We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location ( again )”
Review of Colina dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colina dos Mouros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Perfect Location ( again )”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here last year and I wrote my review on 3/8/12 everything I wrote still stands, it is a good hotel for a short stay and a good base to explore western Algarve and we will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petalrose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest , Customer and Friend

Many thnaks for your kindly words once again and review here on trip advisor


In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks are very impoirtant to us tio incentive to keepted and give a bettter and better service

We hope to see you very soon back to Colina dos Mouros

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    123
    52
    25
    7
See reviews for
40
145
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a a few days in June. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Views from our room were amazing great view of the castle, lovely to see it lit up at night. Would definitely stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dera Customer , Guest And Friend

Many thanks for your kindly words and nice review on trip advisor

as you know are very important for all profissional at Colina dos Mouros to incentive to keepted and give a good and excelente service wiyth all quality .

We hope to sse you back to Colina dos Mouros very soon

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel many years just for one night and noticed it in a really cheap package deal with Purple Travel so decided to return. We got a great deal which included flight and hotel. We decided to spend the first night in Faro so booked a hotel independently. We travelled to Silves by bus (mistake, should have gone by train) and had just a few minutes walk to the hotel. Our room was really amazing for the price we paid. It was spacious with a huge terrace complete with sun loungers. It had a beautiful view of the castle. The fittings and decoration are dated but for what we paid we have no complaints. We were on a bed and breakfast deal which was fine, just the usual bread, cheese, ham etc. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel nor did many other guests. We only saw one other couple eating in the hotel restaurant in the evening.
The hotel is in a great position for exploring Silves. It takes ten minutes to walk across a bridge into town where there are lots of bars restaurants and shops.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights at the hotel. It was quiet and very clean with a calm atmosphere. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DingleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
DEra Guest Customer Friend

Thanks for your review , ii's very imnportant for all profissionals

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks fort your kindly words

We hope see you very soon

Kindest Regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is not really in Silves itself, but rather on a strip of land between the narrow Arade River and Highway N124. It's easy to find if you're driving, but not convenient if you're traveling by bus. The town is up on a hill on the other side of the river. The main reason for staying at this hotel is the terrific view it has of Silves and its castle (lit up at night). Be aware, however, that only the rooms facing the town have this view. The rooms facing the other way, away from the town, have a view of the parking lot and of the highway. The hotel is built on a slope, so the lobby, at street level on the highway side, is actually the third floor. The rooms on the third floor and facing the town are the best ones because they have terrace balconies. The view from the fourth floor rooms is as good, but you get it from your window, not from a terrace.

Room Tip: See my review above. You can't tell by the room number which rooms face the town because each si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgetacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
DEra Guest Customer Friend

Thanks for your review , ii's very imnportant for all profissionals

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks fort your kindly words

We hope see you very soon

Kindest Regards
José Matos
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for six days in May and we enjoyed both Silves and the the hotel. We had stayed here many years earlier and so we knew that we wanted a room with a balcony and a view of the castle. We emailed the hotel in advance to ensure that that we would get this. The room was fine and the balcony large. The room was, as indeed was the entire hotel, a little dated but it is well cared for and clean and tidy. The whole place is really indeed of redecoration and upgrading but then I suppose the prices will have to go up so..... At the moment for what you get it is good value.
Breakfast was pretty average and though the coffee came from a machine it was plentiful hot and quite good. Every member of staff that we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated a short walk from the town and though it is situated on a main road it is set back some was and is quite quiet. The pool, which we did not use is relatively small but looked clean and well maintained.

Silves is a small ordinary town with a lot of local life going on. During the day there are quite a number of visitors to the town and it can be quite "buzz" and fun. In the evenings it was a lot quieter. Lots of restaurants offer "dish of the day" at very reasonable prices.

We were there for a quiet week just reading relaxing and doing nothing. However there is an excellent Tourist Information Office opposite the "bus station" on the banks of the river. There are buses to the other nearby towns.

So would I stay in this hotel again - absolutely, gladly. It is not the height of luxury by any means but it is comfortable clean and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and castle view - this is also the side furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for you choice for Hotel Colina dos Mouros

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly bordas reghard to our complex

Thanks and i hope see you in the near future

kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The views from the hotel were amazing at night with the sprinkling of the town and castle lights and of course in the day under the brilliance of the sunlight. Hotel staff were helpful and no one was more helpful than the lady in the bus company booking office. we did not hire a car but travelled around on the local buses. A day trip to Lisbon was too brief but a day in Lagos and ideal. We are not keen on beach holidays and this is no good for those who love to lay on the beach, the pool was always very cool....cold really. The only downfall was the beds, so hard and creaking every time you turned over but strangely some nights it made no noise at all, we could not work out the difference. There was always plenty of hot water no matter what time of day you showered and it never went cold while in the shower. If we went again we would bay a travel card, did not find out about them till we were leaving and of course learn more of the language!

Room Tip: The walls are thin so ask for an end of corridor if possible, rear facing rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for you choice for Hotel Colina dos Mouros
Sorry for any inconvenience caused
With regard to your comments I will work right now and change the situation I will see the room you have stay.

Thanks and i hope see you in the near future

kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. The weather wasn't very kind - wet and cool, but we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a good value choice - the cost to us was £55 for 3 nights B&B! Our room was fairly basic - very small old fashioned portable tv, but otherwise fine and clean. We had a room overlooking the town, which was particularly lovely at night when the town was lit up. The town is just across the river - we were there in November and it was very quiet, but I imagine it would have a very different feel in the height of summer. The castle was worth a visit for the views of the surrounding area. We ate at Kazy restaurant every night - my husband is veggie so doesn't like the piri piri chicken served at almost every restaurant. Kazy also served pizza and pasta. We visited the Stork's Nest bar to use the free wifi. The staff were very friendly - an Irish brother and sister.

Room Tip: It would be worth asking for a room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EriskaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinaHotels, Gerente at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thankyou for your preference And coment.
In the name of all Staff we hope see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
20.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
9.2 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
14.7 mi away
Montemar
Montemar
#38 of 50 in Lagos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina dos Mouros

Property: Colina dos Mouros
Address: Pocinho Santo, Silves, Silves 8300, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina dos Mouros 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colina dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Dos Mouros Hotel Silves
Colina Dos Mouros Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing