreciate as high quality. Again, there must have been some specific days that the quality had suffered, for which I apologize. Reviewing your bill, you seemed to only have ordered lots of snacks and drinks at the poolside, and you have eaten once at As Dunas, our beachfront restaurant, and perhaps some meals/ food items at Mercado, our deli and convenience store, but no other meals. If you give us a chance by visiting us again, perhaps we can convince you that Os Gambozinos and O Terraco are also excellent restaurants. In fact, we seem to have offered you some dinner/ spa vouchers when you complained but you refused these offers.
- We are making several positive changes, at the end of this first year, based on our guest constructive feedback, to ensure that our guests have an even better experience at Martinhal. We are improving all kids facilities, making lots of positive changes to our Food & Beverage concepts and continuing to build on our successes where relevant.
- As you point out, our Kids facilities are great, but I am sorry you feel that this is the only thing we have going for us.
- I am also disappointed that you feel that I was disinterested. I strive to see every guest who wants to see me and to address any issues that they have. I believe your needs were attended to by our Guest Relations Manager, Sasha Tyas, and our Rooms Division Manager, Suzana Gaspar, quite regularly ( Suzana Gaspar replaces me if I am not present at the Resort) I am sorry if you feel this was not enough.
- In general, the one thing our guests do say is that our front of house and service comes from the heart and that our staff are passionate about Martinhal and our guests. I hope that we are able to prove this to you the next time you come.

Please contact me directly if you feel that any of the mentioned aspects are not answered, you can reach me on guestservices@martinhal.com.

Yours Sincerely

Rob Veltman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed at Martinhal resort in October and had a fantastic time. We stayed in a garden house and it had absolutely everything we needed and more. The facilities really cater for children, every restaurant has something to keeplittle ones occupied while you eat - sand pits, trampolines, play houses etc. We took full advantage of the children's club during our stay. There were so many activities on offer it was hard to choose. There was also a good selection of children's meals available.
The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Perhaps the highlight was the night at La Terraco where you could enjoy a 5* meal and they provided children's entertainment to keep them busy so you could enjoy your glass of wine and 1st class views in peace!
The resort was fully booked when we stayed and due to the spacious nature of the resort, nothing felt overcrowded or too busy. There was always room at the pools and restaurants and the kids club always had spaces. The club is free if booked a day in advance so worth doing.
Definitely recommended, one of the best family holidays ever.

Room Tip: Travel cots are expensive to hire (25 euros per night) so take your own if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Last month we stayed at Martinhal Resort, where we had a wonderful time. The resort is very spacious and the location is beautiful. The decoration and equipment are excellent in all the houses. We were lucky with the weather, lots of sun, no wind and a warm temperature The staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was excellent, but restaurants were a bit expensive. We had the opportunity to visit Sagrez, a small town, but loaded with small restaurants with delicious food at a very good price. We took a taxi a couple of times and though the fares are not very low, the service was extremely good: the drivers were courteous, the cars were spotless, we had never before travelled in taxis like these. We intend to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyRohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at Martinhal Resort end October and beginning of November. The resort more than fulfilled our high set expectations.The Ocean house was among the best accomodations we ever had, all moderna amenities, comfortable and fresh with nice and modern furniture, bathrooms very fresh, beds very comfortable, kitchen with all things needed. You even got a welcome package for the self accomodation with some drink and food. The resort feel very spacious and well-managed, the restaurants has good service and the breakfast is excellent, more like a brunch (we tried it twice). The location in the Natural park is beatiful, the swimmingpools at the resort are all heated and this was great as the weather was not that warm at this time of the year. We played a lot of tennis, and the courts were great and held a good standard with the special articial grass. There were lot of organised activities as well, we went on mountainbike tour with a great guide.The staff very serviceminded and helpful. All-in-all nothing to complain about, we definitely would like to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elisabet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: £136 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing