We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best location in Sagres”
other traveller has booked this property
exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior
twin bedroom shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
exterior
twin bedroom
shower room
bedroom
living room
living room
double bedroom
kitchen
shower room
garden and exterior
exterior and pool
bbq terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sagres, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Best location in Sagres”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As a family of four we used to stay in many villas in south-west Algarve but Villa Palmeira was far the best one for the reasons as follows:location-in a quiet part of Sagres and with a walking distance to market and Tonel,Mareta beaches.Best possibilities to explore beaches and birds.There is also one of the best restaurants in Sagres-Retiro do Pescador - just around the corner.Villa-is very comfortable with high standard of accommodation.Great rooms and beds.The house is well equipped and garden around with the swimming pool and barbecue is just fabulous.Staff - were very friendly and would go out of their way to help you.House was clean and garden well kept.I just can state that we are coming back soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume...
1 review
“Perfect villa for family and friends”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We past perfect holidays in this house!
The situation is excellent and the house, the pool and the garden are very clean.
The only thing that's a shame is that the kitchen is poorly equipped.
But sure we will come back at villa palmeira!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate b
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The villa was beautiful! My family and I really enjoyed our week stay (not long enough). The villa is walking distance to everything.
Around the corner from a lovely traditional restaurant, with grilled fish and meat, which we visited twice.
Supermarket about 10 mins walk or 2-3 min drive.
The ‘lively’ part of town / main beaches were 10-15 min walk. Although Sagres is small there is a lot of choice of restaurants and bars.
My husband and I are surfers and so loved the atmosphere in Sagres – its all geared up for surfers, families and locals.

The Villa is in a quiet residential street, and is true to the photos. We loved just sitting in the garden and chilling and reading when not out and about.
The beds were really comfortable, we all slept really well. Having 2 bathrooms was really good, when we were all trying to get ready.

The booking and arrival was very good. After a delay with picking up our car hire, Hope met us at the house to go through everything.
We had to contact Hope during our stay as we woke up one morning with no water! – But turned out it was a burst mains in main road. This was sorted within a few hours. Then the electricity went! – this turned out to be just a fuse, but they were very quick in responding and coming out to the villa to fix.

I would love to come and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and location
Liked least: Only stayed a week - so my fault!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrstnrbr...
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“Beautiful and spacious Sagres house”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Visiting Sagres for the third time we opted for this beautiful villa located a short walk from the center of the village. Representatives from Algarve Private Collection was very professional and friendly and booking as well as arrival was very smooth. The house was cleaned several times during our two weeks' stay.

The villa is spacious and has a beautiful garden with a nice little swimming pool. Some things could be improved however, among them an upgrade of the kitchen utensils (only four drinking glasses for a six-person house, no bottle opener, broken water boiler, no coffee maker etc.) and of the garden furniture (a little too few and the ones in the pictures weren't there).

But all in all a very nice house that made our stay in Sagres a very pleasant one.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pogue2222
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Villa, Great location”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Villa Palmeira in early June for a week 2016. My wife and i had stayed in Sagres on a previous trip around europe many years ago and liked the area so much we always intended on returning with our two children aged 2 and 5.
Villa Palmeira was a definate upgrade in accomodation from the campervan we were in last time we visited!
The Villa is ideally situated a short distance from the main town and beaches, we did have a hire car to get around as the children dont walk too far before the whinging starts, but without kids all local ammenities and a couple of the best beaches are within easy walking distance.
The Villa was clean and well presented and we particularly enjoyed the outdoor dining area and made use of the bbq several times in our stay.
We never actually met anyone from 'Algarve Private Collection' but all were very helpful via email correspondance.
The only slight downside, as someone else mentioned, the pool area has nothing around it to stop curious 2 year olds form falling in and no shallow end, so trying to relax in the garden was tough with the risk of a child falling in the pool, as the Villa is recommended for young children perhaps a tasteful low level fence/gate around the pool would re-assure and help to relax parents of young children?
We also had some trouble with the hob, it was 'locked' and we couldnt use it.
Meeting the hosts on arrival would have been nice so they could have given us a run down on using the appliances e.t.c.
Unfortunatey my phone didnt want to work abroad and a mix up in communication meant we arrived at 3pm as agreed (via the hire car company phone at the airport) but no-one was there to let us in? instead an answerphone message was left on my non working phone explaining where the keys had been left, we were in the garden for a few hours before i found a local phone to use to call and see what was going on, no-ones fault just one of those things.
Overall we had a fabulous week in Sagres and loved the Villa, would definately return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite location
Liked least: the un-fenced in pool area with young children
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahineeee
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Villa, Great location”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We chose this property primarily because of the location, we wanted to be near the surfing beaches so with the first beach at 3 minutes drive we weren't disappointed. Villa Palmeira is really well located and just few minutes walking from the centre.

The villa itself was clean, and spacious. Everything we needed in the apartment was available except a washing machine. Cleaning was arranged during the week and towels replaced.

We had a good communication with Anna and Hope before arriving who provided us with a lot of information to facilitate our stay. They can also facilitate other services such as massage, babysitter, car rental, on-site chef etc...

We had a lovely stay at Villa Palmeira and absolutely recommend it for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No security around the pool which wasn't ideal with a child under 2.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Hi, and thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review! Apology as we couldnt have made it very clear, but the washing machine is located in the room next to the BBQ at the end of the garden. I will now make it more obvious and put this in the villa folder so it is clearer.

Thanks again!

Best wishes
Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
css052015
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden & pool area - Villa not well maintained”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

It has taken a while to write this review - because after a rough start to our 3-week-stay in Villa Palmeira in May 2015 we did end up having a great holiday and did not want to think about the first days anymore. However, to spare others from experiencing the same disappointment, we would like to share some experiences:

The descriptions and photos on www.algarveprivatecollection.com suggest that Villa Palmeira is a very luxurious property, well maintained and with high-quality furniture. Therefore we were quite surprised to find that different things inside the villa and the pool furniture were not really well maintained or broken, e.g.:
- the kitchen cupboard above the sink had many stains on the glass shelf and a number of glasses seemed to have small dark leftovers in them; the drawers below the microwave also contained a dirty pot; generally the drawers did not look very cleaned; the fridge was very clean.
- the dishwasher was missing salt and rinse aid (which we bought and refilled) and the filter was clogged up
- the lid of the kettle was broken; the kettle inside was furred up (the kettle was replaced immediately after we let the managers know - but why had they not noticed themselves?)
- a little espresso pot for the stove seemed to have mould inside (according to the maintenance manager this was only furred up, but we were skeptical and did not want to use it)
- some kitchen utensils did not seem to be of high quality and did not really fulfil their function (e.g. cheese grater)
- the door to the smallest bedroom only closed very difficultly with a loud bang
- the barbecue outside had not been cleaned
- the covers for the outside sunbeds did not seem clean (good thing we could use the wasching maschine to wash them)
- in many corners (especially the bathrooms) and under the fire place there was dust and bits of dirt; not dramatic but it did not look like it that it had been cleaned properly for a while; we had a 9 month old baby with us and wanted to have a good feeling letting her crawl about on the floor.

We called the Villa Managers (Anna, Jose and Hope) on the first day after our arrival (which was a Sunday) about the above mentioned issues. Anna was very friendly and offered to send the cleaners, which could not come until Monday. As we wanted to start our holiday right away, i.e. prepare food&drinks for us and the baby as well as be outside on the sunbeds, we did alot of cleaning ourselves on Saturday evening and Sunday. When the cleaning staff came on Monday, it seemed as if they were not in the most enthusiastic mood to clean the kitchen etc. The whole situation turned out to be very awkward, so that we would have rather just finished the cleaning ourselves. We guess there was a mismatch between our expectations and their standards. Probably our high expectations resulted from viewing the perfect photos on www.algarveprivatecollection.com. Second it was our first holiday with our 9 month old daughter and we wanted a clean environment for her to explore.

We can highlight positively that we were provided with fresh towels every few days and with fresh bed linen every week - which was a great service. Also the many electric heaters were very helpful on colder nights. The beds/matresses were extremely comfortable and seemd of high quality.

We enjoyed the garden and pool very much, both were maintained every week and made our stay really worthwhile. The roof terrace is perfect for yoga sessions. There is an excellent fish restaurant round the corner with super friendly staff. The bar/restaurant street at Mareta beach is walkable from the Villa and talso other beaches like Tonel and Beliche are only a 15-minute-walk away. Generally we would recommend a car to get around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and pool; beds and mattresses
Liked least: Poor maintenance of Villa
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
I have chosen to respond to this review as I genuinely feel upset about the content and integrity of these guests. The first thing that I want to point out is that they had actually asked me for money off because they felt that the cleaning wasnt up to standard. In this instance I had checked the villa myself before the check-in and I can honestly say that I didnt find any problems. We were happy to send the cleaners back on request, but when they arrived they were told that they had already done the cleaning themselves. As I felt they were not being honest, I refused to give them money off, and now I have a bad review! Something that also took them 3 months to post.

I also fully understand that sometimes things dont go smoothly, and in such cases we would do our best to replace any items needed where necessary. I would also be happy and honest to give a refund if i felt it was necessary and genuine. In this case I feel that these guests were exceptionally difficult (and we are very used to dealing with difficult people), and although I have never said this before I would not accept another booking from them.

This villa is a really lovely villa (please see previous positive reviews), but it is not a 5 star hotel as I feel is what these guests were expecting (at 800€ a week for a 3 bedroom villa with a private pool).

I really dont feel comfortable about writing these negative things, and it is something i have never had to do before. I have also contacted Trip Advisor, asking them to remove the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing