We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday with a toddler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday with a toddler”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We went to Martinhal in September 2011 for a week, with our 18 month old daughter, and had a really fantastic holiday. We had debated a garden house vs. a partial sea view as we were afraid that the garden houses would be a bit far away from everything. In the end we got a garden house, but requested one that was near to the spa/creche (the most central location to everything) and were really thrilled with our decision. The garden houses have a lot more space, and they have private gardens that you can walk right out to. The sea view houses seem a little bit less private, and less spacious. They are slightly more central on the property, but not enough to really make a difference.

The creche was amazing, and we felt really comfortable leaving our daughter there for a couple of hours every day; it meant that we could sit by the pool in peace for a small stretch!

We had a car, which was amazing, and allowed us to check out the area, including the most gorgeous national park beaches - honestly not to be missed. This also allowed us to go out for dinner in Sagres, which was a real treat. I had read a lot of reviews of restaurants in town, and we picked some great ones: Vila Veha - really incredible - not cheap but totally reasonable, especially for the quality. A Casinha - really good - small and cozy and quite reasonable. A Tasca - a nice view over the port, right down on the water -florescent lighting, but a good patio - good food, although not quite as outstanding as the other two.

September was a great time to visit, as there weren't any school age children. Also the famous winds were very calm, and basically a non-factor for us. Sometimes it was a bit too breezy to sit on the beach, as our little girl complained, but mostly it was fine.

Also worth checking out was the pilates on the beach every morning. A wonderful way to start the day!

Altogether we had a really amazing, relaxing holiday. I can't recommend it enough for people with little kids.

Room Tip: Garden houses are great with little kids, as they are more spacious and private. We requested one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We much appreciate your detailed review and for letting us know how much you and your family loved your holiday at Martinhal. Many thanks for such compliments!
We are indeed family oriented and it is very important to us that families enjoy both the luxuries of superb hospitality and a wonderful family experience.
At Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel our Guests indeed have many options ranging between accommodation type, restaurants, activities, Kids Clubs... there is always something to do or just simply relax!
We look forward to your return to Martinhal as well to welcome your friends to whom you have kindly recommended us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    311
    91
    42
    13
See reviews for
908
188
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We love Portugal - we lived in Lisbon years ago - and we're not fans of the Algarve in general. But this corner of the province is fantastic and Martinhal is a great addition to it. The resort is beautifully done and despite it being young the grounds are fantastic - and the beach is a real treat. Everything is well done - the food is great, the pools are lovely and even the guests are pretty well behaved (a big plus!). But the best thing is the staff. Very well trained, charming and absolutely stellar - and all Portuguese which I loved. I would recommend getting a car while you're here - go to Carrapateira on the West coast for the best cliff walks - and enjoy this fantastic country. Great. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divesearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We are delighted to know how much you and your family loved Martinhal and our exceptional location in Algarve.
Your praises are very rewarding as our priority is to provide and outstanding service for all our Guests. Thank you for your great compliments and delightful review.
We would also love to welcome you and family back at Martinhal for many more fantastic experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic week here. Lots of activities, great food and beautiful views. A wonderful place to visit with a family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed a wonderful week at Martinhal. Many thanks for such compliments. We are indeed family oriented and it is very important to us that families enjoy the luxuries of superb hospitality and a wonderful family experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Brilliant for a family, went over Easter and had 50% occupancy. this was just right. I would hate to see this place in summer, it would be hard to get a table, pool spot etc. 50% was comfy.

Accommodation was exceptional in the 3 bedroom, but you can hear the neighbours going up and down the stairs. The bay houses are out of the way which is good for more quitness.

The facilities for kids is excellent, the pools are good and clean, heated. The restaurants are all good except the fine dining which we did not try, so cannot comment.

probably the best thing is the 5 star delivery, staff friendliness and helpfulness is amazing. the room cleans each day are the best i have seen and there was very little i could fault or felt like i missed.

thoroughly recommend this place, and i have stayed in a ton of hotels and resorts over the globe, this is by far the most impressive as a complete package. Thanks again.

Room Tip: talk to the resort about your needs, they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We could not have asked for a better review! Thank you for taking the time to post it and we are thrilled you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your holidays at Martinhal.
It is good to know that we are succeeding in providing an excellent service in our luxurious family resort.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again at any time – even in high season! Given the size, location, vast choice of accommodation with or without private pools, diversity of facilities and number of restaurants/bars, Martinhal does not appear crowded even when full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in a Pinewood villa for 7 nights end March/early April. Accommodation great. Resort facilities fantastic and restaurant set up marvellous when you have kids (ours aged 7,4,4). Staff very friendly. Service at oz gamb. In village square a bit erratic but if you're on holiday you shouldn't be uptight about it! Overall, cannot fault this place and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrowight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Many thanks for all the comments and glad you enjoyed the friendly staff. Os Gambozinos, our new Italian concept, just opened and apologies for any teething problems there.
We are looking forward to warmly welcoming you and your family again soon at Martinhal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The first time March 2011 and now March 2012. Great hotel. We stayed in a garden house, a villa with 2 rooms and a huge deck on the roof, where you can relax in the sun... Last year we stayed in a Mimosa villa, at the end of the resort. They are very different, both charming. Beach is beautiful,and the resort is amazing. Quiet in this time of the year. There's a lot of places for walking, biking or simply "feel the nature". There´ s a lot of activities too. And It´s a good place to discover the vicentina coast, a few minutes driving from there... Go to Zavial beach for a beer in the afternoon, 20 minutes driving south coast near Vila do Bispo. But please don´t tell anyone... it`s a secret !

Room Tip: From garden villas you can not see the beach, but you have a small garden and more privacy. Great ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeriaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We do appreciate your loyalty.
Great to know that you fully enjoyed what Martinhal has to offer and that you had plenty to do especially as we are in a Natural Reserve but also for our unique location in the Algarve.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your friends back at Martinhal for many more wonderful experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Really enjoyed the stay. The hotel facilities and locations are just perfect. Staff was very nice and helpful. We dont have children but we enjoyed a lot the hotel. Maybe a bit more enfasis on bar/drinks post children time could be improved. Also have to mention the decoration which we found incredible. I have already recommended the hotel to a colleague of mine who will probably go with its family this summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaimePL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you so much for posting your kind review and delighted to know how much you really enjoyed your stay at Martinhal. Glad you also like the decoration.
Nevertheless, your comments on drinks (after children time) have been conveyed to senior management for consideration.
We will look forward to warmly welcoming your friends this summer and trust that you will also return to Martinhal for another relaxing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
92 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing