We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great for children and adults alike, we went in March, as its low season it was quiet which we wanted, the site has lovely facilites, our villa was very well equipped with everything we needed.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a villa with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We so happy to know that you have fully enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are continuously developing our products and services in response to our client’s feedback as we strive to surpass our Guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for more memorable holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    300
    82
    36
    12
See reviews for
835
184
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent a week here in April/May and had a lovely time. My husband and I stayed in a garden villa with our 7 month old daughter and the villa was lovely, really spacious and clean. Everything we asked for (cot, highchair, baby bath and steriliser) was there as requested. This really is an ideal place to go with children but one of the reasons we particulary liked it was that this resort has struck a good balance in providing a place that still feels adult, with beautiful decorations and stylish furniture whilst still providing for the children. We would return.

Room Tip: Some of the ocean villas seemed more sheltered from the wind. If you want to sit outside maybe ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaoliver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this wonderful feedback about your experience.It was our pleasure to have you with us.

We are very glad to know that you have found wonderful our resort’s design, and unique features of our accommodation as well as all our wide range of facilities and activities for all the family.

It is of prime importance to us that our clients enjoy both the luxuries of superb hospitality and have an amazing family experience. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Obviously the perfect place for children. Other reviews have probably mentioned enough about it. We took a rent-a-car as it was cheaper than the hotel offered transfer even though we have the car for 8 days. Because we had the car we went to the supermarket (go left at hotel entrance, 2 mins drive) and ended up cooking a few times rather then using the restaurant. Something we rarely do on holiday but it was just convenient, the kitchen is well equipped. You can also have take away from the restaurants.
It is hard to say anything negative about the place but there are a few points: food is expensive, renting a movie through your tv is 12.50 EUR, also expensive. We found that none of the pools or children playareas was covered against the sun. With all the young kids you would expect some protection. The other point was that the e-mails beforehand with the admin department were messy. Some things that were beforehand agreed were communicated incorrectly to the departments involved. If you face similar during the booking process, don't let this put you off as it is a very nice place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far away from reception/kids club, otherwise walk can be quite far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this wonderful feedback about your holiday at Martinhal Beach Resort and Hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us.

We do appreciate your comments in relation to the shade over our children’s pools and would like to inform you the Village Pool does have a shade to protect our younger guests from the sunlight on those hotter days.

On you note regarding our Restaurant prices, we wish to inform that unfortunately taxes on food and beverage in Portugal are very high: 23%. This does make food prices very high in comparison to some other countries in Europe.

In our restaurants we aim to offer a higher level of service and facilities (like kids supervision and exclusive kids corners in the restaurants and bar, the trampoline and sandpit, a high number of baby chairs, kids’ entertainment, more extensive kids’ and baby menus, etc) which renders the experience all fine-tuned for families!

We apologize for any miscommunication in relation to your booking. Our Reservations team has been made aware and we are now taking the necessary efforts to ensure that the relevant information is sent to all future bookings during the reservation process.

We sincerely do hope that the overall great memories of your holidays will surpass by far the less positive aspects.

All of us at Martinhal look forward to your return so that you and your family may experience our positive progress and enjoy a truly perfect stay with plenty of pampering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel and resort is just lovely. We stayed for a week with a 20month old baby. The villa mimosa was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything. The staff were friendly, helpful and would do anything to accommodate us. We had a lovely time at all of their pools, their restaurants and beach. We ate off site most nights as we wanted to taste local food, the food around sagres was amazing as were the people. The resorts local shopped is very handy little more expensive but their fresh croissants, Portuguese custard tarts and breads were incredible. I would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone who has children but would like a sophisticated location.

Room Tip: Villa mimosa - 2 bed villas with garden close to amenities and fully equipped good reasonable option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyJones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review and many praises. Thank you also, for your compliments and any recommendation that you make.

We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed our very comfortable luxurious accommodation, our attentive service and many features that make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel all so special.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for another wonderful holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

+Great service, well trained staff
+Fantastic view ( ocean house 229)
+Welcome package ( bread juice milk...)

-pricey
-mocktails at same price as cocktails (EUR 8,20)
-restaurant meals standard quality
-dishwasher tabs not filled up
-Nespresso tabs not fillep up
-worst Internet connection ever

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Texmexlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Thank you also, for your compliments, especially those regarding our staff. We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our Ocean Houses as well as Welcome Pack on arrival.

Regarding your comments on the quality of food in our restaurants, kindly note that they were presented to our F&B Management Team.We regret any inconveniences experienced during your stay.

On you note regarding our prices, we wish to inform that unfortunately taxes on food and beverage in Portugal are very high: 23%. This does make food prices very high in comparison to some other countries in Europe.

In addition, we aim to offer a higher level of service and facilities (like kids supervision and exclusive kids corners in the restaurants and bar, the trampoline and sandpit, a high number of baby chairs, kids’ entertainment, more extensive kids’ and baby menus, etc) which renders the experience in our Restaurants different as well: all fine-tuned for families!

Further to your comments regarding the Nespresso capsules & dishwashing tablets our Housekeeping Team will allocate two dishwashing tablets daily for each villa and 4 Nespresso capsules on arrival.

We have been having some problems with our Internet Connection recently however our supplier is now onsite resolving this problem.

We thank you once again for your feedback and suggestions as we monitor this very closely to ensure that we can constantly improve.

We hope you choose to give us another opportunity again soon and find your experience very much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed garden house in August 2013. Having made the booking for this time of year, we were subsequently concerned about the wind factor and how much it would affect our holiday. As it turned out, we had 2 windy days out of 12. If we had experienced any more than this it would have affected our enjoyment. The wind is so strong that the beach is deserted and the pool areas are very cold. Martinhal cannot be criticised for this but I would caution anyone staying in August to bear this in mind. This is why a car is essential so that you can go further down the coast to get away from the wind.

Positives about martinhal:
- Excellent standard of accommodation – clean and modern and practical
- Good range of pools
- Supervised kids play during meal time is a massive bonus
- On site supermarket is well stocked (albeit slightly pricey)
- Food was generally good without being spectacular
- Food Takeaway service was excellent
- The size and look of the resort is really nice
- Very friendly staff throughout the resort
- Kids activities at 6pm in the town square were great

Negatives about martinhal:
- Service in all of the restaurants is only average
- Service in the bar is terrible
- For a family resort to have decided on rough cobbles in all areas makes no sense at all
- Not being able to sit on our outside area in the evening because of the sprinkler system is very disappointing

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dublinpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review.

We are pleased that there were many aspects of our resort that you enjoyed, thank you for complimenting them.
It is unfortunate, though, that there were areas that you were disappointed with for which we genuinely apologize.

With regards to your comments towards our restaurant and bar service we regret not providing you with the quality of service we strive for and wish to inform you that your comments have been registered and presented to our F&B Management Team.

We regret not knowing about the sprinkler outside your Garden House during your stay as our Maintenance Team would have gladly changed the timer to ensure that the sprinklers did not come on in the evenings.

Nevertheless we apologize for the inconveniences experienced which fall short of the superb hospitality we strive for and that certainly have no resemblance with our usual standards.
We all look forward to welcome you and your family again at Martinhal for another fantastic holiday as we are sure you will experience our positive progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for two weeks on business, and we had a friendly staff, great view, kid's place and some great food. The restaurant's burgers are some of the best I ever had. Beach access was perfect. In short a total wonderfull stay.

Room Tip: The back ones have little view but allot of peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review and many praises.

On your next stay we will be delighted to recommend you a wide range of activities and places to visit for more exceptional holiday experiences.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurants and we look forward to your return!Obrigada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
14.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing