We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Horta
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“superb setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed both in one of the old style houses set round a courtyard, and the second stay was in a sea facing room which the views were to die for. The staff were very accommodation, nothing was too much trouble, and a large plate of chips/fries was just £1, great value for money.
The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, from fruit salads, to bacon, scrambled eggs, jams, and lots of different rolls, breads and meats. It was a wonderful stay, gorgeous weather and fantastic views from the balcony at breakfast time over to the island of pico.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room to get lovely views of the marina and the island of pico
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    100
    63
    19
    9
See reviews for
42
120
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is in a superb position. Very central. Easy walk to Marina. All public areas are first class. Restaurant food for breakfast and dinner was fine with plenty of choice. Staff were very helpful. This hotel has a beautiful swimming pool with wonderful views over Pico island.
The hotel is quite old but has been updated well. Our room was a garden room, in a villa in the grounds. We liked the building but room was a bit tired and in need of updating. Air con was not very good. Some rooms have a mini bar but ours didn't. Would have been useful. Our previous 3 star hotel on Pico had one in all bedrooms. Would stay at this hotel again but would request a better room! Why do hotels never provide a power point near a mirror?

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building overlooking Pico island and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel location is good and the staff are friendly. The balcony rooms have excellent views and the rooms are big. However, there are some flaws that need to be addressed urgently, I'll try and keep this constructive:
The air con is non-functional and its quite clear from their faces that they know this and they will send a maintenance man to your room just to go through the motions. In August expect 25 C and 90% humidity in your room.
The rooms need re-decorating, the carpets are really bad (stained, mouldy and torn).
The mini bar had some of the drinks inside opened when we arrived ?!
Smaller problems are:
Male staff have bad BO, if your lucky you won't have to share a lift with one. Bacon at breakfast has rind on (why?) and requires dissecting to be able to chew it. The walk to the town is a 50m steep climb so watch out if your elderly or not sure on your feet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre5000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horta hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel from our morning flight at 09:30 and checked in, only to be told that the room would not be available until 14:30 - that left us with 5 hours to fill, on foot, in Horta. We had coffees and walks (walking10 miles around Horta is a bit of a feet!) until the appointed time, when we checked in.

Oh how we rejoiced with our check in our luck. We had managed to win a room in one of the 'garden houses', which sounds pretty good. What it really means is that you have a poky room with a crap view of another garden house and have to tramp across the garden area to the main hotel every time you need to go there. The tramping about would have not been a chore had the weather been clement, which it wasn't.

Our first day was spent wandering aimlessly around Horta, checking in, unpacking and going for an evening meal, not at the hotel, but was very nice.

Breakfast on day 2 was, at best, adequate. We managed to pack away enough calories for a day of walking. However, personal hygiene was compromised by a complete lack of water, both hot and cold, immediately after breakfast. Some fellow travellers were decidedly unimpressed by this. Luckily, we had done our ablutions before breakfast, so were nice and fresh :)

Day 3 was the day we departed and was rather annoying. We arose earlier than normal and packed our bags, then went down for our second average breakfast. On returning to the dismal room, we completed our bag packing and prepared to check out. However, the telescopic handle of my wifes bag would not come out of its stowage position. Much tugging and swearing later saw it grind out. The handle had been bent and shoved back into the stowed position by the porter when the bags were transported to our rooms. Oooh I was furious, quite furious. The beggars hadn't bothered to tell us that they had damaged the baggage and appeared to be quite uninterested when we reported this to reception. I was asked to leave my e-mail address for the management to conact me later; they haven't :(

The poor rating I have given this hotel is better than it deserves, but 'terrible' is too bad.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a 'garden room' or you will be housed in a drab and dreary room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel wasn't very new or exclusive, but I enjoyed my stay here. It has a very nice view across the channel (you can see Pico). It has a good location in the centre of Horta! We returned to this hotel (when our flight to Flores was cancelled) and we got another room in one of the loose buildings. They told us we first were in an executive room (in the main building) and the second time we were in a standard room. Paradoxically, the standard room in one of the loose buildings was a lot nicer (we were in the building 'Sao Jorge'). This room obviously was recently renewed whereas the one before looked really dated. In the first room we had internet in the room though, this wasn't the case in the second one, there you had to go to the lobby. Still the second room was, I thought, clearly better! The food is alright but not really good. The folklore buffet wasn't good either I thought, although they tried their best. In Horta it was (again, as in a lot of places in the Azores) hard to find a good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very friendly people, the facility is getting old, but everything was clean. Nice swimming pool. Good parking place. Directly in the center of Horta, very comfortable for an evening-walk. Breakfast + dinner were ok, but could be better for a 4 *
Amazing view over the city and the mountain Pico !!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erik1967_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is nice and has a friendly atmosphere. Staff in the reception is very nice and helpfull. Rooms facing the harbor is very nice with balcony. Nice pool both outside and inside. Very calm at least in Easter when we where here. Our kids loved the pool that they could have all by them selves. Mostly retired people in the hotel during Easter.

Restaurant has nice view but quite boring meny. You really expect more fish on the meny on an island. Staff is tired and clearly shows this. Breakfast is ok with great scrambled eggs- not over done as in many hotels. Again problem with the staff that looks like they are in a prison- never smiling.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the sea. No internet in the rooms- only in lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
5.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel

Property: Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Dabney, Horta, Faial Island 9901-856, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayal Hotel Horta
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel Horta, Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing