We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous but with issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can highly recommend this resort if you have kids under 9/10yrs old. Otherwise avoid.

Price wise, you get decent value here compared to say Pine Cliffs, its main competition. Martinhal is much more design conscious, modern, attractive and therefore relaxing to look at and be around. It feels more worthy of the price tag for families. You are not paying for facilities for someone else to play golf! There are lovely pools and thoughtful touches everywhere.

On the downside:-

Food is scarce. At the beach pool cafe lunch service is dire. We waited 40mins for 4 juices and 3 plates of food. The single waitress was over stretched and latterly joined by one who appeared confused. The menu offers complex cocktails that take ages to make creating a backlog for all orders. It is popular and far too small. We would have gone next door to the fish restaurant but it opens for lunch at 12.00, too late with screaming toddlers. Unforgivable. It's the same for dinner... Just make it stay open all day from 11am for goodness sake.

Apart from the mini market shop it is impossible to buy children's snacks anywhere. No fruit pieces, rice crackers, dried fruit, bread sticks.... Nothing. Bring your own to the beach / pools and don't be caught out.

There is a massive emphasis on complex expensive drinks full of fruit and milk or yoghurt everywhere. But no such thing as a quick bite.

They do have designer wraps and sandwiches at the metro bar at the village square, with strange combinations of fillings. Not horrid. Just a bit odd. This relaxed eating should be more available elsewhere, e.g poolside.

The kids pizza pasta restaurant wasn't open for lunch in June. We were told it only opens in peak season? June is quite peak to me. I was annoyed.

There is precious little shade around the beach pool. A sandpit and play area next door is fully open to the midday sun. Walkways and seats are without shade. Going up and down steps and hills it can be too much for the kids.

Which leads me to the last point... Buggy / wheelchair access is poor. They have tried introducing ramps but ultimately the beach areas fail to be accessible. A rethink will have come in time. And it's sad that the roads and paths are all cobbles.... Bump bump bump.... Poor baby.

Don't get me wrong I loved it. But these things have been mentioned before and the resort isn't listening to customers! Pay attention now, if you want me back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us.

Wonderful to know that you enjoyed a very relaxing stay in the comfort of our luxurious accommodation.

In relation to your comments on our As Dunas Restaurant we would like to assure you that this restaurant opens for lunch 12h00 – 17h00 and from 18h00 -22h00 so it is open right throughout the day. We do regret not providing you and your family with the quality of service that we strive for and apologize for any inconveniences experienced.Please note that your impressions on the quality of service in our Restaurants were presented to our F&B Management Team.

After checking with all our outlets kindly note we have a wide range of snacks available for our younger guests. In the Juice Bar we have dried and fresh fruits available along with baguettes and also in the M Bar we have a wider selection with mini wraps, cookies, crisps, mini chicken baguettes not to mention mini toasties. Finally at Club 98 pool we have Cereal Bars, Cookies, Pringles etc. we are sorry if these were not made available to you during your stay.

We regret to know that you considered our choice of activities limited. Please allow us to inform that besides the Fox Club and the Pick & Choose Program we also have the Explores & Adventure Club which is full of different exciting activities for teenagers aged between 9 and 18.
In addition we also have on offer a wide selection of sports activities, to name a few: water sports, Tennis and Football Academies, Padel Tennis, etc.
In addition to all the activities available on-site, we are also glad to provide all necessary information to our clients that wish to explore this magnificent part of the western Algarve’s coast (i.e. maps, recommended activities, boat/ bicycle/ jeep/ photograph/ walking tours, recommendation on the best places to visit, parks, etc).

As you correctly say our Italian Restaurant is not open at present and we have forwarded your suggestion to the Director of our F&B team for consideration.

Please also note that we have done our best to build pools in sheltered areas.
There is only so much we can do for sheltering without compromising aesthetics and our clients safety, besides, all our swimming pools are heated at an average temperature of 29ºC.

Further to your comments on our pathways, we would like to inform you that our Maintenance Team does keep a very close eye on the upkeep of our pathways. As you correctly say we are trying to make the access as easy as possible for all clients traveling with wheels. However, taking into account the huge grounds (of approx. 42 hectares) on which Martinhal Resort is situated, is not always perceptive to our clients where this type of maintenance work is being carried out.

We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just come back from the Martinhal having spent a wonderful week there. It was our first visit and overall the whole holiday exceeded our expectations. Although it is a resort holiday everything is well spaced and peaceful which eliminates that holiday camp feel. The standard of accommodation is also very high and whilst it accommodates for children well it still feels very grown-up.

There's a good selection of restuarants on-site which are more expensive than the off-site local restuarants however, they open early and have excellent play areas. We was also pleased to see some healthy options available for children as opposed to the usual rubbish that is often on offer. That said, if you want to go mad and order pizza and ice-cream you are well catered for. We also made use of the Italian take-away service which was great at the end of hard day of sand castle building.

The pools are excellent and we loved the covered pools when it got very hot (well over 30 for three days). The beach is also a short walk from the hotel reception and not at all crowded. It was lovely to walk along the bay after dinner and watch the sunset. There is a babysitting service which we did not use however, we made use of the kids club for one morning. I honestly did not think I would use it but our four year son asked if he could go and play. He had a good time and came out happy having discovered a train-set to play with. The staff working with the children are friendly and English speaking and care about whether the children are happy and engaged.

We would happily return to the Martinhal and can say without any doubt that this place is BETTER than the brochure! Also, the staff are fantastic, nothing is a problem and they care about whether you are having a great time. There is a very strong sense among the staff that they are proud to work at the Martinhal and want you to really enjoy your time there. I hope their boss reads some of these reviews!

We can't wait to go back - Thank you Martinhal for such a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The Bay houses are very peaceful and a short walk from the village square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hill46884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Thank you also, for your compliments and for awarding us with a five star rating.

We are extremely pleased that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities and enjoyed our location

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon to experience our continuous positive progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our holiday at Martinhal and they have thought of almost everything a family could want but wanted to feedback on a few things both positive and with room for improvement that might be of interest to people considering booking and of course for the management.

Positive first:

Love the location and views
Whole aesthetic of the design very cool and calming - wood cladding of buildings and light open areas.
Kids play areas fantastic, our son loved the trampoline sunk into the play area by the pool restaurant - genius idea and we could watch him while we waited for food. Also pirate ship by restaurant and surf bar much enjoyed.
Location of our room on ground floor, 2 mins from pool.
Free newspaper delivered to the door - fantastic
Crèche and kids club great
Fatboy monster beanbags by pool - love them!
Great breakfast buffet

Room for improvement

Food - expensive as other reviewers have said and before the management talk about the 23% tax rate, we have 20% in the UK and this is not a valid excuse!

Not enough variety or imagination in the lunchtime or evening menus.

Room - Our room and I imagine others had a blind and thin curtains but needed thick curtains to make the room darker - kids as most parents know like a dark room when they go to sleep and when they wake. This resulted in our kids finding it difficult to go to sleep and waking up earlier than they should. This caused unnecessary stress and grumpiness for all concerned.

Pool towels and loungers

For a hotel of this standard and expense there should be unlimited towels by the pool and padded mattress on the loungers.

Finally..

This is a great hotel and you won't find many better for families but ironically when a place which is after all very premium thinks of almost everything but has still a couple of major improvements it is can be frustrating.

We might consider renting a villa in the resort next time so we can use some of the facilities but have more control over food etc. We had a car and I would recommend all visitors to hire a car, it was the same price as the taxi transfer to the airport and it allowed us to make a few escapes to the supermarket and to explore Sagres which has some good value restaurants. Another time we would explore the other nice beaches nearby.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank EIMB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are pleased that there were many aspects of our resort that you enjoyed, thank you for complimenting them.
It is unfortunate, though, that there were areas that you were disappointed with and we are sorry to hear that.

We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our accommodation as well as all our superb facilities, programs and activities for all ages!

We do appreciate your comments regarding our food and beverage quality and variety, which were presented to our F&B Management Team. We regret any inconveniences experienced during your stay.We are pleased to inform you that we are have now implemented a new selection of daily specials in our restaurants and on our most recent Guest Surveys, the satisfaction levels of our restaurants has increased considerably in the last 3 weeks.

We have also registered your suggestion to have black outs in the bedrooms. We do apologize for any inconvenience experienced and have passed this on to the management of our Housekeeping Department.

On your note regarding our towel exchange policy, please note that we found to be very important to have the towel exchange service in the most central part of our Resort to benefit all our clients, independently of which swimming pool our clients choose to enjoy. As this new towel exchange procedure is still being tested, we are receptive to all suggestions that do not compromise our clients comfort as well as our environmental responsibilities.

We all look forward to your return and providing many more beautiful experiences as well as the opportunity to explore more top spot neighbouring beaches. e are all looking forward to welcome you back – hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our second visit to Martinhal and gosh I wish we had the money just to go there every holiday! It really is the (almost) perfect luxury family resort and we had a wonderful time. I won't labour again (last year's review is May 2013 and called 'Clapham Sur La Mer', which says it all really) but just point out improvements, and then areas they could still work on.

There is now children's plastic crockery and child-sized cutlery in both the restaurants and the villas. Tick. Breakfast runs much smoother as they seem to have more staff on duty, there are many more high chairs, and the bloomin' Fox now comes upstairs so there isn't a mass exodus downstairs at 9am anymore so that the kids can high five him! Service in Gambozinos is, on the whole, more efficient too.

There seems to be more things for toddlers to play on (it might be that because ours were babies last time we just didn't notice). There are toys and beanbags and a converted VW campervan in the bar, and more climbing frames and wendy houses in the Village Square.

We actually made it to the spa on the second last day (it took that long to establish a routine and relax sufficiently in order to, er, want to spend time relaxing). It's gorgeous, and we usually had it to ourselves. The treatments are horrendously expensive, but you can use the sauna/jacuzzi/steam room/relaxation areas for free. Recommended.

So, to the niggles. The main one by a long stretch is that you can no longer get a takeaway as your half board option. Last year the kids had eaten at 5.30 and then we'd pop down later to pick up a pizza for the grown ups. Apparently this has been introduced because the kitchen was being overwhelmed by takeaway orders. In a resort where everything is so geared around families, this seems a rare instance of the organisation prioritising itself, and just feels a bit commercial. And doesn't sit easily with a £5k family holiday. I'm not hungry at the same time my toddlers are. And if you want to leave later then you have to fork out for a babysitter. The fact the kitchen was being overwhelmed implies there's demand. So why not listen to customers and, er, open a separate takeaway? Surely that would be more cost effective for the resort anyway as people would use their half board on a 10 euro pizza rather than a 50 euro 3 course dinner??

Then in no particular order:

They only have BBC World News now and then a load of French/German/Spanish telly. I guess they've changed their subscriptions, but given at least 75% of the holidaymakers are Brits it's a bit rum.

Please can we have mugs in the kitchen? You have to have teeny tiny cups of coffee or burn yourself on a plastic beaker!

Classes/walks/yoga etc were all closed to me as they either started during kids' lunchtime naps or exactly when the Kids' Club opened shop.

Why does Dunas only open at 6pm? It means if your kids eat at 5.30 you're restricted to Gambozinos as by the time you've ordered and got your food at Dunas it's practically bed time.

We got a bottle of wine as a 'loyalty' present for holidaying a second time. Very nice, thank you, but we've now given them over £10k...a 5% discount would be a bit more fitting.

Why isn't Gambozinos open at lunch? Not everyone's spent the morning on the beach!

The resort Nurse wasn't very clued up. All we wanted to know was how we could get hold of children's Paracetamol. She thought we'd have to make a doctor appointment and get it prescribed, in Praia de Luz, which would have cost about £200 including taxi, private appointment etc. We spoke to Hugo in the Kids' Club (who is brilliant) and he called the Pharmacy 5 mins away who said we could get it OTC. On that note, is there any way the shop could get the license to dispense everyday meds? We can't be the only ones who (wrongly) thought 2 bottles of Calpol was enough for one holiday!

The shop is great but soooo expensive still. 12 euros for a bar of soap?! We went on the shuttle again to the Intermarche for our main provisions, but it does feel a bit commercial of Martinhal (again).

On which note...12 euros for movies on demand?!

All that said, it's bloomin' brilliant. So well thought out. And the staff make it. The waitresses in Gambozinos remembered us from last year (probably due to the noise and mess at our table!) The Kids Club were great. God, even the WINDOW CLEANER was child friendly and just smiled when one of mine put her sticky paws right on the bit he'd already cleaned and then made some puddles for them to splash in.

Love it.

Room Tip: Garden Villas. Close to the main square but the whole area is safely contained and has its own quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and fantastic compliments, especially toward our staff.
It is our mission to provide the best service possible, and to read your review makes us all feel as though we are achieving our goal.
One of the most flattering compliments that we could receive is your loyalty and your desire to continue to visit us, and for that we are extremely grateful and look forward to many more visits from you in the future.

We regret that the service provided in our Restaurants has not met your expectations. On our Half Board package our clients can enjoy a 3 course meal in any of our 3 restaurants either at lunch or dinnertime. We do have some dishes as you correctly say which are detailed and clearly stated on all our menus for eg. Seafood and larger steaks ( over 300gr) where our clients would have to pay a supplement however we also have smaller steaks and two fresh fish choices daily in our As Dunas Restaurant which we hope you had the opportunity to try.

We understand your perspective on the TV channels but kindly not on our website we do clearly state that we have satellite TV and as I’m sure you are aware this year the BBC and ITV have stopped transmitting to Spain and Portugal.

Please also note that we have done our best to accommodate all our clients in relation to the opening times of our restaurants. We are now opening Os Gambozinos at 16h00, O Terraço at 17h30 and As Dunas at 18h00 to allow families with small children to dine earlier.
With regards to your comments on acquiring everyday medication we would like to inform you that here in Portugal they have very strict policies on this and any type of medication can only be purchased in a pharmacy.

On your note regarding our prices in O Mercado, please note that it is a convenience store without the purchasing power of supermarket chains. As many of our products on offer are Gourmet and from top quality brands (as per our clients preference obtained from our client Survey results) we are not in a position to compete with the local supermarkets. Our clients in general appreciate the wonderful range of quality and fresh products we do have in O Mercado for their convenience including freshly-prepared takeaway food - we hope you had the opportunity to try it.

Many thanks for your high praises and compliments on our service. We know how much a friendly, attentive and professional staff does make all the difference therefore your recognition in highly valued.

We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Returned to Martinhal for 3rd year and again has lived up to expectations. Staff still as friendly as ever, especially to our kids. Like it that the grounds are now maturing. Kids club has been used more this time and has been thoroughly enjoyed by our 2 boys. Our only gripe this time is that this isn't the cheapest holiday around, and we don't mind paying for the quality it offers, so to charge an extra €12.00 a movie to watch in your house is ridiculous. Food in the on site mini shop is great but supermarket just down the road a lot more cost effective. Do try the takeaway curries though, they are amazing. Bike hire tried this time, really good and cheap for what you get. All in all great time and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We do appreciate very highly your loyalty, thank you for making us your first choice for 3 consecutive years and for your many kind compliments.

We know how much a friendly, attentive and professional staff does make all the difference therefore your recognition in highly valued.Your appreciation is the best motivation for the Martinhal Team to continually surpass our clients expectations.

On your next stay we will be delighted to recommend you a wide range of activities and places to visit for more exceptional holiday experiences.Many thanks for taking the time to post your warm words. We will look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Getting there is fairly easy and there are plenty of flights, as most people heading to this resort are travelling with kids the temptation is to book budget, but luggage/kids/budget airline together usually makes for a stressful event. If you can, go BA or even easy jet rather than Monarch.

The hotel itself is set on the most southerly tip of portugal, beautiful ocean views, great sunsets but also very windy...all the time. The number 3 windsurfer in the world was practicing on the public beach there and for good reason. The are is very exposed, no trees at all in the surrounding countryside. Not so bad in the height of summer, but our trip was in May and when the kids came out of the pools (which were heated) they were absolutely freezing. It was about 23-24 degrees during our stay.

The reception was quick and easy and we were taken to our villa (Bay View) which was quite some way from the main hub of the hotel. The Villa itself was spacious 2 rooms (1 double and one twin) and the kitchen dining room was all open plan with some sofas with a tv in the corner. It was clean and although it was nice for the communal area to be on the 1st floor for the view, it would have made more sense for it to have been on the ground floor for ease of the kids playing in the garden and inside. The Garden Villas had this configuration and it makes more sense for a family.

The villas are self catering and the hotel provides cot beds/sterilisers etc on request. There was a shop on the resort for fresh baked goods as well as other staples. It was very expensive though which was to be expected. Sagres town was a short drive away so one could buy from there instead.

There were several restaurants but we mainly ate in the square at the italian for dinner and down in the main restaurant by the sea/pool for lunch. The food was very good and there was an excellent kids menu with options for all ages (including puree food for babies.

There was a play area in the square which could have been bigger but was a popular choice for the small kids (approx 3 yrs old) and there was a great sandpit and trampoline area by the main pool. On the cooler days there was also a pool by the square that was half inside/outside. This meant the kids could last a little longer and come out without catching a cold.

From an adult point of view there were spa facilities/tennis/gym a lap pool/cycle hire amongst others. All of which seemed to have good kit to rent. I, however wanted to kitesurf and was assured before my visit that I would be able to either rent or use the resort equipment... the resort kites were unworkable, wrong lines with the wrong kites and clearly neglected. On top of that the rental company refused to deliver anything as 'they were too busy'. The only upside of the unceasing wind was wasted. The management apologised and have since said that they have changed the kite contractor they use, but for a father of two with limited time my window had closed. Very poor.

Overal the family enjoyed the stay, however, the scale of the site begn to become a little tiresome, especially since the pavements were cobbled which with a travel pram meant the little one was shaken all over the place. Also the wind is pretty relentless. The kids don't mind though but as mentioned above, it needs to be closer to 30 degrees in order for it to be pleasant.

The hotel has only been open for 3 years i believe, so they are still changing and adjusting things, but for the money, I think there may be better out there. I'm glad we went but I will be looking for other places to try before maybe going back for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a_gentlemans_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your lovely family experiences at Martinhal

We do appreciate your comments regarding the wind, nevertheless just wanted to say that we have no secrets about the weather in our unique and privileged location.
However, we are glad to inform that over the last 2 weeks our average temperature has been 26ºC with plenty of sun and practically no wind. Today, Sept. 5th the temperature is 30ºC and no wind at all.
Also whilst July/August are regarded as the windier months in Sagres, the wind stops in September - opening a fantastic Indian Summer all the way into November!

Please also note that we have done our best to build pools in sheltered areas.
There is only so much we can do for sheltering without compromising aesthetics and our clients safety, besides, all our swimming pools are heated at an average temperature of 29ºC.

We regret to know that not all your expectations towards the layout of your Bay House were meet and we apologise for the inconveniences experienced. However, we trust you enjoyed the comfort, luxury facilities of that particular accommodation.
On your next booking, please kindly inform your family needs, preferences and expectations to our Reservations team. They will gladly recommend you the best accommodation available for the dates of your preference.

We appreciate your opinion regarding our prices in O Mercado as this is something that not all clients would do. One thing we have to say is that prices in supermarkets in Portugal are higher than in rest of Europe. Kindly note that O Mercado is a convenience store and we don't have the purchasing power of supermarket chains as well as many of products on offer are Gourmet and from top quality brands - according to our clients preference as per our survey results.
Our clients in general appreciate the wonderful range of products we do have in Mercado for their convenience, including the variety and quality of the freshly-prepared takeaway food options.

We deeply regret to know that not all your expectations regarding our Leisure Activities were meet and we apologise for the inconveniences experienced in relation to your kite surfing. As we had discussed we were working with and external company for this activity who we have worked with and trusted in the past. As you correctly say we have now changed to work with another kite contractor and appropriate measures have been taken to avoid these situations from happening again.

We hope that the overall memories of your holidays with us surpass the less positive aspects and that you will continue to make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel your first choice.

We look forward to host you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

the resort is nice, very spread out and clean.
we had a garden house it was very spacious.
the resort is clean and very well maintained.
the food was good.
our kids did enjoy the palygrounds.
the kids club was expensive but good.
the girls in the restaurants were the best thing about the place, out little ones liked going and playing colouring etc.

sadly the holiday ended very poorly.
the hotel charged us for a meal and a few extras like dining options.
nothing was explained much at any restaurant but the extra options were detailed on the menu so i understand them.
The "extra" meal, we understood was part of our half board was not highlighted at any stage prior to check out that this was an extra,
it was a poolside bar sandwich,( most likely the cheapest thing on any menu in the resort) we did not avail of the restaurant that day thinking it was our meal option. ~2nd day and the kids went to bed early
On check out we found we lost a day for meals plus we were charged for the sandwich.
they have admitted it was their fault in an email and apologized for not explaining at any stage,but not refunded the charge.
a small charge but hey its very annoying.
that and the disappearance of my favorite swimmers from a pool kinda ruined the holiday.
be aware of the expensive extras when booking or using the amenities like kids club or restaurants that are not included or have extra charges.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ger1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your detail impressions on your most recent stay with us.
We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our Garden House as well as all our superb facilities, programs and activities for all ages!

We regret that the service provided in our Restaurants has not met your expectations. On our Half Board package our clients can enjoy a 3 course meal in any of our 3 restaurants either at lunch or dinnertime. We do have some dishes as you correctly say which are detailed and clearly stated on all our menus for eg. Seafood and larger steaks ( over 300gr) where our clients would have to pay a supplement however we also have smaller steaks and two fresh fish choices daily in our As Dunas Restaurant which we hope you had the opportunity to try.

In addition, we aim to offer a higher level of service and facilities (like kids supervision and exclusive kids corners in the restaurants and bar, the trampoline and sandpit, a high number of baby chairs, kids’ entertainment, more extensive kids’ and baby menus, etc) which renders the experience in our Restaurants different as well: all fine-tuned for families!

We hope you choose to give us another opportunity and find your experience very much improved

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: £124 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing