We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Hotel Horta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Horta
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Horta
Reviewed 6 July 2012

June 2012 - Situated uphill from the main area, great views of Pico and harbor, dated building, yet comfortable. Kept the screens closed, so problem with mosquitos. Others in group had no screens or left open and had problems with insects. Charged for use of computers. Good buffet breakfast with meats, cheeses, breads, fruits. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room with screens to avoid problems with insects (mosquitos).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel Horta is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the centre and is therefore very quiet. We had a nice room with a wonderful view of the swimming pool and over Horta onto the harbour and the sea. Loved it! The swimming pool is large and refreshing. There's a good restaurant in the hotel. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and we had some good and affordable dinners here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Most wondeful view if you want to stay in hotel in Horta!
The harbore just in your foot! Pico !!!! The sunsets. Very friendly and the place to rest!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mameli_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Situated above the main area of the town a somewhat dated and austere building but very comfortable and spacious with excellent facilities including a well maintained swimming pool. Good breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingedward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel for five days, and it was a pleasant experience. All rooms have a view to the sea and to Pico, which is really breathtaking. The staff was nice, the restaurant was good - actually, the food was among the best that we had on Faial. The staff were kind and there was a good and clean pool. All in all a pleasant experience. They charged ridicuoulous amounts for internet access, but were so kind as to tell us that there were free access points which could be reached at the balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmallDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

This is a great hotel. Very clean rooms, all rooms have a balcony which overlooks the town as well as Pico. Hotel staff was friendly and courteous. Lobby and lounge area were comfortable and we enjoyed sitting there in the evening to relax after a long day of visiting the countryside. Food in the restaurant was reasonably priced and very good. Breakfast buffets were good. Pool area was beautiful. Neighborhood was safe and we were not concerned about walking at night. Overall this is a great hotel and I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bearpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Hotel Horta was part of an itinerary put together by a travel agent. Usually, when booking on our own, we tend to stay at guest houses, B&Bs. This has a more "corporate" feel.

This is good value, we thought. The rooms quite comfortable and the view across to Pico was lovely from the private little terrace. A pretty good array of sattelite TV, and chocolate on the pillow. Good, clean bathroom with tub and shower.

The young desk staff, all female, was so very helpful and pleasant, always happy to assist with reservations for dinner, whale-watching (they sell you a ticket right at the desk), and any other communcations and info you need. We were so pleased with their help, and so grateful!

The breakfast was buffet-style and there was plenty, both hot and cold, with an array of juices. The resaurant, which has a generic feel to the decor, was not crowded in the evenings (though no large groups were staying at the time--your experience might be different).

The only real oddity was the piped-in music in the restaurant--sometimes too loud for an underpopulated room, sometimes barely audible. And not once did we hear any Portuguese music; instead a strange selection of blues, bad pop covers, or Frank Sinatra. But for the view, you could have been dining in New Jersey!

Still, our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed Faial so much. Hotel Horta is up a hill, but so are many things throughout the Azores. And the hill site affords great views!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 2_guys_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
20.6 mi away
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
5.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Sao Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horta

Address: Rua Marcelino de Lima 9900 122, Horta, Faial Island 9900-122, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Horta
Price Range: £33 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Horta 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Horta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horta Faial Island, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing