We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, contemporary - a total steal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish, contemporary - a total steal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We visited Sagres at the end of April 2012 for a cheap surf trip and got far more than we'd bargained for.

The hotel was much nicer than we'd expected, uber-stylish with shared areas full of comfy sofas where we could relax and take in the exceptional views. The bedrooms were very clean and the beds were ridiculously large and comfy, affording a great nights sleep - the hotel is very quiet at night.The breakfast was excellent with masses of choice, along with some Portuguese delicacies (i.e. cakes!) that filled us up for the day ahead! Lastly, the staff were very friendly, always willing to help and we weren't thwarted by our inabililty to speak Portuguese - everyone we spoke to was billingual.

Sagres is pretty uneventful, so if you're looking for a bit more adventure than just sitting around the pool I'd recommend you hired a car as there's loads to do in under an hours drive of the hotel.

The surf was varied (obviously no fault of the hotels!) but the beach we enjoyed the most was a little further north, in a town called Arrifana.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea-view room, the views are spectacular - also if you can get a room on the 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    509
    139
    40
    13
See reviews for
285
820
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I did not enjoy my one night at Memmo Baleeira, though I had long wanted to go and try it.

I got an over the phone 172€ rate for a normal sea-view room, which makes this quite an expensive room for portuguese standards. Just the service and the details were not there to match such price.

Things we didn't like:
. The guy at check in was just not very nice
. Tooth brush kits were not available, i had to buy a toothbrush and toothpaste from the hotel. It would have been fine in a no frills situation, but that is not what they charged me
. I also needed a comb, but none to be had at memmo, purchase or not.
. The in-house restaurant setting was not so nice, so we decided to have dinner on the terrace lounge, beautiful overlooking the bay ( just one floor up). The soup we wanted was not available on this menu, only one floor down-management decision.
. Over dinner a really annoying phone kept ringing behind the counter, really loud. Noone cared to pick it up, so it just kept ringing.
.the blackouts at the room we not so effective so i woke at 6:30 with light rushing in
.bathroom door was damaged. I am maybe picky, but i expect things not to look like this when i pay the rate i paid. (i'll try to post pic)

Things we did like:
.the location is beautiful
.the hotel itself is nice and clean
.beakfast was quite good
.the room was nice, simple but cool/modern look

Overall the value was poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gvsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a great time at Memmo Baleeira Hotel.
Nice, clean rooms, friendly staff, amazing location and great breakfast buffet!
Really recommended for couples and families, relaxing atmosphere.
Loved the minimalist design in the room and in the hotel all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

A rare find, cool design, comfortable rooms, friendly non stuffy service, good prices and fab beaches nearby. Book a garden or port facing room, if you travel with kids their studio suites are fantastic, open plan, spacious, full kitchen, separate bedroom and large balconies. Fantastic sheets and towels, of course Portuguese! Great sleeps, great beds and no sound other than the sea and seagulls. It's not often a hotel attracts succesfully families with kids, straight and gay couples and older people, there's that kind of good atmosphere around the place. Where they really do well is with the prices, not expensive so you end up staying in, enjoying a cocktail (6€), very decent burgers (10€) and beers (3€). Nice touches like you can borrow beach towels and change them every three days and borrow bikes too free of charge. They even had a baby chair fitted on one of the bikes on time and ready for us to go and watch the sunset at Cabo San Vicente, nice touch! Rodrigo, the General Manager spent some time with us giving us his recommendations for beaches and restaurants, and they were spot on! Favourite beaches Beliche, Tonel in low tide ideal for kids, Amado for surf. Food at Carlos was amazing and at Sitio do Rio divine! The Spa is small but has great prices, Mariarita does fantastic manicures and pedicures Brazilian style. Overall, the perfect hotel for a relaxing holiday, for sports lovers, we rented surf boards, stand up paddle boards, canoes, all at very affordable prices right on the beaches.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful holiday with my girlfriend, staying at the Memmo Baleeira Hotel. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, and that is exactly what we got at this hotel.
The building is stylish, relaxing and creates the sort of chilled atmosphere you hope for when on holiday. Set on the cliff top above the fishing harbour, the views from our room were stunning. The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel immaculately clean and the food / wine were top quality.
Sagres, where the hotel resides, is a sleepy little town that continues the relaxed atmosphere that is promoted by the hotel. There are plenty of snack bars and restaurants to cater for all tastes, for those looking for a change of venue from the excellent hotel restaurant.
The hotel is situated in the south west tip of Portugal, and I would recommend hiring a car if you plan to explore further a field, although the town is serviced by a decent, prompt bus service.
If I had one critisicim, it would be that the pool area is quite small and the number of sun loungers is limited considering the amount of rooms. However, there are plenty of beaches in the town withing walking distance so this is not a major problem. All in all, if your looking for peace and quiet, good food, and a great time, this is the place to go!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just returned from a brilliant family holiday at Memmo Hotel with my husband and 11 month old. Stayed in the one bedroom suite garden facing (although we could see the harbour), we had originally booked the duplex suite but realised that it looked out onto the carpark so paid a little extra to upgrade to the one bedroom suite which was well worth it. The hotel is very cool designed, the staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities are great, the outdoor pool is a little on the cold side for babies however the inside spa pool is great and is available for kids from 10-12 and 4-6. It is VERY windy through out the area so if you don't like wind this is not the place for you! The nearby beaches are beautiful and more sheltered, it is worth hiring a car to explore them. We used the Memmo free ride surf school, the teachers were excellent and the provided a very high standard of lessons. We would consider going back.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is great when traveling with a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

positives:

great surf package with the best surf school ever ! Good breakfast buffet, clean rooms

negatives:

small TV and no safe in the room, mould in the SPA area, steam room did not work, it was not possible to organise a massage, personal in the SPA does not speak english, water in outdoor pool too cold for swimming, sauna did not work properly, hotel restaurant too expensive, no own hotel shuttle to Faro (it costs a fortune!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mauskewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing