We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to get away from the rest of the world”
Review of Aldeia da Cuada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldeia da Cuada
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to get away from the rest of the world”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For us, Flores was the most beautiful island we’ve visited in the Azores. To really experience the serene atmosphere you shouldn’t stay in some dusty hotel in Santa Cruz, but rent a small house in this abandoned village on the west coast, although it's bit more expensive. If you enjoy walking and getting back to basics, this is for you. The shower was a little bit too basic for us however, everything else was fine: a big comfortable bed, a heater for cold nights, a dehumidifier (this is the wettest island), candles, old stylish furniture, a garden with a nice view, etc.

The staff was very friendly, they dropped us off at the beginning of a walking trail, they informed us about the weather, organized a fish barbecue and carried our luggage to the house, which is only accessible by narrow stone paths. For 6 euro pp you can have a good breakfast in the summer garden bar, which is a nice setting, and then you don’t have to worry about finding bread in the little shops of Faja Grande, cause it’s always sold out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeiacuada, Gerente at Aldeia da Cuada, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Friend,

Thanks for the positive review.

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    23
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We really enjoyed our relaxing stay at this lovely village, it has a very unique atmosphere. The houses are quite basic, but renovated with taste. However for the price of the breakfast we would have expected higher quality.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snoe_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights during unusually cool, windy and damp weather. Still, I found it the perfect place to disconnect from the fast-paced world and relax. I stayed in Esmeria's House, a simple two-room cottage. Everything is there for self-catering. If you go off-season, finding a restaurant takes persistence, but there is a small grocery down the road in Faja Grande where I bought essentials. Carlos, the owner of Aldeia da Cuada, was very helpful in answering all of my questions and was a real pleasure to meet. He is a gentleman and has created a wonderful place to stay. His daughter, Carlita, was equally pleasant and accommodating. I will say that these lodgings were not "luxurious" in the strictest sense, but were perfectly comfortable and exactly what I wanted. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homespunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was an amazing experience. The thought of staying in what it was an abandoned village is amazing and the peace and tranquility that you can enjoy in your stay here is brilliant. The houses have been restored in a traditional way and the whole village, including the little chapel, is a gem. The house, although basic, has all the things you may need. It has a stone paved path that takes you from the car park to the house, but staff kindly took my luggage to the house and back to the car the day I left. The location is ideal and you are not far from the beautiful waterfalls and other amazing places nearby. As a solo traveller can be a bit intimidating, but very rewarding too. Due to the high humidity of the island, the house was a bit damp but they had a dehumidifier on it. In terms of price, they probably work better for families or couples, so the cost is more reasonable. Do not forget this is a self-cattering place, so not much of a service here although they kindly will answer any questions that you may have

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having immigrated to the U.S. at the age of 7 1/2 in 1957, I went back to Flores to revisit the land of my birth. I was born in Cuada in the Casa da Esmeria, so I went there on 7/14/13, to take a few pictures of my mother's house. I went there on 7/14/13, I stopped at the office to let them know why I was there. The woman in the office said I could proceed but not to bother tenants, which I did not. I took a couple of pictures at the back of the house and then thought to get a picture at the front door. So I walked to the front of the house and there I found the occupants sitting outside. I apologized for the intrusion and told them my story and they offered to show me the inside. I told them no that I just wanted a picture in front of the house. The lady offered to take the picture so I gave her my camera. In the meantime Carlos Silva was shouting at me from outside the office. When he disappeared I proceeded to getting my picture taken. Next thing I know he is right there. He started yelling at me and started to imply he would call the police if I didn't leave. I then left.
What was suppose to be a full circle of my life, turned out to be a horrible experience. I didn't get an opportunity to experience the moment and say this is where my life began. I want to thank the wonderful couple who did not have a problem with me just wanting a picture. Without them, I would not have a picture. For everyone else, watch out for Carlos Silva, he is an unfeeling man with no sensitivity for others, he is just hungry for the buck.

Maria Ercilia Sousa Lacerda

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MariaErcilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeiacuada, Proprietário at Aldeia da Cuada, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Google Translation
Cara Senhora Maria Lacerda,
Em primeiro lugar, queria dizer-lhe que você mentiu aquando da sua avaliação da Aldeia da Cuada. De facto você disse que tinha se hospedado na Aldeia da Cuada no mês de Julho o que não corresponde há verdade. Você só utilizou essa mentira para poder fazer a avaliação, pois sabia que teria de ser nossa cliente para nos avaliar. Como nossa visitante (que foi o caso) nunca o poderia fazer.
Como você reconhece, não lhe foi negada a visita á Aldeia da Cuada. O que lhe foi pedido foi que não entrasse no espaço privativo das casas para não interferir com a privacidade dos nossos clientes. O resto da história voçê contou-a. Não ligou aos nossos pedidos, fez o que melhor lhe apeteceu e invadiu um espaço privado onde estavam clientes usufruindo daquilo que haviam pago: paz, tranquilidade e privacidade.

Cara Sra. Maria Lacerda.
A Aldeia da Cuada é visitada anualmente por centenas de pessoas. Nunca negamos a nenhuma essa visita e quando temos alguma casa disponível fazemos questão de a mostrar. Nenhuma dessas visitas teve a atitude que voçê teve.
Felizmente para a Aldeia da Cuada e para os nossos clientes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We found we were still in love with this magical village since our previous visit four years ago. This is a very special place. A nice addition is the small restaurant near the office with a good typical breakfast buffet each day. They will gladly prepare additional meals with a little bit of advance notice. Another nice addition is the T4 house which is quite spacious and comfortable. The free wifi in the office still works great.

I wish there could be some slight modifications to the pathways to make them easier to walk while still retaining the authentic appeal of being in a traditional village. We noticed that they seem harder than they were 4 years ago! But of course, we are getting older, and the T4 is quite a bit further from the parking lot than the house we had last time !

If you plan a summer visit be sure to book as far as possible in advance. We were there in early July and it was completely booked. Carlos, the family, and staff all go the extra mile to make sure that your visit is pleasant. I just hope that in a few more years I can still make it down those paths!

Room Tip: Some of the houses are a fair distance from the parking lot, but the staff is more than willing to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Honeymoon here in august was just wonderful. Secret place with amazing view to the atlantic with own nice cottage. Great place to make short or long walks to the waterfalls or hidden beaches. Car is not mandatory, but useful to travel around this small island. This place is not very easy to reach, but is is worth of it !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esa1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
6.9 mi away
Flores Hotel - Inatel
Flores Hotel - Inatel
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz das Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sitio da Assumada - Eco Turismo
Sitio da Assumada - Eco Turismo
#1 of 3 in Lajes das Flores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
GuestHouse Comodoro
GuestHouse Comodoro
#1 of 1 in Corvo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencia Mateus
Residencia Mateus
#2 of 3 in Lajes das Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
Alojamentos Flores Island
#3 of 3 in Lajes das Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia da Cuada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia da Cuada

Property: Aldeia da Cuada
Address: Faja Grande, Flores 9960-070, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldeia da Cuada 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort combines the respect for the past and the comfort needed for a deam holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aldeia da Cuada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Cuada Flores, Azores, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing