We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fine, decent place with lots of entertainment”
other travellers have booked this property
Tonel Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tonel Cottage
sitting area/living room hand built kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Tonel Cottage
sitting area/living room
hand built kitchen
Cottage double bedroom
upstairs bedroom
shower room
Both bathrooms are finished to a very high quality
hallway leading outside
Sunny and private cottage garden
Beautiful Tonel beach just a 3 min walk
Tonel Beach - great for surfing/sunbathing
enjoying the waves at Tonel beach
Mareta beach a short walk on the south side of Sagres
sagres beach (martinhal)
sagres seen from the lighthouse
south coast
West coast Amado beach
rent softboards from us only €10 per day.
Dolphin tours - incredible daily tours from Sagres port
Beliche fort pre-1587, near the cottage
Surrounding natural parkland - amazing for walking
Tonel beach, with the famous fortaleza above
Costa Vicentina coast
local architecture
View down to Tonel beach
Sky-diving at Alvor
The last sunset in mainland Europe on your doorstep at Cabo Sao Vicente, Sagres.
Welcome to Tonel cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sagres, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jeroen de...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fine, decent place with lots of entertainment”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

I was travelling with my two sons. Unfortunately, my wife could not make it due to a leg injury. Tonel was a fine place and also very suitable for children in the 10-12 years age range. Should you like beaches, surfing, good and low-priced food, then Sagres and particularly Tonel cottage is the place to go!

Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn c
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage in beautiful area.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is simply furnished and very nicely restored with attractive features. We were very comfortable and had plenty of space. The 2 bathrooms have lovely tiles and good quality fittings. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed for 2 weeks. Tonel beach is a few minutes walk away and several other beaches are within walking distance. We loved the little cafe opposite for croissants and coffee each morning and a lovely restaurant is very close too. The location was perfect for us, in a quieter area but within easy reach of villages, and towns. Great choice of beautiful beaches and local restaurants. Would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and rustic comfort
Liked least: A small welcome pack of couple of food items would be helpful as we arrived late.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davincenz...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best accommodation in sagres”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was the second time we stayed here and I've no doubt a third visit will happen again in the future. The cottage is tastefully kitted out with a contemporary rustic feel. Super close to town and all the surf beaches. I would not hesitate recommending this quaint little cottage to anyone ..

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosmo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sagres holiday cottage”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tonel Cottage is a lovely restored cottage in a great location for the beaches and town of sagres. The owners are friendly and helpful & I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice...
1 review
“More than we hoped for”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My friends and I wanted to go on a calm holiday to a more isolated and peaceful part of Portugal and spend some time with nature, especially by the sea and Sagres seemed like the perfect location.

The minute we arrived at Tonel cottage we couldn't believe our luck. It's beautifully done, has a wonderful cozy atmosphere and made us feel instantly at home, with tons of space and plenty of facilities. The facilities close by allowed us to be very independent and suited our needs perfectly. Moreover when we almost lost the keys, the owners Pip and Heath were incredibly kind and understanding towards us.

It was everything we could want out of our holiday experience and we would gladly go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisox9
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved the cottage, it was of high quality spec, tastefully renovated and lovely finishing touches. The owners are very nice, helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. Would happily rebook in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling as we walked through the door.
Liked least: The mattress was soft. The neighbours' dog could be a bit yappy in the morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaB21...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a fantastic location for exploring South West Portugal”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have had a fantastic week at the beautifully renovated and furnished Tonel Cottage. The owners made us so welcome and the cottage is really comfortable and well equipped - beautifully tiled bathrooms and terracotta floor tiles.
My husband came for the surf and wasn't disappointed! It is ideally located for both South and West coast beaches. Sagres itself has a number of beaches, the rugged Tonel facing West and the more sheltered beautiful Mareta and Martinhal beaches.
Lagos is only half an hour away with lots of lovely beaches dotted along the coastline (Zavial and Ingrina our favourites) and Aljezur/Arrifana beach on the West coast only an hour away, again with many lovely beaches on the way up the coast.
Our children (6 and 9) had a great time sampling the surf and playing on the beaches, they loved their hideaway bedroom up the stairs in the cottage! (not suitable for very young children as steep steps). Great selection of DVDs in cottage for children and adults.
Lots of great restaurants in Sagres and many bars have free Wi-Fi. We all had lots of Pastel de Natas (custard tarts) - yummy and fresh from the bakery near the cottage! Good supermarket walking distance from the cottage.
We would love to go back and explore more of this lovely part of Portugal.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully renovated cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing