We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best guesthouses I've ever stayed in”
Review of Duas Quintas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duas Quintas
Ranked #1 of 12 Silves B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Quite simply lovely. And I see I'm not the only one who thinks so! Beautiful location in the Algarve countryside, but close to the fort town of Silves. Comfortable amenities in the rooms, gorgeous (quiet) pool, and delicious breakfasts all for amazingly good value. Mary and Les are the perfect hosts: they went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible - recommending restaurants, lending us mosquito bite cream (don't worry - there aren't loads of mosquitoes - we'd been bitten at the place we stayed before!), helping us do our laundry, showing us great places to visit in guidebooks... You name it.

I've never written a review on Trip Advisor before, but this experience was so wonderful I felt compelled to tell the world! I will be back to Duas Quintas next year :-)

Room Tip: One side of the farmhouse gets the sunrise; the other sunset. Depending on whether you're a morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

So much has been said already that I can only echo the sentiments already expressed so clearly by so many already. The whole experience from start to finish was pleasant and relaxing; the rooms well equipped and clean, nice pool with honesty bar, set in a quiet and rural location, seemingly light years from the beer guts and yobs in Albufeira. But what made it a great experience were our two hosts Mary and Les, who from start to finish tended to our every need and assisted us in every way. A thoroughly deserved 5 stars from us, thank you guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I travelled with my mother and 11 year old son to the Algarve for the first time in July. We arrived at Faro driving directly to DUAS QUINTAS. We were so pleased to have found this amazing B&B, away from the crowds. A peaceful haven. Our hosts Mary and Les were wonderful, they were helpful and always available for hints and tips on what to do but never intrusive, just letting you enjoy their home. On our arrival we were shown our room and offered hospitality – a wonderful restorative pot of tea and delicious cake, an excellent start to our holiday!!.We stayed twice … we loved it so much …returning after a week’s travelling. The restored barns are simply and impeccably decorated with all the facilities you require, plenty of towels and bathroom essentials, plus a kettle and good hairdryer! There is a patio area for each room with table and chairs as well. I must not forget the free Wi-Fi so important to an 11 year old and anyone wanting to keep in touch with home. The pool is sparkling clean with plenty of seating and umbrellas for that essential shade from the glorious sun and there is an “honesty” fridge full of cooling drinks. To simply chill out of the sun there is a central sitting room for guests with a fridge for guests use, plus plenty of travel books and a large TV. During our two stays we had one of the rooms at the back and a room at the front of the property, it does not matter which room you are located in because all the accommodation is wonderful. Breakfasts are delicious and there is plenty of choice. We all enjoyed the surprise dish of the morning, taking away a few tips for quick meals at home. I particularly enjoyed the warm goats cheese and pear wrapped in bacon. Mary and Les also recommended two restaurants, the local very unpretentious restaurant A Rainha (5 mins drive, 15 mins walk) which had the very best fresh fish we had all holiday, the owner personally selects the fish each day. In Silves if you like shell fish try Rui Marisqueira, family restaurant very busy with wonderful shell fish and great place to people watch. We plan to return in the future as a family and share our wonderful experience with my husband. I cannot recommend this B&B more highly. Thank you, Mary and Les for two memorable stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMAUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in Duas Quintas for two nights in mid July. There is not that much i can add to the existing reviews, except to repeat that this is a wonderful place that hits all the right notes.

The location a little outside of Silves is beautiful, and the building and the facilities give a very homey feel. The rooms are decorated simply, are very comfortable and spacious, and kept immaculately clean. In fact, I felt that Duas Quintas was the rare occasion where the photos on the website did not do justice to the real thing.

The breakfast was wonderful, always with fresh and local ingredients.

Last but not least, Mary and Les were wonderful hosts, and gave us great ideas for exploring the region.

The overall experience was wonderful, and left us with a desire to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sputnikalgarve, Owner at Duas Quintas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for all your kind comments about Duas Quintas. It is important to us to know that you were happy with your experience at Duas Quintas. We would love to see you back for a longer stay sometime.
Les and Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We hadn't stayed in a B and B in Portugual before, but opted for one for a spur of the moment short budget break. Duas Quintas far exceeded our expectations. The delightful owners had thought of everything - even a barbecue area so guests could cook in the evenings, with crockery and cutlery provided. Duas Quintas also has a large pool, ideal for cooling off in after a day exploring the charming towns of the Algarve. The breakfasts were excellent and the hosts helpful and full of useful tips on a part of Portugal they know extremely well. There is a good local restaurant 20 minutes walk away, so guests not wishing to drive in the evening can still enjoy dinner out. We shall certainly return next time we are in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sputnikalgarve, Owner at Duas Quintas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for all your positive comments. It is a big encouragement to us to know that our guests are happy here and to think we met and exceeded your expectatins is great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Once upon a time, we stated that we would never visit one place two times in a row…
But we did!
One year after our first visit to Duas Quintas, we did come back in July 2013.
It felt as coming home.
The welcome of Mary and Les was heart-warming. They are always there for some help, advice, or a small attention. The breakfast certainly exceeds the ones we previously got in five star-hotels: home-made cakes, fresh orange juice and fresh-made breakfast snacks every morning.
The environment is lovely, away from the touristic part of the Algarve, but still close to many nice places to visit. The gardens are spacious and just beautiful, with a swimming pool useful to cool down of to relax.
We stayed two times in the studio with our two kids. The studio is well-equiped and covers enough space to house a family. We even got some toys to animate our two boys (3 and 5!)
A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Els&Amedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sputnikalgarve, Owner at Duas Quintas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We enjoyed seeing you back and seeing how the children have grown up since last year. Its great to be part of a family holiday experience and we enjoy being able to help out when we can. Our best wishes to you all.
Les and Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were recommended this Quinta by friends in Canada. We booked from Canada directly and they waved the deposit as we didn't have a European bank account. We were staying one night on the first leg of a tour of Spain and Portugal and they recommended sights to see along the coast, including a fantastic walk along the cliffs above small coves and beaches. The room was clean and spacious and the the service was impeccable. They chatted to us and provided all sorts of interesting local knowledge. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
3.4 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gato Preto de Silves
Gato Preto de Silves
#2 of 12 in Silves
63 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residencial Vila Sodre
Residencial Vila Sodre
#6 of 12 in Silves
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
O Castelo Guest House
O Castelo Guest House
#1 of 9 in Carvoeiro
207 reviews
19.6 mi away
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
12.2 mi away
Vilafoia
Vilafoia
#1 of 10 in Monchique
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Quintas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Quintas

Address: Santo Estevao | C.p. 607, Silves 8300-047, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful renovated farmhouse, registered as Alojamento Local,22793 AL, with many traditional features. All rooms en-suite, hair dryers,tea and coffee making facilities, relaxing outdoor seating area. Air conditioning at small extra charge. Free WiFi. Bedrooms are non smoking. Excellent home cooked breakfast. Home made bread, cakes, preserves and fresh fruit from the garden when in season. Beautiful gardens with large pool. The garden has lots of character with many secluded spots to make into your on private relaxation area. Duas Quintas guesthouse is surrounded by 15 acres of orange trees. The whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. Central location for touring the Algarve. Excellent walking area.Information on walking routes provided for guests. All inclusive walking holidays available October to May. Friendly, well informed hosts. Our aim is to give you a wonderful holiday.The guesthouse is located in central Algarve and so is ideal for touring the whole of the Algarve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duas Quintas Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing