We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The paintings have so many stories behind them”

The Marina of Horta
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Horta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fuerteventura
Level 6 Contributor
866 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“The paintings have so many stories behind them”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

You would not come to the Azores or Faial just to see the Marina of Horta and the paintings by sailors who have docked here. But this is a must see if visiting the island. Wander along the quays and try to think about the great adventures the brave people who made these paintings had, how they gave up jobs and a comfortable life for this once in a lifetime experience to cross or re-cross the Atlantic and how it changed them as people, couples or families. It is nice to see how many people did it as families.

Have a drink after in Peter's cafe - Cafe Sport. Think about how many people were desperate to reach dry land and celebrate with a gin and tonic or humble beer in this famous watering hole

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    147
    34
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viareggio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A must visit promenade”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I am more on the other side of the thing being a mariner and passing by Horta harbour quite often.
Nonetheless I would recommend a walk on this quay to everybody fascinated by sailing and travels by the sea. Its best merit is being a real, spontaneus place. Mariners painted the walls for decades now and it is not uncommon meeting a crew playing with paints, brushes and tape to leave thei sign.

Helpful?
Thank Naturalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“From all over the world...”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

come sailors and sailboats to visit this marina. It is better than any boat show. And you must spend time walking the docks and seeing the "art" created by the crews once they make landfall in the Azores. My favorite piece of art...the drawing of a sailboat with the words IT WAS A HARD TRIP.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We loved the Horta Marina.. Particularly all the sailor's paintings. There's a great array of yachts of all sizes, and it's clear why they choose to dock in Horta! I'd recommend it, but ideally not when a cruise liner docks, and floods the little town with 'cruisers'!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRV160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“After sailing from Antigua - land at last!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Yeh - I'm one of those silly people who sailed across the Atlantic (on Anahita) for fun! So after eighteen days at sea it was great to enter the marina at Horta and walk on dry land again.
Truthfully, I very much enjoyed our five day rest here & we painted a Betty Boo with our names on (Bruce, Bijan, Roseanne & Paul) not for good luck as many people believe but actually to ward off bad luck. We arrived shortly before the end of May and the weather was still cool to say the least. Out of the wind it was quite pleasant but the iciness of the wind could still chill to the bone.
Loved looking round the hundreds of paintings on the walls and walkways was amazing. The atmosphere in the few decent bars also great. And the camaraderie of fellow sailors second to none. Disappointingly (for Paul at least) the women were among the ugliest I've ever come across and must clearly have been the end result of years of interbreeding!
Anyway, been there & ticked the box. Unsure why anyone would travel here unless doing a trans-Atlantic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marina of Horta also viewed

Horta, Faial Island
Faial Island, Azores
 

Been to The Marina of Horta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing