We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place”
Review of Casa das Oliveiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa das Oliveiras
Ranked #4 of 13 Silves B&B and Inns
Derry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delightful place”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We only stayed one night so opted for the small room, which offered good value. The hosts were very friendly, and their local knowledge greatly appreciated. The small kitchen was handy to make tea in the evening, and a lovely breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have recently spent 2 nights at Casa das Oliviras and found it to be a lovely place to stay. The situation is delightful amid orange groves and the terrace and pool are most welcome on hot sunny afternoons. We also liked being able to use the small kitchen to make snacks and drinks.
Bill and his wife are so friendly and helpful and have lots of local knowledge. We had 2 great meals out in Silves at restaurants recommended by Bill which didn't break the bank.
Breakfast was very good with lovely bread rolls, good coffee, fruit and cheese and was served on the terrace where we could hear and see the local birdlife.
We slept well and although there was no air con in our room it didn't matter because we could leave our window open but with the flyscreen closed and we were cool and not bothered by insects.
I was surprised to both hear and see the autoroute from the terrace but it is a good distance away and doesn't really detract from the peaceful ambience of des Oliveiras. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: The larger double rooms are good value and some open on to the terrace. The smaller, cheaper double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This B&B was lovely - our hosts were very welcoming, the house was nice and our room was great. Location is good too (if you have a car) - easy to get into town for dinner and a bit of sightseeing. Feels a bit off the beaten track which is nice too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_H_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have just returned from a perfect week at Casa das Oliveiras. Handy for the good selection of restaurants in Silves it is a peaceful place to relax and a great base for exploring. As has already been said in the other reviews, Bill's kind manner and local knowledge really make you feel you are staying with friends almost straight away. Beaches are a short drive away if that is what you want, but at the end of the day you can just relax in the peaceful surroundings.

The room was large, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space (and hangers). A good shower and a huge bed, everything spotlessly clean. It is difficult to fault.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

A short distance from Silves, just enough to take you in the country side and not too much to make a meal out or drive to the beach impossible. The hosts are attentive to each guest in a very simple and kind way, very knowledgeable of the surrunding activities and with a piece of advice to each question. The rooms have personality and are both practical and comfortable. Clean, spacious, inviting to further evasion. The house is quiet and the pool area a haven of holiday maker's dream! No hesitation, for couple, family or small groups of friends looking for authenticity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlandineMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here in early November. The guest house is in a fine location and the accommodation and attention from Bill could not have been better. It is really excellent. Three nights were not enough to enjoy the area. You need to hire a car to be able to get there and get around

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYMR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

It was a perfect choice for a relaxing week away with our one year old son. Bill and Isa are wonderful hosts, giving you as much help and information as you need. A cot and highchair were provided and our son was made to feel just as welcome as we were. I would highly recommend staying here for a quiet break away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klh_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
2.8 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
266 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residencial Vila Sodre
Residencial Vila Sodre
#7 of 13 in Silves
21 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gato Preto de Silves
Gato Preto de Silves
#2 of 13 in Silves
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vale d'El Rei Resort
1.4 mi away
Quinta dos Cavalos
Quinta dos Cavalos
#5 of 13 in Silves
12 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quinta da Mesquita
Quinta da Mesquita
#10 of 13 in Silves
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Oliveiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Oliveiras

Property: Casa das Oliveiras
Address: Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Oliveiras is a family-run guesthouse, licensed by the Municipality of Silves, located in a quiet rural setting, but only 8 km from the coast. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge/breakfast room and a small kitchen corner. In addition there is a large terrace and pool, good parking, and good wheelchair access. Our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, and excellent, friendly service. Rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Das Oliveiras Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing