We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa das Oliveiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa das Oliveiras
Ranked #4 of 13 Silves B&B and Inns
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here in early November. The guest house is in a fine location and the accommodation and attention from Bill could not have been better. It is really excellent. Three nights were not enough to enjoy the area. You need to hire a car to be able to get there and get around

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYMR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

It was a perfect choice for a relaxing week away with our one year old son. Bill and Isa are wonderful hosts, giving you as much help and information as you need. A cot and highchair were provided and our son was made to feel just as welcome as we were. I would highly recommend staying here for a quiet break away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klh_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Das Oliveiras, a modern, exceptionally clean home in a quiet, rural setting, with a lovely pool and large terrace. Located near Silves, it was the perfect location to explore the Algarve region. Bill and Isa, our hosts, were friendly and welcoming, making us feel right at home. Bill gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and local sight seeing. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, a variety of breads, juice and coffee, and was served each morning on the terrace, something we especially enjoyed. Numerous swimming beaches and the extraordinary ocean cliffs were within easy driving distance. We’d heartily recommend this lovely, quiet B&B which was also an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanandElaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

If you're looking for a relaxing break for a weekend or even a week, this is the perfect base camp to explore the Algarve from. We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. Advantages are: Its within 5 minutes drive of the main east-west route of the Algarve, so its easy to get to the west coast and explore its wild beaches; Its very close to the south coast with its typically sheltered 'cove' beaches; The eastern algarve, the airport and spain is close by; and finally the ancient town of Silves 5 minutes away with very good places to eat out and plenty of culture to see.
The B&B is quiet and relaxing and you can come and go as you please. Relaxing by the pool and having breakfast outside in the morning was very nice. Its also possible to make your own light lunch or evening meal in the mini kitchen. You will be made welcome and well cared for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have just spent seven nights in this amazing house. Casa Das Oliveiras is owned and managed by Bill and his wife Isa. They are the most welcoming and obliging hosts we have yet to meet. They will gladly offer advice regarding places to visit and recommend fantastic restaurants. The house is situated in a very peaceful rural area. The nearest town Lagoa is four kilometres away . Silves nearby is a beautiful town and there are are a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. Cafe Inglis and Barradas are well worth a visit. We are an older couple and we were impressed that the other guests were all young couples who were so happy to relax in a tranquil atmosphere without the bright lights and attractions some busier places may offer them. The bedrooms were big and airy and some like ours opened out into a large terrace overlooking a very nice pool. Breakfast was served outside at individual tables. Cerals,fruit.yogurts,and orange juice was available for self service and Bill served Tea /coffee etc.,The house and surrounds were spotlessly clean. We would love to return and enjoy all that Casa das oliveiras offered us on our recent visit. Thank You Bill and Isa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights and was impressed with its cleanliness and the warm hospitality. A fine base to explore the Algarve for couples and the photos on their website are very accurate. No AC, but fans are in all the rooms. It really does feel like staying in the heart of the real rural Algarve with friends, away from the tourist traps. Leisurely full breakfast in the mornings, fell asleep each night with the scent of fresh sun-dried laundry from the sheets. Easy 30-45min drive from Faro airport and though you need a car here, it's easy to get to Silves or Lagoa or most of the beautiful beaches in Algarve from here. Bill and his wife, the owners, are truly gracious and genuine hosts and you will be in very good hands.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neconoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed getting away from the major tourist cetnres. While it is rurally situated, it is within easy driving to Silves, Logoa, Porches and the coast with its magnificent beaches. It was a great spot from which to do some exploring of the area by car. The hosts were great and very informative. The breakfast was all we could wish for. We were there during an exceptionally hot period and the small room was uncomfortably hot, especially on our first night. I think the other rooms with their doors to the patios that could be left open would have been preferrable. Great pool to swim in after a day of exploring the region.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecraighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
2.8 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta dos Cavalos
Quinta dos Cavalos
#5 of 13 in Silves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residencial Vila Sodre
Residencial Vila Sodre
#7 of 13 in Silves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Gato Preto de Silves
Gato Preto de Silves
#2 of 13 in Silves
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quinta da Mesquita
Quinta da Mesquita
#11 of 13 in Silves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quinta Tapada do Gramacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Oliveiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Oliveiras

Property: Casa das Oliveiras
Address: Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Oliveiras is a family-run guesthouse, licensed by the Municipality of Silves, located in a quiet rural setting, but only 8 km from the coast. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge/breakfast room and a small kitchen corner. In addition there is a large terrace and pool, good parking, and good wheelchair access. Our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, and excellent, friendly service. Rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Das Oliveiras Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing