We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was our 3rd or 4th stay in Memmo Baleeira, a modern and relaxing hotel in Sagres. We have stayed in family and therefiore have booked a partial sea view suite. The suite is ideal for a family with two children, the decoration is of very good taste, simple and relaxing. The hotel facilities are also very confortable and in the same note: relaxing and good taste. The breakfast buffet is really really good, the staff is very nice and there are a lot of activities organised by the Hotel in which you can be part of for free or for a low price.
Of course the weather is a little bit colder and windyer than the rest of the Algarve, but makes part of the magic of Sagres and if you want to run from to wind try the beaches of the "Costa Vicentina", a few KM' north, like Cordoama ou Amado.
The only complaint: the limited wifi access to public spaces and none in the rooms (we were told that it would be fixed soon).
Definitively a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms or suites with frontal or partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LeonorGSCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very pleasant week spent here. We had a partial seaview room looking over the harbour - well worth the extra few pennies.
Overall very relaxed feel to the hotel, helpful staff, clean modern room, decent facilities great location.
The nearest beach is very clean and only a couple of minutes down a (very steep) set of steps with a pleasant circular walk through the harbour and back to the hotel.
The main restaurants are a short walk although there are restaurants on site (a little soulless when we ate there although food ok if a little expensive)
As far as downsides, a lot is made of the wifi - it is a little slow and only free in the public areas however in some ways this adds to the relaxed atmosphere as people are forced out of their rooms. The pool is cold and the wind does blow, however the latter is a trait of the area rather than the hotel.
Overall recommended

Room Tip: Sea view !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. The staff are very good; the room spacious and relaxing; breakfasts fresh and delicious; nice firm but soft beds; great pool area; lots of lounges/spaces to sit and have a drink or relax. There was limited wifi access to public spaces (none in rooms) and even that was patchy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pangexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Memmo Baleeira is a lovely modern hotel in Sagres. It has a lot of plus points from the design, which is very Miami-esque, the staff who are nice and accommodating, really nicely sized rooms and great food and drink.

However, imagine lying by the pool in the lovely sun and wanting to take a dip in what seems a pretty empty pool. You discover why it's empty the second you get in. It is simply extremely cold. You can't lounge in the pool at all and when you're spending this amount of money, that's wrong.

We spoke with reception who acknowledged there's a problem and there's no plans to change it. That's a total shame as it would make the Memmo Baleeira a fully rounded wonderful hotel.

As they accommodate children so well, it's a shame that this will mean we can't go back, as our son, like many other children simply couldn't take the cold.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Alwaystruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I was looking online for a night to stay in Sagres and this hotel was the best option so far.
Everything was perfect, staff, food, cleaned, ameneties, drinks (very nice bloodymary's & gin's), clothes shop with discounts, healthy breakfast buffet, confortable bed, warm water swimming pool and very relaxing enviroment around all areas.
The only detail that is missing... There is NO Internet connection at the rooms...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoraiaSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the week in Sagres with the family and stayed at Memmo Baleeira. We stayed in the suite with the sea view which I would definitely recommend! Waking up to the breathtaking views of the sea is priceless. The hotel facilities were great and we spent most of our week in the hotel which was our plan. There is lots to do with the outdoor and indoor pool (nice touch on windy days especially), nice spa, great kids and family activities e.g boat ride! Overall we had an enjoyable week. Only downside is the wifi only works in lobby, food isn't that special especially the a la carte at restaurant - don't bother! Go for the buffet! There are many great restaurants though within walking distance - Villa Viella is a must!!. All in all i would recommend and revisit again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank IfyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a last minute 4 night holiday and could not have had a better stay. Great location, lovely room looking out to sea with a balcony, lots if great local restaurants and multiple beaches near by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flick1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: £55 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing