We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We have mixed reviews about this hotel. In general, its ok, nothing special but there were a few points that totally let it down. Firstly, we encountered problems when booking and ended up wih a Garden View room. We're easygoing and accepted but the room was small and had a view of the car park. Secondly, all rooms have a balcony apparently....not ours. And lastly, the staff, as a whole were gracious and helpful, so a real shame that those working on reception were rude and unhelpful (by the way we speak portuguese so nothing lost in translation with them). Plus points though are the breakfasts, the cleanliness of the hotel...and actually thats it. So if you do choose to go to this hotel, be aware that a 'Garden View' room varies hugely and you may indeed end up with a glorious view of some greenery and a balcony to sit out on and watch the world go by. However, draw the short straw and you'll have a car park view, over the surf shop with no balcony and still pay the same.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boatman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Memmo Baleeira Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Great place for a hang gliding holiday but forget about sitting on the beach or the pool if you don't want your skin blown off. Naff hotel. Gym is a room with 3 pieces of equipment. Pool is like a freezer. And the Spa - well the clocks obviously don't work in there because you pay for 60 minutes but get a very ordinary 45 minutes. Five Euros for room service delivery. And then the food is terrible when it arrives eventually. Stay away. It's cheap because its a rubbish hotel. A giant white box in the middle of a Portugese slum.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank littlearnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We have very much enjoyed our 6 nights at this hotel. It is an oasis of peace ideal for relaxation in a beautiful spot of Portugal. The hotel is perfectly clean and the rooms are spacious and well decorated. The little spa offers a friendly and professional service. The sorroundings are beautifully wild and quiet. The only areas for marginal improvements are the reception (the people there are a little bit lost and although kind are pretty useless in giving suggestions and help) and the restaurant ( a little bit too pretentious. The quality is ok but boring). We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagliolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My boyfriend and I had an AMAZING stay here - a week over christmas, so he could do some surfing. The hotel was very very quiet and we got an excellent deal. The decor was fabulous, the staff were reserved but always helpful. the breakfast was fabulous - fruit, continental, cooked and cakes etc - really really good. It was just an excellent break. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice - it was good, quite pricey, but there were specials on everyday that were reasonable. We also had dinner a couple or times at a restaurant really close by called Estrella del mar (I think). The Cataplana was excellent and very reasonable - but dont go for steak or anything like that - not a patch on the local fish. Overall I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We managed to get a very good deal at this hotel but didnt know too much about it or the Sagres area.
What we know now is that the hotel is situated in an amazingly beautiful position looking out to sea and is tastefully decorated in lots of light airy colours, we found the staff to be very helpfull despite the language barrier (a good chance to practise the lingo!), the food at the hotel was fantastic with a wide range of choices for the buffet breakfast.

Sagres itself is quite remote so a hire car comes in very useful, with it being on the west coast the winds do whip up a fair bit so excellent for surfers or watersports fans, there are a number of reasonable restaurants in the town and a few low key bars.

All in all if you would like a hotel away from the mass of Brits and Germans, that is ultra chilled out in beautiful surroundings, and is chav free then this is pretty much it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here during the last week of May 2009. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. There was a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are a bit small but the view from the ocean view rooms is fantastic. The restaurant in the hotel was very nice for breakfast and dinner. There are plenty of beaches close to the hotel. Sagres is pretty quiet (at that time of year) but that's what we wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I've just returned from a 3 day stay (friday through sunday) at the Memmo Baleeira. The hotel is great: beautiful location with sweeping views of the port and the ocean, close to some of my favorite beach spots in Portugal (and I know many!!), nice design, bright rooms (do go for the sea bay view), well appointed common areas, nice breakfast...
When we arrived on Friday it was all very quiet. It remained very quiet on Saturday morning. We stayed by the pool and there was hardly any noise and lots of vacant sun beds. We then left for the beach and when we returned the “ambience” had somewhat changed. Lots of people, many with young children, had arrived for the weekend. Although they were nice and polite the hotel began to lack the silent relaxing atmosphere we had so much enjoyed the day before. The pool had no sun beds left and the breakfast room the next day was really busy, with some noise and children running / playing around.
I think it didn’t spoil the experience for us at all. We loved it and mean to go back as soon as possible, but I just wanted to refer that because it didn’t look like a family oriented place when we booked it. But maybe that is how it is being advertised in some places because there definitely were quite a few couples with children, from several nationalities: Portuguese, Spanish, English, German…

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploureiro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: £61 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing