We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windy and cold sea ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Windy and cold sea ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I rarely review places, but had I know how windy it is at Martinhal I would not have gone. It was so windy - to the point that you we were not able to sit on the beach for sand blowing in our faces! Also, the sea is bitterly cold.

As for the resort, it is lovely, but you pay for all extras and there wasn't much to do for older children. Realistically for the same money you can get a lot more else where.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us.

In relation to your comment about the wind, this can be welcoming for some guests and helps to keep temperatures down during July and August thus making it more suitable for guests, especially for families travelling with younger children. Also all our swimming pools are heated, to provide a better experience to our guests.

We regret to know that you considered our choice of activities limited. In your welcome documentation you would have had all information on all our Leisure Activities / Programs / Academies / Kids Clubs etc. Please allow us to inform that besides the Fox Club and the Pick & Choose Program we also have the Explores & Adventure Club which is full of different exciting activities for teenagers aged between 9 and 18. In addition we also have offer a wide selection of sports activities, to name a few: water sports, Tennis and Football Academies, Padel Tennis, etc.

Our Guest Service and Front Office Teams are also very glad to provide all necessary information to our clients who wish to explore this magnificent part of the western Algarve’s coast (i.e. maps, recommended activities, boat/ bicycle/ jeep/ photograph/ walking tours, recommendation on the best places to visit, parks, etc).

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for many more wonderful family experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    301
    84
    39
    13
See reviews for
852
185
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous accommodation, exceptional service and a top quality resort all round. It was windy when we first arrived and would recommend packing a sweater for the evenings. Definitely a resort for younger children and everything is at hand for them. Worth trying out the local restaurants and dolphin watching - a fabulous trip with the speed boat being as much fun as the pod of 20-30 wild dolphins.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshT776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments.
It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know that you and your family spent a brilliant holiday with us.
We all look forward to your return and providing many more beautiful experiences as well as the opportunity to explore more top spot neighbouring beaches. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed 9 nights in the mimosa villas. Interior decoration is above average for similar Algarvian high-end resorts. We shared an almost 'private pool' with the other 22 villas... Which we badly needed as the main pool at the hotel are crowded and very noisy. There was a large flat screen TV which offered 1 childrens channel in English and Sky News. The villas are privately owned and the owners take their sky viewing cards with them. Very disappointing as the World Cup was on television and the resort bar had no licence to show the final in English. Many disappointed German guests complained. When I complained to guest services that when we put our daughter to bed we would like to be able to watch some television in English she said she appreciated and understood the predicament we were in, but there was nothing she could do for us.We have stayed many times in other Algarvian resorts and have always had BBC etc. she informed us that all of the Algarve lost BBC and some other English Channels in March 2014. My husband rang the resort we stayed in last year in Quinta do Lago and they still provide the English channels in their villas. My husband was not impressed that we had been lied to. Also the wind is regularly so strong on the Sagres peninsula that you are not able to sit out in the evening without trousers and a jacket... Something you do not expect when coming to the Algarve in high summer. The wind during the day is very uncomfortable when you try to lie by the pool. The food is of good quality but the waiting staff are disinterested and some have a poor command of English and seem almost apathetic to their 'posh' patrons. We fell into the mistake of buying into the recent hype surrounding this resort. They opened in 2010 and four years later they have a lot to learn about customer service.

Room Tip: The mimosa villas are decorated to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mommybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied on your recent visit to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel. Upon your arrival, you brought to our attention the importance of the TV channels, however and as explained at the time, since February 10th the Algarve and southern Spain, have stopped having BBC channels available , as you may confirm on different websites/ newspapers. Should you wish to read up on this further, you may find all this
information on http://www.bbc.co.uk/reception/news/news_item25.html

We are presently looking for ways to find a solution for this issue, which is out of our control.

Regarding the wind, occasionally it can happen, but this in a way is welcoming and helps to keep temperatures down during July and August thus making it more suitable for guests, especially for families travelling with younger children and elderly. Also, all our swimming pools are heated, to provide a better experience to our guests.

We hope you choose to give us another opportunity and find your experience very much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed here several times with family and friends. I love coming here and it's now my favourite place to unwind. The facilities are fantastic, the pools are never crowded and the gym is equally a pleasure to use. There is a great sense of safety in the resort especially in the garden cottage area and I love that you can see the central pool from your garden area. The wi-fi is great and I've had no problem using it for work. There are a lot of amenities for children to avail of and they are always positioned in such a way that it is easy and comfortable for adults to supervise. I would highly recommend this report for a luxury, safe family trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
How wonderful to learn that you and your family had a perfect stay and without a dull moment! Thank you for your fantastic review and for your loyalty to Martinhal. Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year and to provide plenty more exceptional holiday experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my adult family in a villa. Though this is aimed at children it didn't bother us one bit that there were kids about.
The restaurants inside Martinhal were below standard and over priced, for €8 each way you can taxi to Sagres in 5 minutes where the quality of food is much higher for half the price, so don't bother eating inside the resort.
All the other facilities at Martinhal were great, staff always eager to make reservations and call taxis for us.
It was very very windy all the time, it can be up to 10 degrees cooler than the rest of the Algarve with evenings getting quite bitter.
Though we enjoyed our stay I would be inclined to stay closer to Lagos where the weather is nicer and it's a bit more lively.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicoleks0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for review on your family stay here at Martinhal.
We are extremely pleased that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities and enjoyed our location.
We regret that you found our Restaurants less then satisfactory and did not experience our much appreciated and renowned quality service.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of a return visit sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

As background, I have a young family (3 kids under age 10) and have been to several of the other equivalent resorts in the Algarve (Pine Cliffs, Dunas Doradas, Blue & Green Villamoura etc.). First time visit to Martinhal in July this year with family.

Also, all of the above resorts have the same generic downsides (see in other posts):
1. these are family resorts with lots of arm-bands in the pool - not really for couples
2. the on site supermarkets and dining are 2-3x local options - get a car to address this
3. the resorts can be generic and non-historic - in fairness, this is a weakness of the Algarve

I like the formula however of very high standard pool holiday (my kids find the beach too much). In this regard, the only real issue of Martinhal for me is the wind.

Without the wind, this is probably a better resort than the others above - the quality of the accommodation is very high (although they should have clad all the 'square' houses in wood), the resort is compact yet not too concentrated - you can always find one of the 4 heated pool areas that are not busy, and the beach is just off the pool area and has a much more graduated entry to the water (a problem with the main Algarve beaches that get deep fast - Martinhal is in a 'cove'). The service is very good (quite distinctive) and Sagres is less than 2 miles away and while looking like a run-down town on first glance, Sagres has a very good range of restaurants of all levels (from Bossanova for great Pizza at or GiGi's for great Seafood at 1/3 resort price) - again, bring a car to avail of this easily and in comfort. The resort is also very accessible at roughly one hours drive down the A22 (dual carriage motorway) from Faro Airport.

This part of the world however - as you will see from the number of sports shops in Sages - is the windsurfing capital of Europe. From time to time, the wind blows hard and strong here (I like the Algarve for the wind as it makes the heat more bearable - however this is different). In Martinhal, a windy day means the getting out of the pool is like taking a cold shower (in fairness, the pools are really well heated and one is in-and-outdoor), the water temperature of the beach is very low (the wind cools it materially), and you need to put a sweater on when sitting on the balcony at night (and the wind is too noisy to hear the crickets). There is a small forest of trees in the middle of the resort that sits at an angle due to the wind.

For our stay, we had 3 days of wind and 4 days of no wind - it was like a Jekyll and Hyde experience - for 3 days we pined for other places, for 4 days we loved it.

I think with all these resorts (as I have posted on the others), a car is essential (it will pay itself in being able to dine outside the resort and use the local hypermarket).

If you have a car, and Martinhal is windy, you can drive 40 mins to Lagos and visit the excellent Pria Santa Ana (plus the other small beaches like Camilo on that outcrop - the best in the Algarve) - this would de-risk if Martinhal is too windy and therefore gives you options.

Room Tip: The resort is quite compact so don't worry about positioning of your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your superb family experience at Martinhal.

We are very glad to know that you have found wonderful our resort’s design, five star quality and unique features of our accommodation as well as all our wide range of facilities and activities for all the family. These are indeed some of the details specially thought out for the enjoyment and delight of all our Clients that do render a superior experience when staying at Martinhal where all is fine-tuned for families.

Sagres has a microclimate which gives it a very stable temperature throughout the year which is not too hot in summer with temperatures going up to a max 30 degrees when further west in the Algarve can be 40 degrees. However, when planning your return to Martinhal, kindly note that the windiest period is between June-August.

We all look forward to welcome you and your family again for another fantastic holiday as we are sure you will experience our positive progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fantastic services for children. We were there without. We had a fantastic room with sea view on the first row, recommendable !! Nice room with terrace and spacious bathroom. The pool is full of kids and at breakfast time it is noisy. We had a late diner which was very good and quiet.

Room Tip: If you can book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks for your review and many praises. It is very rewarding to know that we are on the right path!
Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us. We look forward to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
14.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Destinology, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing