We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very good place to stay”
Review of Casa das Oliveiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa das Oliveiras
Ranked #4 of 13 Silves B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had an excellent few days at Casa das Oliveiras. If you want a peaceful and very beautiful little hideaway, then this a good place to stay. This B&B is off the beaten track but the directions for getting there are very good and straightforward. You need a car to get to places, but we had no difficulty driving into Silves each day - it only takes a few minutes. The owners [a British and Angolan couple] are hospitable and attentive with an excellent knowledge of the local area - all their recommendations for restaurants and where to go were spot on. We loved our room. It was not air-conditioned but felt cool, even in the heat of early September, and the fan was efficient and silent at night. The en-suite was as spotless as the room and we were provided with chilled mineral water every night. The patio area is beautiful, with a couple of shady olive trees to keep you out of the sun if you want to be - and there are recliners and chairs for everybody. The swimming pool was spotless. Breakfast was served outside our room each morning - cereals, fruit juice, fresh bread, cheese and preserves and excellent tea and coffee. Silves is a stunning Moorish town built on a hill - one of the most remarkable places to visit in the Algarve with superb inexpensive restaurants. We are crazy about Portugal and this was a gem of a find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilolwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Casa das Oliveiras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at Casa das Oliveiras for a few days in July 2012. On the countryside, - but near beaches, good restaurants and typical villages of Algarve , you've got it all! Bill and Isa, the couple running the place, they're just so nice! Bill's knowledge about the area, his helpfulness,- Isa's smile, her kindness, and her coffe in the morning...,a visit here, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed three nights at this guest house, on a trip to Portugal from New Zealand, and were warmly welcomed by Bill and Isa. We had a large room with our own little terrace and a huge shower in the bathroom, which was a welcome change. The hosts are really wonderful and very knowledgeable about places to visit, restaurants etc. Breakfast was included in the price and there was always plenty to eat. The added bonus of a little guest kitchen was great, as it is a 6km drive to Silves village, and as the weather was not great, we did cook two of the nights, which was really nice and rare thing to be able to do on a three month trip to Europe. Lovely people, quiet and comfortable surroundings and a nice part of the Algarve from which to do day trips. We would definitely stay again if we were ever in the Algarve. Sadly we couldn't make use of the pool as the weather was cold and wet almost the whole time we were there, but it would be a great bonus in the summer.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which is apparently one of the larger rooms, with its own terrace. Very comfortable a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We only stayed one night so opted for the small room, which offered good value. The hosts were very friendly, and their local knowledge greatly appreciated. The small kitchen was handy to make tea in the evening, and a lovely breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have recently spent 2 nights at Casa das Oliviras and found it to be a lovely place to stay. The situation is delightful amid orange groves and the terrace and pool are most welcome on hot sunny afternoons. We also liked being able to use the small kitchen to make snacks and drinks.
Bill and his wife are so friendly and helpful and have lots of local knowledge. We had 2 great meals out in Silves at restaurants recommended by Bill which didn't break the bank.
Breakfast was very good with lovely bread rolls, good coffee, fruit and cheese and was served on the terrace where we could hear and see the local birdlife.
We slept well and although there was no air con in our room it didn't matter because we could leave our window open but with the flyscreen closed and we were cool and not bothered by insects.
I was surprised to both hear and see the autoroute from the terrace but it is a good distance away and doesn't really detract from the peaceful ambience of des Oliveiras. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: The larger double rooms are good value and some open on to the terrace. The smaller, cheaper double...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This B&B was lovely - our hosts were very welcoming, the house was nice and our room was great. Location is good too (if you have a car) - easy to get into town for dinner and a bit of sightseeing. Feels a bit off the beaten track which is nice too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_and_H_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have just returned from a perfect week at Casa das Oliveiras. Handy for the good selection of restaurants in Silves it is a peaceful place to relax and a great base for exploring. As has already been said in the other reviews, Bill's kind manner and local knowledge really make you feel you are staying with friends almost straight away. Beaches are a short drive away if that is what you want, but at the end of the day you can just relax in the peaceful surroundings.

The room was large, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space (and hangers). A good shower and a huge bed, everything spotlessly clean. It is difficult to fault.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
2.8 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
296 reviews
5.5 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
4.5 mi away
Gato Preto de Silves
Gato Preto de Silves
#2 of 13 in Silves
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quinta dos Cavalos
Quinta dos Cavalos
#5 of 13 in Silves
18 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residencial Vila Sodre
Residencial Vila Sodre
#6 of 13 in Silves
26 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quinta do Rio Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Oliveiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Oliveiras

Address: Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range: £28 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Oliveiras is a family-run guesthouse, licensed by the Municipality of Silves, located in a quiet rural setting, but only 8 km from the coast. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge/breakfast room and a small kitchen corner. In addition there is a large terrace and pool, good parking, and good wheelchair access. Our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, and excellent, friendly service. Rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Das Oliveiras Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing