We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience with Kids or Romantics”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience with Kids or Romantics”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for a few days as a last stop when we traveled for a few weeks in Portugal. We wished we had spent our entire stay here. This hotel is perfect for families with children and especially for surfing families with children who need the comfort and amenities of a hotel and the location near some of the world's most incredible beaches. Check out Praia do Amado for daily surfing and relaxing for all and Martinhal for lunch as well.

The vistas are incredible. There is a lovely pool and wonderful restaurants in Sagres that have incredible food untainted by the tourist traps you'll find in places like Lagos and Albufeira which have turned completely away from traditional fresh simple Portuguese food to more German and British influences. I'm Portuguese and grew up on the Albufeira coast when there were farms and almost no hotels and very little development. Sagres still maintains a lot of the simple beauty and a quick drive will take you to beautiful beaches if you ask the locals. Stick to the smaller family owned restaurants to truly appreciate the beauty of the people and cuisine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular. Ask for one with an ocean view of course - you are at the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    264
    89
    25
    11
See reviews for
133
448
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Certainly not a five star, you have to remove two stars. Then it becomes a three-star acceptable. Small self-service breakfast with (two) distracted waiters and much more intent on talking to each other than to treat clients, professional service to low-level (they did not even carry away the used plates, except on your specific request), you do not even get the teapot to the table, waiters going from table to table, as if if you were on the plane. Bathroom of the room obsolete. Hotel does not deserve to be among the Small Luxury Hotels.

Room Tip: at least book a room at a high level so to see the roof of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladygoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for one night on our roadtrip through Portugal, end of November. The hotel is located in an old convent on the cliffs of Sagres. The views are a-ma-zing! The staff was extremely friendly, and we received a free upgrade to a see-view room because there weren't many guests. The room was basic but clean, all the amenities were there. Breakfast buffet was great, we even had some bubbly wine. This is probably the best place to stay in Sagres.

Room Tip: Go for the seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lovely historic hotel with amazing views. Quiet. Great, attentive and helpful staff. Was so wonderful to us on our honeymoon. Rooms and bathrooms were larger than I expected. Walking distance to Sagres, easy drive to Fortress de Sages and Cape Sagres (which are both really cool and highly recommended!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmnash1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I researched many, many hotels in the town of Sagres and I was very happy with our choice of the Pousada de Sagres. The price was reasonable and included a great breakfast which you could eat outside on the terrace. The location with views of the sea from up on the cliff were stunning. You also could walk further along the cliff which allowed for a nice, easy hike. You were within walking distance to the beach, and restaurants was conveniently located. We enjoyed our balcony for drinking wine at sunset. The rooms were clean but definitely not fancy. The only downside was that the internet wasn't available in the rooms only in the lobby. We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been for more.

We also loved the town of Sagres. It was very laid back and beautiful. If you enjoy the outdoors and beautiful beaches then this is the town to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Some reviewers said this hotel was a little 'tired'. In our opinion they had no understanding of quality. This hotel is absolutely beautiful - the history of the area is well presented. The ambience, decor and furnishings perfectly reflect that. The service was excellent and the position of the hotel is stunning. Attention to detail is checked regularly. The nights were quiet. We lay by the pool with Crag Martins within 3 feet from us, flying over the swimming pool. Sagres is a lovely place where all you need is within one and half square miles, apart from visiting Cape St Vincent. The people are very welcoming. However, our holiday was made amazing for our Ruby Wedding celebration because of this beautiful hotel. Thankyou to all at the Pousada de Sagres, Infante.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you are planning to visit Sagres this is your place, amazing views from the rooms to the cliffs!! The service is polite and nice and the rooms are really comfy.
My advice is to not have dinner in the hotel, it is expensive and not the best Portuguese food...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatianuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 10 in Sagres
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Property: Pousada Sagres
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing