We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Forte da Horta
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
saffron walden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had a twin room with balcony overlooking the harbour. Lovely swimming pool and lounging area. The pousada is built into the walls of an old fort. Pretty bar area and restaurant. We had supper which was fine but not brilliant. Breakfast ok, normal big hotel fare. Staff helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucinda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear lucinda r.

We would like to than you for taking the time in publishing your opinion and be sure that we have taken good note of your remarks. Our team will continue making all the efforts to improve all our services.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    62
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
104
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfect location , very nice interior decoration.Very good breakfast.
Dinner to be recommended except the service was very slow.(2 hours for 2 dishes)
Every day there is a new pass word to have access to Wifi which is not very practical.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room on the side with view on the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time spent in posting a comment.

It is with personal satisfaction that we acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our Location, Breakfast and Dining in the Pousada.

As to the delay in our restaurante service, we would like to apologize for any inconvinience caused, as we recently changed our restaurante menu and our chefs are focused on giving our guests the best gastronomic experience we are able to proportion. We are aware this is a phase and that, with our teams effort, we will be able to balance the quality of our meals with the eficiency of our service.

Regarding loging-in to the internet, we are delighted to anounce that we are working on changing our access system, that will definately be more practical for our guests.

Once agian we thank you for your comments ande hope to see you back in Faial soon.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Pousada is actually inside the old fort that overlooks the harbor, and the views from many of the rooms are wonderful. The rooms themselves are very nice, the staff very helpful, and the location was perfect for exploring the town. We had a car, and parking right outside the hotel made life easy. Dinner was very good, and the pork tenderloin with honey and orange was among the best meals I have had in a hotel restaurant in a long time. The breakfast buffet was quite substantial with eggs, fruit, cheese, breads, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to hear that your stay with us at Pousada de Sta. Cruz was a huge success and we are delighted to know that we were able to contribute in many ways to make your trip special.

We are grateful for your positive feedback regarding our service, from the historical aspects of our hotel, its amazing view over the marina and the Island of Pico, and our restaurant experience.

Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff, as we know that they work hard to ensure our guests feel welcome and at home and therefore we are honoured to know that we were able to make your stay a special one..

We truly hope you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

To really enjoy this pousada you should try to book the suite- a spacious comfortable two room apartment with magnificent views. The staff were very efficient, and helpful. Breakfasts are standard. We ate one diviner and were pleased with the freshness of the fish. The pousada is very quiet far from any traffic noises although it is only a fifteen minute walk to the town center. The is a good jogging route out of traffic along the port

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jruedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr. Jruedy,

We truly thank you for your kind comments on our Pousada. We're very pleased to know that we were able to fulfill your needs.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Horta very soon.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good hotel in Horta, central location, good service. Rooms with a view are nice. We had originally booked a cheaper room, but wne checking in they suggested that we upgrade to a room on the water side, for an extra 25 EUR/night, which we did and it was worth every penny of it.

Room was not very large but quite sufficient. It included a small terrace, facing the harbor, with, on a good day, a good view of the Pico volcano. But alas in February, we never really could see the top, which stayed in a cloud cover.

Obviously in February, place was nowhere near full, but it was not empty either.

We had dinner at the restaurant twice, see separate review. In short, we enjoyed the pousada better than the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay fro the view. Not that it is overly pricey anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr. Bauwens.

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in Horta.

Unfortunately the weather was cloudy in February but we hope you will visit us again and this time be able to see Pico from your room :)

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Pousada as part of a package. Hotels of this quality (and price) are not our personal favourites, but we were delighted with the room and its view over Horta harbour and Pico. The restaurant was excellent for its breakfast buffet, and we had one meal there which we thoroughly enjoyed (though there is better value to be had elsewhere). The staff were efficient and discreet, thoroughly professional; when my wife had a problem the duty manager was excellent in his response and very understanding.
I noticed one review saying they felt the Pousada was "soulless": in comparison to other places we have stayed this hotel was delightful. There may be other rooms that did not come up to the standard of ours, but I can only speak from our own experience.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms with balconies are the best, but bear in mind that the working harbour can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StCruz, Gerente at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Warwick D,

We thank you for your comments.

It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort.

It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This room was the rare combination of the most expensive and the worst of our 3 week Azores trip. We booked with a 55+ discount and the hotel didn't mention that that means that you get one of the 5-6 rooms in the hotel that don't have a view. In our booking application we asked about the view but they never replied to that. Since the hotel states that 'almost every room has a view', we assumed it would be ok.
The room was tiny and very stuffy and had no historic charm at all. And still cost 130 Euro, which was very overpriced for a room like this. Once in the hotel we tried to upgrade to the front rooms which seem to be nicer. But the hotel was fully booked (as was the island) so to no avail. The only nice thing about the hotel was the breakfast on the terrace overlooking Pico.
I recommend to make sure whether your room has a view and if not, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view. The ones at the back are poor value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch_fem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Forte da Horta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Forte da Horta

Property: Pousada Forte da Horta
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Forte da Horta 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada da Horta is located in a 16th-century fortress, which was classified a National Monument in 1947. This Pousada offers panoramic views over Pico Island and its famous marina. The modern rooms have been finished with contemporary touches, including Wi-Fi and cable TV. Guests can relax in the spacious en suite bathrooms and the towelling robes provided. Pousada da Horta, Forte de Santa Cruz has its own restaurant, which serves a wide range of local dishes and a buffet breakfast. Guests can also take refreshments from the bar onto the terrace to admire the views. The Faial Airport is just 10 km from the Pousada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Forte da Horta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Forte Da Horta Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing