We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mira Sagres(Vila do Bispo)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,464)
Filter reviews
1,464 results
Traveller rating
941
356
103
45
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
356
103
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubvillage squaregarden housemain poolyoung childreno terracoplay areaos gambozinosfamily holidayvilla mimosatennis courtssmall childrenterrace restauranthalf boardocean villaself cateringdunas restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 1,464 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent a relaxing week here with my two kids under 5, staying in a 2 bedroom Ocean house, half board. The villa was great, very big bedrooms, good child friendly bathrooms and a large living area with kitchen. The living area is on the top floor, making the most of the stunning view. There is a large balcony and small garden area with beach beds. The houses are well appointed, complete with washing machine and dishwasher if you want to go self catering. There is a supermarket in sagres to stock up on essentials rather than the resort shop. A welcome pack of bread, milk etc gets you started. The only thing missing was a DVD player, this was available at an extra cost of 10 Euros a day, which is an absolute joke considering the cost of the accommodation. I would prefer they got rid of the nespresso machine and provide a DVD player. Ocean houses are ideally located in the resort close to the main pool and village square.

The cobbled paths were a nightmare with our children. Every day we had endless falls and had two children with very grazed, sore knees. They really need to sort all the paths out as they are also not ideal for pushing buggys over.

The pools are nice with heated water, some only have a few beds which is a shame. The main pool can get quite busy but there are four others to choose from. It is a real shame, there is no adults only pool, so that if the kids are in kids club you can relax by the pool without children. It can be a little cold on windy days when you get out of the pool or even stand up, I found the main pool the most sheltered.

There is access to the beach, but no direct access from the beach beds on the sand to the water. If you want a beach bed and parasol near the water's edge these are provided at an extra cost from the beach cafe which is separate from Martinhal.

The kids club was very good. Our 2 and 4 year old loved it. It was well organised with great staff. There is a large outdoor area with bikes, trikes and playhouses to keep them entertained and every day they theme activities.

The beach bar in the village square is great and plenty to keep kids entertained. There is a VW campervan and when kids club is closed, you have access to the outdoor play area. The only problem we had was dragging our kids out of the campervan!

I think the resort is a bit of a let down on food as it was quite hit and miss. Breakfast was good, great selection on the buffet with a small selection of a la carte items such as poached eggs. The best restaurant in the evening was the terrace, food was of a high standard and well presented. The fish restaurant was a let down, both for lunch and dinner. Lunch very expensive. There are play areas staffed by kids club staff, in the terrace and fish restaurant which our kids loved. The pizzeria was good, it was a shame it wasn't open for lunch. We generally ate lunch at the beach bars on the public beach, the one closest to the resort did a great grilled squid with salad that is big enough to share between two for only 13 euros.

Very little in the hotel is free. Be prepared to pay to hire the tennis courts, which at 15 euros an hour is not cheap.

Overall its not cheap but our kids loved it and had a wonderful time. I managed to come home feeling relaxed too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ella7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at Martinhal .We take our clients expectations very seriously, especially when travelling with children who enjoy a large choice of activities and their parents that look forward to simply relax!

With regards to your comments on our restaurants, we regret that you have not experienced the quality and service for which we are renowned for. Nevertheless, your impressions have been presented to our F&B Management Team.

We also would like to address your comments regarding the wind, please kindly note that we have done our best to build all our facilities in sheltered areas but, as you may understand there is only so much we can do for sheltering without compromising aesthetics and/our clients safety.
However, when planning your return to Martinhal, please note that the windiest period is between June and August.

Our Kids Club staff were thrilled to hear your comments about their service. Thank you for your recognition of their service.

We look forward to warmly welcome you again soon for another excellent stay. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We, a group of 10 friends, stayed for 2 nights in this hotel 2 weeks ago. We had 5 seaview rooms in the front row per our reservation.

The seaview was impeccable, unobstructed. I had a room on the second floor with a balcony. Our friends' rooms on the ground floor had a patio. Its modern, comfortable, airy and clean. Apart from ample supply of amenities, the bathroom had a towel warmer, a separate shower and bathtub, although the bathtub was far too long for me.

There was an espresso coffee maker in the room and capsules were provided. However, only 2 capsules were provided free per day per room. Its too stingy for the room rate charged !

When we checked in, the receptionist took us to our rooms. He used one of my friend's room to brief us about the facilities in the room but the briefing took too long. It lasted more than 10 minutes. It was absolutely not necessary especially when we were hot, tired and hungry after a long drive, it was already past 7.30 pm when we arrived. Besides, to listen to the briefing, 10 of us had to crowd into our friend's room with our dirty shoes ! I think the management should refrain from doing this again.

We had dinner afterwards at the seafood restaurant of the hotel. Not only was the food expensive, the quality was disappointing. The mussles were overcooked and shrunk, and the taste too salty. Service was slow. We asked for bread to go with the soup, but we waited and waited, and when it came, about 15 minutes later, we had already finished the soup. Four of our friends had seafood pots (I cannot recall the exact name of the dish). After the first service, there were still plenty left in the pots but there was no one to help them to refill. The pots were simply left on the service table. When the bill came, we were charged 5 bottles of water (at 5 euros each), 2 bottles more than we had ordered !

The restaurant was very noisy as there were babies screaming and running around. For 50 euros per person it was absolutely not worth it.

In fact there were babies and children everywhere on the hotel grounds : at the breakfast and the pool. As the sea was too rough for swimming, the pool was where the kids were and as a result, there was lots of sun oil in it.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms on the front row.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us.

At Martinhal we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference to properly enjoy truly a wonderful holiday.

We have forwarded your comments in relation to your check in to the Management of our Front Office Team.

We regret to know how much the presence of children has interfered with your enjoyment of our As Dunas Restuarant. There is no secret that Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is rated as the best luxury family destination in Europe and we regret that your expectations of our Hotel were different. Nevertheless we do understand that when staying at Martinhal you might find it a little challenging to get away from other Guests children however as we are a family resort children are welcome in all our restaurants.

Your impressions on the quality and choice of food in our As Dunas restaurant were presented to our F&B Management Team.

We are sorry that there were some minor inconveniences and hope that they did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your holiday. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were very pleased with this holiday, we will go back, it's perfect for young families (not couples).... Exactly what is says on the tin, family resort - it is value for money in so much as you get a lot, it's not cheap, but it is luxury and an easy life for busy parents of busy kids.

Just minor things, and I have mentioned some of this to the guest relations lady at reception - cover the play ground areas as it over heats the equipment after noon. No toilet down stairs in the garden villas, a pain when you have kids and you have to go up and down the steep stairs a few times a day.

Some items I didn't mention as I need to reflect - lots of ants in the garden, hidden in bean bags etc.. (we stayed in a garden villa).

Broken glass outside our villa on more than one occasion, I think it's from the guys who collect the bins, glass falls out of the bin bags. I had to ring reception twice and then speak to another guest relations manages to get it swept up. Dangerous with kids around.

But listen all in all very beautiful location, peaceful if you want it to be and perfect for young families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen_Muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.

Further to your suggestion on having more shade by our children’s play grounds, kindly note that we are considering some improvements during our winter maintenance. However, and despite our best efforts to build all childrens areas in sheltered locations, there are some limitations on what we can do without affecting our clients safety and esthetics.

In relation to your comments regarding ants, as Martinhal is surrounded by a Natural Park we are prone to these type of unwanted visits by insects at times. Unfortunately this is beyond our control however are Housekeeping team are on hand to deal with these situations. Given our environmental restrictions and safety concerns of our youngest clients, we are limited in the choice of products that we can apply to control it, nevertheless we will continue to do our upmost to prevent these situations from occurring again.

We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can highly recommend this resort if you have kids under 9/10yrs old. Otherwise avoid.

Price wise, you get decent value here compared to say Pine Cliffs, its main competition. Martinhal is much more design conscious, modern, attractive and therefore relaxing to look at and be around. It feels more worthy of the price tag for families. You are not paying for facilities for someone else to play golf! There are lovely pools and thoughtful touches everywhere.

On the downside:-

Food is scarce. At the beach pool cafe lunch service is dire. We waited 40mins for 4 juices and 3 plates of food. The single waitress was over stretched and latterly joined by one who appeared confused. The menu offers complex cocktails that take ages to make creating a backlog for all orders. It is popular and far too small. We would have gone next door to the fish restaurant but it opens for lunch at 12.00, too late with screaming toddlers. Unforgivable. It's the same for dinner... Just make it stay open all day from 11am for goodness sake.

Apart from the mini market shop it is impossible to buy children's snacks anywhere. No fruit pieces, rice crackers, dried fruit, bread sticks.... Nothing. Bring your own to the beach / pools and don't be caught out.

There is a massive emphasis on complex expensive drinks full of fruit and milk or yoghurt everywhere. But no such thing as a quick bite.

They do have designer wraps and sandwiches at the metro bar at the village square, with strange combinations of fillings. Not horrid. Just a bit odd. This relaxed eating should be more available elsewhere, e.g poolside.

The kids pizza pasta restaurant wasn't open for lunch in June. We were told it only opens in peak season? June is quite peak to me. I was annoyed.

There is precious little shade around the beach pool. A sandpit and play area next door is fully open to the midday sun. Walkways and seats are without shade. Going up and down steps and hills it can be too much for the kids.

Which leads me to the last point... Buggy / wheelchair access is poor. They have tried introducing ramps but ultimately the beach areas fail to be accessible. A rethink will have come in time. And it's sad that the roads and paths are all cobbles.... Bump bump bump.... Poor baby.

Don't get me wrong I loved it. But these things have been mentioned before and the resort isn't listening to customers! Pay attention now, if you want me back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us.

Wonderful to know that you enjoyed a very relaxing stay in the comfort of our luxurious accommodation.

In relation to your comments on our As Dunas Restaurant we would like to assure you that this restaurant opens for lunch 12h00 – 17h00 and from 18h00 -22h00 so it is open right throughout the day. We do regret not providing you and your family with the quality of service that we strive for and apologize for any inconveniences experienced.Please note that your impressions on the quality of service in our Restaurants were presented to our F&B Management Team.

After checking with all our outlets kindly note we have a wide range of snacks available for our younger guests. In the Juice Bar we have dried and fresh fruits available along with baguettes and also in the M Bar we have a wider selection with mini wraps, cookies, crisps, mini chicken baguettes not to mention mini toasties. Finally at Club 98 pool we have Cereal Bars, Cookies, Pringles etc. we are sorry if these were not made available to you during your stay.

We regret to know that you considered our choice of activities limited. Please allow us to inform that besides the Fox Club and the Pick & Choose Program we also have the Explores & Adventure Club which is full of different exciting activities for teenagers aged between 9 and 18.
In addition we also have on offer a wide selection of sports activities, to name a few: water sports, Tennis and Football Academies, Padel Tennis, etc.
In addition to all the activities available on-site, we are also glad to provide all necessary information to our clients that wish to explore this magnificent part of the western Algarve’s coast (i.e. maps, recommended activities, boat/ bicycle/ jeep/ photograph/ walking tours, recommendation on the best places to visit, parks, etc).

As you correctly say our Italian Restaurant is not open at present and we have forwarded your suggestion to the Director of our F&B team for consideration.

Please also note that we have done our best to build pools in sheltered areas.
There is only so much we can do for sheltering without compromising aesthetics and our clients safety, besides, all our swimming pools are heated at an average temperature of 29ºC.

Further to your comments on our pathways, we would like to inform you that our Maintenance Team does keep a very close eye on the upkeep of our pathways. As you correctly say we are trying to make the access as easy as possible for all clients traveling with wheels. However, taking into account the huge grounds (of approx. 42 hectares) on which Martinhal Resort is situated, is not always perceptive to our clients where this type of maintenance work is being carried out.

We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just come back from the Martinhal having spent a wonderful week there. It was our first visit and overall the whole holiday exceeded our expectations. Although it is a resort holiday everything is well spaced and peaceful which eliminates that holiday camp feel. The standard of accommodation is also very high and whilst it accommodates for children well it still feels very grown-up.

There's a good selection of restuarants on-site which are more expensive than the off-site local restuarants however, they open early and have excellent play areas. We was also pleased to see some healthy options available for children as opposed to the usual rubbish that is often on offer. That said, if you want to go mad and order pizza and ice-cream you are well catered for. We also made use of the Italian take-away service which was great at the end of hard day of sand castle building.

The pools are excellent and we loved the covered pools when it got very hot (well over 30 for three days). The beach is also a short walk from the hotel reception and not at all crowded. It was lovely to walk along the bay after dinner and watch the sunset. There is a babysitting service which we did not use however, we made use of the kids club for one morning. I honestly did not think I would use it but our four year son asked if he could go and play. He had a good time and came out happy having discovered a train-set to play with. The staff working with the children are friendly and English speaking and care about whether the children are happy and engaged.

We would happily return to the Martinhal and can say without any doubt that this place is BETTER than the brochure! Also, the staff are fantastic, nothing is a problem and they care about whether you are having a great time. There is a very strong sense among the staff that they are proud to work at the Martinhal and want you to really enjoy your time there. I hope their boss reads some of these reviews!

We can't wait to go back - Thank you Martinhal for such a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The Bay houses are very peaceful and a short walk from the village square.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hill46884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Thank you also, for your compliments and for awarding us with a five star rating.

We are extremely pleased that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities and enjoyed our location

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon to experience our continuous positive progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews