We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel do Canal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and were more than happy. The hotel is nicely located with an incredible view across the harbor to Pico in the distance, and just a short walk to the nearby beach (do try the little pubs near the beach for a real Azorean feel). The staff is friendly and the hotel is fairly modern with well-appointed rooms. Both WIFI and the in-room safe are complimentary. The breakfast buffet is ample and good, though not exceptional. The Do Canal proved a very good choice indeed, at a reasonable cost. One caution: the restaurants recommended to us at the front desk were perhaps close by, but not the best.

Room Tip: Do try for a harbor view......the view onto Pico is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QCern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We were happy to know that Hotel do Canal was the right choice at Faial Island.
Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor!

Best Regards.

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    196
    34
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
159
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good location overlooking the harbour with the menacing sight of cloud shrouded Pico mountain just over the water.
From the moment of our arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, a pleasant change to some hotels we have recently used.
Our room,overlooking the inner courtyard, was clean and well appointed as was the bathroom.
As we were on a half board basis we ate most of our meals in the hotel. Breakfast was the usual mixture of choice and quite extensive, dinner had a limited choice of main course but there was a certain inventiveness, for example chicken with clams and beef with a white sauce and mushrooms.
All in all a good hotel for the few days we had in horta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyglass291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review with your opinion about Hotel do Canal.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We wish you a great weekend!

Best Regards.

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms are comfortable with good views across the harbour and to Pico. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is superb and extensive.
Wifi is free and hotel also has it's own car park.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Good views of harbour and Mt Pico are on the third floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr. Marc,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again and soon at Hotel do Canal!

On behalf of our staff, we wish you a pleasant weekend.

Best Regards

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel do Canal in Horta for 6 nights in May 2014. In many respects it was better than I had anticipated. It was relatively modern and clean with decent size rooms. My room looked out on to the front so I had a view of part of the harbour and Mount Pico and despite being on the front was not at all noisy. The breakfast (buffet) was passable but far from inspiring so I ended up sticking to fruit with yoghurt and toast each morning. I only ate dinner (buffet again) once in the hotel more out of convenience and tiredness. It was poor and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr. Stuart,

Thank you for posting your review on our Hotel.
We were glad to know that you found our Hotel “Modern, clean and perfectly adequate”.
However, we were very sorry to learn that you were dissapointed with our Restaurant.
Your opinion will help us to improve continuously our services so they can be up to and beyond our guests expectations. Therefore, we will find new ways to avoid similar situations in the future.

Best regards.

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the harbour of Horta. Frontside rooms have a stunning view over the harbour and you can see Pico island. Rooms are very nicely decorated. We had complimentary water, coffee and fruit with friendly regards from the hotel. Breakfast is more than good incl. champagne. The dinercard for eveningdinner is even more exiciting and very tastefull. Ideal location if you like to visited Pico or want to go whalewatching.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RQ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review.
We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel do Canal!

We hope to meet you again.

Best regards.

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Location, location, location...this hotel is conveniently located in front of the little Horta's harbour. Everything is at walking distance (ferry, shops, museums, restaurants, Peter's sport cafe', supermarket...). We spent 7 nights at this hotel and we have not been disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean, with mini-bar and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom is big and spotless. Our room had a wonderful view on Pico (French balcony, if I'm not wrong all rooms have a balcony) and on our arrival we found a bottle of water and two wee cakes waiting for us on the table as a welcome gift...it was a nice surprise!.
The breakfast buffet is pretty good with quite a lot of choices including local cheeses and bread. In the lobby there was always a jug of cold tea available for the guests to drink at no charge (this is nice when you're coming back from a long day walking under the sun ;-)
The staff is great: they booked a car for us and, at the end of the hiring period we just left it in the hotel's car park...quick and easy. Of course there are plenty of parking places free of charges.
There are 2 PCs available in the business centre and you can also print your boarding passes there, just ask the reception. Another plus of this hotel was the jacuzzi: free of charges and very nice...it was really great to have the possibility to relax there after a day spent sightseeing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and its great staff!

Room Tip: if you can get a room with a view on the harbour and Pico, better on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyukkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of our staff, thank you for your review!

Yes...all rooms have a french balcony!

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The location is very convenient, and our room had a stellar view, with a tiny French balcony overlooking the marina and across to Pico. The room was comfortable and included a cozy stuffed chair. There was an electric tea kettle and tea and coffee which was quite welcomed. On our first day we also were given two little cakes and a bottle of water, all complimentary.
The breakfast buffet was large, varied, and plentiful, including a variety of fruits, cheeses, breads, eggs, sausage, bacon, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea, and orange juice. The only negative at this hotel was that there is no free wifi available, not even in the lobby. But even with that, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The elevators always arrived quickly. And for wifi, Peter's Sport Cafe is just a minute up the street, and there is free wifi inside and even outside where you can sit on a wall in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina, if possible. We were on the 3rd floor at the end, so the health cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Canal, Manager at Hotel do Canal, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Meanwhile, regarding the lack of open free WIFI internet in the Room, we are very happy to announce you that, because we take guest feedback very seriously, following your aspirations and other reviews from guests like you, we have decided that, as from 7th April 2014, our WIFI internet is now completely free across all Hotel areas, including the rooms, so, fortunately you won't have this issue again in our hotel or in any other included in the collection.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Best Regards,
Arlene Nazaré
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Canal

Property: Hotel do Canal
Address: Largo Doutor Manuel de Arriaga, Horta, Faial Island 9900-026, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Faial Island, Hotel do Canal is located on the ocean front of Horta, with a breathtaking view over the city bay and Pico mountain. In this boutique hotel, the history of Faial Island permeates the interior design with its nautical motifs of sail boats, hydroplanes and the codfish heritage. Hotel do Canal is your port of call in the Atlantic, your home away from home, where you can relax and enjoy yourself with the support of a friendly professional team, whether you are traveling on business or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel do Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Canal Horta
Hotel Do Canal Horta, Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing