We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great view and good location- restaurant poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Horta
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great view and good location- restaurant poor service”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is nice and has a friendly atmosphere. Staff in the reception is very nice and helpfull. Rooms facing the harbor is very nice with balcony. Nice pool both outside and inside. Very calm at least in Easter when we where here. Our kids loved the pool that they could have all by them selves. Mostly retired people in the hotel during Easter.

Restaurant has nice view but quite boring meny. You really expect more fish on the meny on an island. Staff is tired and clearly shows this. Breakfast is ok with great scrambled eggs- not over done as in many hotels. Again problem with the staff that looks like they are in a prison- never smiling.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the sea. No internet in the rooms- only in lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    116
    68
    19
    9
See reviews for
47
137
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a comfortable room looking over the hotel grounds to town, a hill and a bit of sea view. Due to rain, we were unable to make much use of balcony...
We were with a group and buffet dinner was included in our arrangements. I found the food to be bland but it was certainly plentiful. Usually a soup, a meat dish and a fish dish plus vegetables and potatoes and a huge selection of salads. The lack of seasoning, herbs and spices meant that everything tasted much the same. ( I was craving Indian curry by the end of this holiday!)
Buffets seemed common in Azorean hotels, I don't recommend them at all.
Breakfasts were usually ok but one day I asked for more bread to be brought for toasting - I was told there was none.
There was a nice view across to Mt Pico from the dining room.
Free wifi in lobby and bar.
Two swimming pools. We used the outdoor one and it was lovely.
It was a very short walk to shops and bars, 3 or 4 minutes, down steps.
Due to the weather, we were unable to leave the island as planned and the airline sent a coachload of us back to this hotel to spend the night. I was very impressed by the hotel staff's efficient response to a coachload of people arriving en masse at reception. We were all despatched to our rooms very quickly and with good humour. I suspect that the hotel has a lot of experience at dealing with people trapped on the island by the winds!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Lovely view from terrace, towards Pico. Some areas of hotel, including carpets, were past their best. Bedroom/bathroom could have been cleaner. However, room was comfortable. Computers for public access weren't working during our stay. Dinners were edible. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry4Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Excellent five nights at this hotel - sea view room with fantastic view across the harbour to Pico. Comfortable well appointed room with own balcony perfect for a sundowner before dinner. Good location and steps take you straight into the centre of Horta. Very good facilities and everywhere clean and well tended. Buffet style breakfast was adequate. No hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmain57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Between the first and second sunday in august, Faial celebrates the festival of the sea. Bustle.
We stayed in a room with ocean view. View on the marina, ocean and Pico. It is a fantastic hotel. Walls are thick. If you want to, you can eat your breakfast outside, in the sun, magnificent view.
The coffee is terrible (nescafé). We did not use the buffet in the hotel. Not cosy.Had our diner in Apeda (Avenida 25 do Abril; adjacent to the marina, 5 min walk from the hotel) Delicious. Fish stew. Rock fish. Wreck fish.
There are 6 companies that offer whale watch trips. Peter Zee uses a big boat (toilet on board) the other 5 use a zodiac (more spectacular). Peter Zee's trip is rather short. Norbetodiver is the best. We saw a sperm whale. Got a pic from his tail.

Room Tip: room in the main building with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for 4 days during a trip to the Azores in 2012. This resort is very nice, divided into multiple small "house-like" premises with 10-20 rooms each. The resort has two swimming pools, gym and jacuzzi operating during daytime. The room was nice and clean, with A/C and minimar. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The location is great, just few steps from the marina of Horta, with a beautiful view on Pico island from the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
The main building had free internet connection. However, the signal was too poor to be used from our room, and we had to sit outside to get connected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esposende, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights last July.
The good:
- excellent location, within walking distance of everything in Horta
- amazing room view with Pico island just in front of us - simply breathtaking!
- wonderful staff, alwayswith a smile and ready to help
- nice pool with great view
The bad:
- the hotel is getting old and they seem not to do very much to help it: the exterior is decadent and the rooms are showing alarming signs of aging
- breakfast without many options to choose from
- we had half-board and dinner was served as a buffet: for our surprise, in one of them for main course we could only choose fish - not what one can expect from a buffet

In general, a nice hotel but definitely not as good as they rate it and not as good as the price would make us think.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building facing Horta marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bracarense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 6 in Horta
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
215 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel

Property: Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Dabney, Horta, Faial Island 9901-856, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayal Hotel Horta
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel Horta, Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing