We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of Pico and Horta and a great host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Belgica
Ranked #1 of 13 Horta B&B and Inns
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views of Pico and Horta and a great host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for three nights in September in a second floor room (first floor in Europe) with a balcony overlooking Horta with a direct view of Pico mountain on Pico. The rooms are spotless and spacious and the balcony provides wonderful outdoor access. The only thing better than the spectacular view is the gracious hostess, Yvette. She makes you feel right at home, serves a perfect breakfast of cereals, fresh fruit, eggs and yogurt, and is a wellspring of suggestions for traveling on Faial. She helped us book a swim-with-dolphins trip, arranged for a car rental and provided very good restaurant recommendations. When we needed to convert dollars to euros (not easy in Europe these days) she directed us to her personal bank, where we received a rate better than any exchanges in the U.S. We cannot recommend a more helpful host or a better place to stay. The view is spectacular but the hike to the hotel is a little strenuous if you are not used to hills. We found the walk down to Horta very scenic and enjoyable but opted for an inexpensive taxi ride back up before we picked up our car rental.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived to Vila Beligica back in august while on a three week vacation in August that included the Azores as well as time on the mainland. My husband and I were very impressed by this beautiful bed and breakfast. The location in comparison to Horta is fanatastic - a moderately easy hike downwards to get into the city centre, and a very easy and cheap cab ride back at night time. The Views of Pico from the breakfast balcony are beautiful. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was an absolutely amazing treat including eggs, tea/coffee, yogurt, fresh bread, fruit, and a delicious treat at the end; all enjoyed while looking out at the beautiful view of the ocean and Pico. Yvette was also especially helpul and made sure we were well looked after in terms of getting to other sites, renting a car, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed 10 days in Vila Belgica and it was wonderful. This beautiful B&B is amazing! Yvette is the perfect host who takes care for her guests. She gives you all the information you need to have a pleasant stay on Faial She helps you with booking trips, cars, taxis, etc.
Reading most of the previous reviews I can only agree that Vila Belgica is really the best place to stay on Faial.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemmenich, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Vila Belgica and we enjoyed it very much!

Vila Belgica is situated higher up which allows you a fabulous view over the green Island, the city of Horta, the ocean and two other islands of the Azores. We spent a lot of time on the terrace reading or just enjoying the view.

We were warmly welcomed by Yvette and Nathalie. They are a perfect team supplying you with all the necessary information (restaurants, shops, excursions, whale watching, ...). The breakfast is excellent and Yvette is very flexible when it comes to serving breakfast early in the morning on simple request the day before.

The room (Master Bedroom) we had was large, just like the bathroom. It was spotless, every day. There is no television set, but we did not miss it. We spent our evenings in Horta.

We can surely recommend Vila Belgica for your visit to the Azores!

Room Tip: The view from the Master Bedroom is fabulous!! You need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a superb location above the town of Horta with fabulous views towards the Pico island and in the far distance Sao Jorge island! But our amazement was not only about the views: upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Yvette and Nathalie who made us feel at home right from the start. They gave us excellent tips for our stay on Horta (whale watch tours, car rental, places to have dinner, etc.), provided a varied breakfast on the terrace or the inside patio, and made sure that the rooms were spotless! We rented a car for only one day, and walked the other days down to Horta (in approx 30 min), a taxi back up was also easy and affordable. We definately will be back and recommend this outstanding B&B to anyone who wants to visit the Azores.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The bed was cracking, the light in the bathroom was not working, we payed for a suite, but there was not even a small table and chair in the room. We made a reservation that was ignored, they asked us to keep our mouth when we were trying too argue, the breakfast was limited - the coffee was cold - breakfast starts at 8 h, that is rather late when you want to make a trip in the morning. You need a car to reach the Vila and we would have liked a swimming pool. The good things now : there is an abundant amount of information on the Azores available to the visitors, the garden is well maintained and the rooms is cleaned every day, from the terraces you have a view on the city, the see, the harbor , Pico, that all together has a value that is hard to valuate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZarcoBolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evita523, Owner at Vila Belgica, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We confirmed the Normal Bedroom - there was no Master Bedroom or Atlantic Room more available - so we suggested the Normal Bedroom - cheaper but smaller - clients agreed and paid for the Normal Bedroom.
The bathroom light does work, I always explain how to start it - if it should not work clients should have told me at the moment.

Breakfast is standard between 8 am and 10 am, people who go whale watching have breakfast at 7.30 and people who need the boat to Sao Jorge have the breakfast around 6.30....
When clients need breakfast earlier than 8am it is always possible.
Maybe there was a communication problem?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The best views of Azores is Vila belgica our stay was excellent service the owner caters your needs the comfort of home I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone looking for all of the above we couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
2.0 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
1.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
21.5 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Quinta da Meia Eira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Belgica

Property: Vila Belgica
Address: Caminho Velho 13 | Estrada da Caldeira, Horta, Faial Island 9900-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vila Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Belgica Horta, Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing