We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best digs in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Twickers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best digs in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have come to Sagres once a year,if possible, for the past 25 years, the last 10ish staying at Pontalaia. Accommodation is perfect for couples, and families; and we even brought a group of 20 one year for a special occasion. The apartments are spacious, well furnished, airy and clean. The pool - though cold - is a welcome feature at the end of a beach day, or for lounging around when feeling lazy. The location is central, but quiet. Staff are attentive and helpful, but keep themselves in the background. The standard of service and facilities has been entirely consistently high over all those years. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sagres!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontalaia, Gerente de recepção at Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your kindly words, we're very proud to see that our clientes like the time spended with us. We hope to see you again soon in pontalaia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    36
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Pontalaia is located directly behind the Pousada in Sagres. The location is perfect; a 5-7 minute walk down to the beach and a 2 minute walk to the center of town. We spent four weeks in Portugal and the Pontalaia was the best accommodation by far.
The apartment was clean and comfortable with great beds, a well stocked kitchen, a balcony overlooking the pool and a very reasonable price.
The staff, especially Stella and Maria, could not have been more gracious and accommodating.
When they weren't making phone calls and sending faxes to resolve our car issues(long, sad story), they were pitching in with the cleaning staff. Oh, be careful with the balcony doors. If you close them they lock-even if you're outside. It won't be a problem unless you're on the second floor or have the security lock on the front door activated for some ridiculous reason. Fortunately, Stella is pretty good with a credit card and a screw driver.
Thank you for everything ladies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontalaia, Gerente de recepção at Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Google Translation
Obrigado pelas suas simpáticas palavras, em meu nome pessoal (Maria José) e em nome da minha colega Stela. Ficamos muito contentes por saber que gostou da sua estadia connosco e que passou uns momentos agradáveis na pontalaia. Tanto eu como a minha colega fazemos sempre todos os possíveis para agradar aos nossos clientes e ajudar nalgum imprevisto que possa aparecer durante a sua estadia, tal como a restante equipa faz para que o serviço seja sempre bem prestado. Esperamos contar com a sua visita em breve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here for a few days and enjoyed it a lot. Close to the Mareta Beach, our appartment had a large windows overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The bed was king size and very comfortable. Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms with the ocean view, these are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have traveled to Sagres on several occasions going back as far as 2001. My overall experience has always been a positive one in regards to the town in general, restaurants and other hotels. Over the years I had always wanted to stay at Pontalaia. I finally did so... what a letdown. I am only going to speak of the service, or better said, lack thereof. When we arrived at the time we had agreed (8:30pm) to meet with a member of the staff, there was one there. We had to call someone and it took them 10 minutes to arrive. The staff member promptly ran inside, grabbed a key card and showed us to our room. That would have been fine except that it was not the room we had agreed upon in our telephone reservation. When we asked the staff member about the other room she said she knew nothing about it and said we could take it or leave it as she had to get back to whatever it is she was doing somewhere in town. The hotel was at about 30% capacity and there were plenty of other rooms. Basically her attitude was that she was doing my wife and I a favor by letting stay there, and she could not be bothered to find us another room. We decided to stay only because we were hungry and had just spent 5 hours on the road. The next morning it was even worse. The hotel was nearly empty. It was 11:00 AM on a Sunday. I went down stairs and asked if they could allow us a courtesy late check out of 3pm. I offered to pay a fine, penalty and even a half day's rate if allowed the late checkout. To summarize the experience, the woman at the reception desk not only told me there was nothing she was willing to do, she asked me to take care of the check out paperwork immediately as her shift ended at noon and she could not be held up. Check out time is at noon. I live in Europe and travel up to 20 times a year. The attitude these employees have is by far the most condescending I have experienced. Great attitude to have during an economic crisis. It makes me wonder what is the true intent of this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. You will find much better Customer service. Sagres is a great place, just not this H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FAlacran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Considerable care has been given to providing comfortable and quality facilities in the rooms. Don't expect breakfast, as Pontalaia are apartments, but what we thought was a nice touch on the Christmas Day we stayed was the gift card and box of chocolates, despite the off-season prices. As a sidebar, one of the few places open on Christmas Day was the bar/cafe on the main street. Here there was quality in the food, followed by an invitation to sample the free desserts. Just examples of how, in my view, Portugal respects tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Apartments are rather spacious and provided with sustained balkonies. To me, the floors and sofas seemed a bit cold due to their materials (cermaic tiles and artificial leather) - which sure is suitable for hot summer stays.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed and looking for a new owner, so there was no possibility to get fresh drinks at the pool.

Very nice and uncomplicated staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigiri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Plus side: This was hotel service (daily cleaning, no meals though) with apartment facilities and equipment and price. The two rooms of our apartment were well appointed and the kitchen adequate for most purposes. It was a short walk to several good restaurants and a little further to harbour and beaches. We walked to the fort on the headland - worth the visit. There was a gym etc but we didn't use. The (small but adequate) supermarket is 2mins away.

Minus side: Nothing really negative to report. Minor points: People might find the pool a little small - it was fine for a dip on a hot day. The sea views were somewhat distant because a pousada is in the way - best view was from our side kitchen window. The on-site restaurant has closed down (but there are plenty of alternatives a couple of minutes away). It's a bit of a walk to the harbour and beaches and, being on a headland, the walk back was an effort.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor if you want to hop over the balcony to the pool - otherwise go for the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.6 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.2 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Rua Infante D. Henrique, Sagres 8650-381, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#5 Family Hotel in Sagres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 5-minute walk from Mareta Beach, Pontalaia offers apartments with a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool, the Atlantic Ocean or Sagres. Guests can benefit from a gym and sauna. The air-conditioned apartments of The Pontalaia have simple, modern furnishings and a private, modern bathroom. They include a fully equipped kitchenette, a safe, and satellite TV. Freshly caught fish is served at Mar a Vista, which is located near Mareta Beach. Pontalaia's guests can relax under a parasol by the swimming pool. Sagres offers a range of water sports such as surfing, snorkelling and windsurfing. While the Sagress Fortress is a 15-minute walk away, guests can reach the St. Vincent Fortress in a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing