We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Duas Quintas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duas Quintas
Ranked #1 of 13 Silves B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I can't add a great deal to what everyone else has written except to agree with it all. Les & Mary's home - Duas Quintas - is simply wonderful, as are the hosts and their help (not forgetting Sacha of course!) We thoroughly enjoyed our peaceful, relaxing holiday in the studio - which allowed us to try all the wonderful local produce on offer in the area. Les & Mary work hard to ensure that the whole Quinta, gardens and pool, are kept in immaculate condition - the attention to detail was not lost on us - it was a real pleasure to stay there - so much so, we've already booked for 2014! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and immaculately clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Every box was ticked!

Breakfast was excellent and made even more special with a surprise dish home cooked by Mary every morning! Mary's homemade cake was also a favourite!

The room was also brilliant. Spacious, clean, optional a/c, en suite and not too far to hop skip and jump to the pool/ garden/ kitchen/ tv room. Clean sheets and towels everyday!

Without realising we were located in the centre of a walkers paradise! Both Les and Mary filled us with info on not only walks but restaurants, beaches, and the local village, Silves! Their info was invaluable and they were never too far away to ask for advice!
We found the best food was in Cafe Ingles at the top of the wide steps adjacent to the medieval castle! The pizzas are special! Piri Piri chicken restaurant was also special!

We had hired a car from Faro airport and it took us under an hour to go directly to Duas Quintas- again aided by directions previously emailed to us by Mary! we found the car invaluable- 15 minutes and we had the choice of any beach in the algarve! We also travelled to the west coast which took about an hour!

Overall we could not fault this B and B! We will be back!

Many thanks to Les and Mary! From Michael and Joanna!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We loved our stay at Duas Quintas. Mary and Les are gracious and helpful hosts with plenty ideas of what to do in the area. We also loved the location, close enough to really beautiful Algarve attractions and the quaint town of Silves, but removed from the high-tourist chaos of Lagos etc. We'd recommend it highly to anyone- very economical and all around a lovely stay. Plus, Sasha, the property's black lab, is pretty darn cute and friendly....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Quite simply lovely. And I see I'm not the only one who thinks so! Beautiful location in the Algarve countryside, but close to the fort town of Silves. Comfortable amenities in the rooms, gorgeous (quiet) pool, and delicious breakfasts all for amazingly good value. Mary and Les are the perfect hosts: they went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible - recommending restaurants, lending us mosquito bite cream (don't worry - there aren't loads of mosquitoes - we'd been bitten at the place we stayed before!), helping us do our laundry, showing us great places to visit in guidebooks... You name it.

I've never written a review on Trip Advisor before, but this experience was so wonderful I felt compelled to tell the world! I will be back to Duas Quintas next year :-)

Room Tip: One side of the farmhouse gets the sunrise; the other sunset. Depending on whether you're a morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

So much has been said already that I can only echo the sentiments already expressed so clearly by so many already. The whole experience from start to finish was pleasant and relaxing; the rooms well equipped and clean, nice pool with honesty bar, set in a quiet and rural location, seemingly light years from the beer guts and yobs in Albufeira. But what made it a great experience were our two hosts Mary and Les, who from start to finish tended to our every need and assisted us in every way. A thoroughly deserved 5 stars from us, thank you guys!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I travelled with my mother and 11 year old son to the Algarve for the first time in July. We arrived at Faro driving directly to DUAS QUINTAS. We were so pleased to have found this amazing B&B, away from the crowds. A peaceful haven. Our hosts Mary and Les were wonderful, they were helpful and always available for hints and tips on what to do but never intrusive, just letting you enjoy their home. On our arrival we were shown our room and offered hospitality – a wonderful restorative pot of tea and delicious cake, an excellent start to our holiday!!.We stayed twice … we loved it so much …returning after a week’s travelling. The restored barns are simply and impeccably decorated with all the facilities you require, plenty of towels and bathroom essentials, plus a kettle and good hairdryer! There is a patio area for each room with table and chairs as well. I must not forget the free Wi-Fi so important to an 11 year old and anyone wanting to keep in touch with home. The pool is sparkling clean with plenty of seating and umbrellas for that essential shade from the glorious sun and there is an “honesty” fridge full of cooling drinks. To simply chill out of the sun there is a central sitting room for guests with a fridge for guests use, plus plenty of travel books and a large TV. During our two stays we had one of the rooms at the back and a room at the front of the property, it does not matter which room you are located in because all the accommodation is wonderful. Breakfasts are delicious and there is plenty of choice. We all enjoyed the surprise dish of the morning, taking away a few tips for quick meals at home. I particularly enjoyed the warm goats cheese and pear wrapped in bacon. Mary and Les also recommended two restaurants, the local very unpretentious restaurant A Rainha (5 mins drive, 15 mins walk) which had the very best fresh fish we had all holiday, the owner personally selects the fish each day. In Silves if you like shell fish try Rui Marisqueira, family restaurant very busy with wonderful shell fish and great place to people watch. We plan to return in the future as a family and share our wonderful experience with my husband. I cannot recommend this B&B more highly. Thank you, Mary and Les for two memorable stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMAUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in Duas Quintas for two nights in mid July. There is not that much i can add to the existing reviews, except to repeat that this is a wonderful place that hits all the right notes.

The location a little outside of Silves is beautiful, and the building and the facilities give a very homey feel. The rooms are decorated simply, are very comfortable and spacious, and kept immaculately clean. In fact, I felt that Duas Quintas was the rare occasion where the photos on the website did not do justice to the real thing.

The breakfast was wonderful, always with fresh and local ingredients.

Last but not least, Mary and Les were wonderful hosts, and gave us great ideas for exploring the region.

The overall experience was wonderful, and left us with a desire to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sputnikalgarve, Owner at Duas Quintas, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments about Duas Quintas. It is important to us to know that you were happy with your experience at Duas Quintas. We would love to see you back for a longer stay sometime.
Les and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
3.4 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 30 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gato Preto de Silves
Gato Preto de Silves
#2 of 13 in Silves
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
9.7 mi away
O Castelo Guest House
O Castelo Guest House
#1 of 9 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Quintas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Quintas

Property: Duas Quintas
Address: Santo Estevao | c.p. 607, Silves 8300-047, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful renovated farmhouse, registered as Alojamento Local,22793 AL, with many traditional features. All rooms en-suite, hair dryers,tea and coffee making facilities, relaxing outdoor seating area. Air conditioning at small extra charge. Free WiFi. Bedrooms are non smoking. Excellent home cooked breakfast. Home made bread, cakes, preserves and fresh fruit from the garden when in season. Beautiful gardens with large pool. The garden has lots of character with many secluded spots to make into your on private relaxation area. Duas Quintas guesthouse is surrounded by 15 acres of orange trees. The whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. Central location for touring the Algarve. Excellent walking area.Information on walking routes provided for guests. All inclusive walking holidays available October to May. Friendly, well informed hosts. Our aim is to give you a wonderful holiday.The guesthouse is located in central Algarve and so is ideal for touring the whole of the Algarve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duas Quintas Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing